We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good”
Review of Merrydale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merrydale
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All good”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the merrydale mon to fri in early August 2012 cathy n Colin are great host really good value for the money and the breakfast is fantastic we will be certainly going back. Thanks kev n Jenni

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    12
    9
    14
See reviews for
22
58
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I haven't stayed in Skegness for years, and my other half had never been so I booked at the Merrydale as we were on a budget and the location was perfect. To look at price alone you may well expect some rundown Faulty Towers type establishment, but nothing could be further from the truth!

On arrival we were offered hot drinks, and Colin sat chatting with us, making us laugh from the word go. We were set at ease instantly, with banter flowing back and forth, making it a real home from home.

Our room, although cosy (There was only a family room left when we booked) it was immaculate, with fresh towels placed at the end of the bed, which was a relief as we had forgotten ours! True there was no soap/shower gel etc, but for the sake of £24 pp/pn in the middle of high season, it isn't a big deal, especially considering that you are so close to the town center so it is easy to get your own.

The bed was comfortable, neither me nor my partner struggled to sleep at all, which we have done when visiting other hotels around the country.

The breakfast is brilliant, with Cathy cooking everything to order if you want a full English. If you prefer cereal or toast it is not a problem. Our hosts could genuinely not do enough for us, with Colin providing the entertainment and Cathy cooking up a storm, we were never made to feel like an inconvenience as has been to case in some larger hotels.

We fully intend to return here for another dose of witty banter and fab breakfasts, oh and a wander down to the pier (less than 5 minutes away) is a must!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at the Merrydale with my daughter for a couple of nights. We arrived quite late and were warmly welcomed by Colin who insisted we sit for a while with tea and/or coffee to relax after the journey. The room had everything we needed and although a little dated, was scrupulously clean. The beds were comfy too. Over breakfast, which is freshly cooked by Cathy, and quite magnificent, we were informed by one of the other guests that he had been asked to move his car so that our motor cycles could be parked in front of the lounge where they could be seen - how lovely is that! We've already decided that we will definately be going back, and we'll be bringing more friends with us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was laughing within the first few minutes of going through the door. Don't pack your bucket and spade, pack your witty banter and spend a week or two with Kath and Collin, your new aunty and uncle by the sea. It was my first time here and the rooms were packed with guests that have become friends overtime because they keep coming back for more! If you prefer you tea in a matching cup and saucer, and formal greeting don't bother coming! No frills: your there for B n B and they work darn hard. Theres a sign on the front door that says; "Welcome to the asylum": don't say they didn't warn you.....Jo C

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just returned from a fishing holiday with my mates and i can honestly say the Merrydale ticked all the right boxes.The location was spot on close to all ammenities and our fishing venues.Colin and Cathy are the salt of the earth ,a lovely couple making our stay a very pleasant one.The breakfast and evening meal was excellent and worth every penny of anyones money.The rooms were very clean,I cannot fault the place and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room eleven suited me because it accommodated my every need.I slept like a log.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digger123Barnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spent six days in this hotel with my wife and four friends. It was the most favourably priced in Skegness. Some rooms are en-suite, but also at least one room had no wardrobe and one had a basin you could just get your hands in it was so small. Decor is a bit dated, as is the furniture. The breakfast is one of the best i've had in an english hotel, 2bacon, 2 sausage, egg, beans, tomato, and as much cereal and toast as you require. The lady of the house is very nice and also very friendly, the gentleman of the house is so full of his own self importance he is a complete bore. Overall i would recommend this hotel for the price and nearness to the promenade and wonderful breakfast.If you go between october and march it is only £9-99 per night bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfrescoO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

recently stayed at merrydale on honeymoon and had a lovely time ... id give excellent rating but we didnt eat there so cannot judge.
were in a top floor room, good all round, bed had nice firm mattress (now considering changing my medium mattress at home haha) all you needed in the room.
owners Cathy & Colin are lovely, Colin wasnt about as much due to other commitments but Cathy about for any problems (which there were none anyways) friendly and welcoming, other guests also great ... a real home from home experience.
we'll definately be back next year ... maybe make it 2wks next time.
Love to you all, Mr & Mrs Gronous xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.1 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Parade Hotel
North Parade Hotel
#16 of 26 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ivernia Hotel
Ivernia Hotel
#18 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrydale

Property: Merrydale
Address: 13 Glentworth Crescent, Skegness PE25 2TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Merrydale 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Merrydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing