We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great situation, modern clean rooms”
Review of Hotel no 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel no 8
Ranked #77 of 92 Skegness B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having arrived in Skegness with no accommodation, we searched around for about 30 minutes looking at various places. We decided to stay here as it was a brilliant location and looked clean and tidy. We had a double room with sea view and paid £69 which was enough as there was no breakfast, in fact the hotel was just rooms and a small reception area. However,all the hotel had a recent re-furbish and was tastfully decorated.The rooms werent massive and there was no bath just a shower and the walls a little thin, having said that our room overlooked Wolfies bar next door and we werent disturbed by any of the customers.Parking was only a few minutes away and at £4 overnight one of the cheapest we had seen.I would recommend this hotel but it is only a room with no factilities on sight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 106 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel and room itself was very well presented, room clean and wonderful sea view, took my bf and 3 year old.
The huge downside was the VERY NOISY drunks, door slamming and music from 1am - 3am I had the worse nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel and had to cut my trip short and drive home early in the day due to exhaustion of all 3 of us. I am very dissapointed with my trip.

Since the hotel itself is in a great location and very nice inside I would recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a night out and somewhere nice to stay not minding others late night noises!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbybob1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Very good location would recommend for short breaks. Hotel is clean modern and basic, there is coffee making facilities and en suite also very clean. Walls a little on the thin side but it didn't bother us, ideal for couples maybe not families a little noisy for children. Will be using this handy good value hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footsteps-in-sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took my family for one night worried about reviews, noise, drunks and should not have worried, it wasn't noisy even with the club next door, the room was lovely and light modern and clean and we all thoroughly enjoyed our time. The receptionist Amy I think was really helpful you had to feel sorry for her couped up behind the reception for hours but she always had a smile.
very central and parking a doddle

Room Tip: no sea views low down so if you want them go high but the sea is quite away from a decent view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

For single room read box room... the size was a joke... if you can touch one wall with one out-stretched arm and not have to fully extend your arm to reach the other side of the room it's small.

Nowhere to store any clothes, nowhere to hang clothes and one tiny shelf which had fallen off the wall.

With no fixed shelf to make a cup of tea or coffee you had to place the shelf back of the screws which had failed to hold it before, prop the shelf up with one hand, and then carry the drink tray (which is all wired through the one plug where the lead isn't long enough to reach the socket and leave the tray on the window sill) and wait for the water to boil... once done move the tray back to window sill and hope you don't spill the now boiling water on yourself.

No breakfast or food available, no change from the vending machine in reception which isn't manned after 7pm (there is a mobile phone number to call for any service needed late at night) don't help matters... nor does the lack of bedside table so any glasses worn have to be left on the floor by the side of the bed.

Not worth the money for a room that you really couldn't swing a cat in... there isn't even room to stretch your arms properly to yawn... not fun.

Room Tip: Don't book a single one... even if you're on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel suited our needs exactly. We didn't need a hotel bar (there's plenty of life around Skeggy) and we didn't need breakfast. We wanted a great place to sleep and shower and this fit the bill.

I loved the simplicity of the room, the hard wood type floor, the low bed. No bath and a large shower stall completed the clean living effect. It was also very clean.

Room Tip: we had a sea view room, it can get noisy after midnight but ear plugs did the trick and it's a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location & clean modern room but if you want more look elsewhere.
No reception staff after 7pm, no breakfast but personally we didn't need either so Hotel No 8 was ideal.
We will use again & recommend provided you don't need parking or breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
306 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 92 in Skegness
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel no 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel no 8

Address: 8 South Parade, Skegness PE25 3HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range: $74 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel no 8 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel no8. Our contemporary en suite rooms are warm, comfortable and relaxing. We cater for families, couples and business guests who can make use of our complimentary free WI-FI and coffee and tea making facilities. Hotel No8 is just a stones throw from our golden blue flag sandy beach, Clock Tower, Natureland and brand new Aquarium. We also have Botton's Fairground which is sure to keep the whole family entertained, or hop on a bus for white knuckle thrills at Fantasy Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel no 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing