We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The feelgood factor.”
Review of Merrydale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merrydale
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Reviewed March 20, 2013

You cant please everyone, but I cant find one thing wrong with the Merrydale Hotel. Trevor and Suzanne made my wife and I most welcome during our stay. Their sense of humour and friendly warm welcome, is second to none. The food is excellent, and they cant do enough for you. If you want a fair deal regarding price, then the Merrydale is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 315Mick315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Merrydale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 129 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

This review is complicated by the fact that Cath and Colin were moving to Blackpool on 1 November to take over a hotel there. The review therefore concentrates on the bed and breakfast establishment rather than the way it is managed.

We stayed in late October so were not expecting to pay top rates but the £30 per night for bed and breakfast was still a bargain; however, at this price it is difficult to expect too much. We had an en-suite room but it was very small and the furnishings were very basic and old fashioned. We thought that the place could do with a makeover but it is unlikely that the cost of this would be justified by the extra income that could be raised from putting up room prices. Perhaps there are just too many rooms available in Skegness especially when so many people are struggling financially and are having to forgo luxuries like holidays. As it is, if we returned to Skegness we would pay more and stay somewhere that had larger, more modern rooms.

On a final note, we would have given the Merrydale a higher rating if Cath and Colin were still going to be staying. They worked hard with the material at their disposal and were very accommodating. In particular, the breakfasts were well cooked and the bacon and sausages were good quality. We’re sure that they will be successful with their new venture in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have been going to Skegness for many years and found the Merrydale hotel three years ago. Before my first visit to the Merrydale I had never stayed at the same hotel twice, but have been going to this hotel at least three times a year.
During my visits I have made many friends, who like me come back time and time again and its great to sit in the bar to relax and chat with these friends. Breakfast is always the best in Skegness and anyone who say's otherwise is just lying. Rooms are clean and tidy and fresh towels are supplied daily if needed. Decor is a little dated but not as bad as many hotels that that i have stayed at and charge far more and no other hotel has offerd the same standard of hospitality.
Cathy and Colin have always made me most welcome and always have time for the individual guest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the merrydale mon to fri in early August 2012 cathy n Colin are great host really good value for the money and the breakfast is fantastic we will be certainly going back. Thanks kev n Jenni

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I haven't stayed in Skegness for years, and my other half had never been so I booked at the Merrydale as we were on a budget and the location was perfect. To look at price alone you may well expect some rundown Faulty Towers type establishment, but nothing could be further from the truth!

On arrival we were offered hot drinks, and Colin sat chatting with us, making us laugh from the word go. We were set at ease instantly, with banter flowing back and forth, making it a real home from home.

Our room, although cosy (There was only a family room left when we booked) it was immaculate, with fresh towels placed at the end of the bed, which was a relief as we had forgotten ours! True there was no soap/shower gel etc, but for the sake of £24 pp/pn in the middle of high season, it isn't a big deal, especially considering that you are so close to the town center so it is easy to get your own.

The bed was comfortable, neither me nor my partner struggled to sleep at all, which we have done when visiting other hotels around the country.

The breakfast is brilliant, with Cathy cooking everything to order if you want a full English. If you prefer cereal or toast it is not a problem. Our hosts could genuinely not do enough for us, with Colin providing the entertainment and Cathy cooking up a storm, we were never made to feel like an inconvenience as has been to case in some larger hotels.

We fully intend to return here for another dose of witty banter and fab breakfasts, oh and a wander down to the pier (less than 5 minutes away) is a must!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at the Merrydale with my daughter for a couple of nights. We arrived quite late and were warmly welcomed by Colin who insisted we sit for a while with tea and/or coffee to relax after the journey. The room had everything we needed and although a little dated, was scrupulously clean. The beds were comfy too. Over breakfast, which is freshly cooked by Cathy, and quite magnificent, we were informed by one of the other guests that he had been asked to move his car so that our motor cycles could be parked in front of the lounge where they could be seen - how lovely is that! We've already decided that we will definately be going back, and we'll be bringing more friends with us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was laughing within the first few minutes of going through the door. Don't pack your bucket and spade, pack your witty banter and spend a week or two with Kath and Collin, your new aunty and uncle by the sea. It was my first time here and the rooms were packed with guests that have become friends overtime because they keep coming back for more! If you prefer you tea in a matching cup and saucer, and formal greeting don't bother coming! No frills: your there for B n B and they work darn hard. Theres a sign on the front door that says; "Welcome to the asylum": don't say they didn't warn you.....Jo C

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Parade Hotel
North Parade Hotel
#16 of 25 in Skegness
142 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 25 in Skegness
467 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#24 of 25 in Skegness
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrydale

Address: 13 Glentworth Crescent, Skegness PE25 2TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range: $55 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merrydale 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Merrydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing