We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chalfonts

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chalfonts
Ranked #27 of 97 Skegness B&B and Inns
leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Mac very helpful on arrival and could not do enough for you. Food was excellent, well stocked bar. Like home from home and would stay again no question. Within easy walking distance to everything.Wendy & John

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I'd like to say a huge thank you to this hotel for their help and understanding when my sister broke her leg. Thanks again. Very appreciated. Will definitely be back and recommend to others. Fantastic customer service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sueellyhargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

On arrival greeted by Mac checked in and paid and he showed us to are room up two flights of stairs The room had a single and double bed and all rooms en suite the room was very small and I think to small for that amount of beds the bathroom was a squeeze and the shower was ok..bedroom a bit dated could do with a revamp ..breakfast was 8.45..9.15 very strange times but couldnt complain you got a good breakfast..was a bit shoked when you couldnt access the sittng room at night as you opened the front door the only access you had were to the stairs to the rooms ..we was made welcome its in a great location from shops pubs and seaside ..never met the wife would have been nice for her to say hello ....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank candyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in August.

Unfortunately we had missed out connecting train in Grantham so didn't arrive until past 9pm on the Friday night, which was over an hour later than we had planned to arrive. Despite this we received a lovely warm welcome from Mac, the proprietor. The b&b is situated in the ideal place, within 10 minutes walk of the centre of Skegness but far enough away to be completely quite at night.

Our room was exactly what you would expect from a little seaside b&b, cute, cosy and perfectly comfortable, with a serviceable en-suite shower room and tea/coffee making facilities.

Breakfast on both mornings was lovely. A proper full English breakfast with all the necessaries and a pot of tea/coffee each.

What made our stay so pleasant though, was the proprietor Mac. He was friendly and welcoming and the perfect host. Making sure you knew where everything was, how everything worked, and that you had everything you needed.

Would highly recommend the Chalfonts to anyone who is after a charming little B&B in the centre of Skeggy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misstbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed for a week at this very friendly accommodation, location, food and staff excellent. Would definitely go back and recommend as a place to stay. The rooms were clean and tidy. Close to town centre, beach, rail, bus. Quiet location at night, so very important we had a good nights sleep. As it was very hot during the day we even managed to grab 40 winks during the day. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the chalfonts for few days this week .It is very clean and there are toiletries in bathroom and a very plentiful welcome tray in bedroom .There is also hairdryer in bedroom .The lounge and bar are comfortable as well ,We found Mac the owner to be very precise with the rules and regulations .The breakfasts you would not get better anywhere. We had good time could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were on first floor very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

stayed at the Chalfonts for two nights last week.could not have chose better b-b .for location quiet area and within walking distance to town and sea front.lovely clean rooms.high standard decor.bed was so so comfy.great nights sleep.mandy and mac certainly look after you too.food was great no complaints at all.will stay again when return to skeggy.thanks chalfonts.lynn & mick

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STUBINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
#3 of 3 in Ingoldmells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travellers Rest Motel, Ingoldmells
1.1 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Southwold Hotel
Southwold Hotel
#17 of 97 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalfonts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalfonts

Property: The Chalfonts
Address: 41 Beresford Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chalfonts 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chalfonts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing