We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic B&B”
Review of Clarendon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarendon Lodge
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good basic B&B”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

we stayed here for a week in September. Good basic accommodation. No frills, but it has all you need. What you'd expect for the price. Good wheelchair facilities. Friendly staff. Advertised facilities were not available, e.g. the bar was closed, but we were informed that it was 'out of season' (the first week in September) Plenty of food, as long as you want cornflakes or rice crispies, tea or coffee, which I guess most people do. No choice.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are wheelchair accessible and good for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELSA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    8
    12
    17
See reviews for
38
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tillicoultry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Great holiday at this hotel staff were excellent, very friendly hotel. Everyone mixed in the bar at night. John the barman made everyone feel welcome. Breakfast was served fresh and hot.

Ian. Tillicoultry Scotland

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-millar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Over the last three years my wife and i have stayed in the Clarendon lodge about five times. The rooms are clean and tidy. Towles are replaced on a regular basis. Tea and coffee are toped up daily and the rooms are cleaned regularly. If at any time on my stay i had a problem it was sorted out at that time. The staff are very helpful on arrival you are met and taken to your room and asked if it is ok. The breakfast is a full English fresh orange toast and serials. The bar is a good place to meet the other guests that are staying in the lodge. Over the last three years i have met a number of good friends whilst staying in the lodge.
A BIG thanks to Paul the owner and all of the staff including John.

See you all soon Glynn and Anita.
from Rotherham

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynn1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

the only thing going for this hotel were the breakfasts which were tasty with full english served and as much juice, cereal and toast as you want. On the downside the hotel was dated and grubby and in need of redecoration. The family room we stayed in the carpet was dirty, lack of storage i.e wardrobe there was a chest of drawers with two drawers missing. Had to clean out 2 of the drawers as one had sugar spilt in it and the other had blusher make up spilt in it. Bathroom the shower cubicle was tiny so if you were a larger person you wouldnt have got in. The fan in the bathroom didnt work and was full of dust hanging from it. After the first night our beds were not made we had to make them aware of this. Staff were friendly although on the lacksadaisical side as no confirmation of booking sent had to chase for this and on our last day we reported a leak in the ceiling tiles which the manager went into the room to replace. On our return to the room we found our door hadnt been locked and left ajar. Anyone could have walked in and taken anything. We reported this and his attitude was 'at least i am insured' this simply wasnt the point and not good enough. Not very hygienic when comes to cleaning the rooms, cups were cleaned by probably swilling under the tap and left upside down wet on tray breeding ground for germs. the carpet wasnt vacuumed as there were bits on the floor all week and the sink wasnt cleaned. After reading good write-ups and comments on this hotel we left the hotel dissapointed - never to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pumped6712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Staff very friendly this is our fifth visit here. The hotel has 3 rooms for wheelchair users. Breakfasts fabulous close to all amenities only disappointment was no evening meals but saying that plenty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skegness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.1 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#21 of 26 in Skegness
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Parade Hotel
North Parade Hotel
#15 of 26 in Skegness
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#25 of 26 in Skegness
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Philmar Guest House
Philmar Guest House
#14 of 26 in Skegness
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Lodge

Property: Clarendon Lodge
Address: 20 Castleton Boulevard, Skegness PE25 2TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarendon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul offers a warm and welcoming atmosphere to everyone that wishes to visit Skegness. Having en-suite rooms including ground floor bedrooms to suit everyone's needs. 3 of which are disabled friendly with wet rooms and extra wide doors for wheelchair access. (mobility scooter hire available). Clarendon Lodge has off road car parking, pretty south facing patio area, licensed bar and games room with pool table, darts, cards and a large screen flat tv. We are only 2 minutes walk to Skegness beach, and a 10 minute walk to Skegness Aquarium and all other main seafront attractions that Skegness has to offer such as Natureland, bowling, golf, swimming, the shops and arcades and the bus stop to take you to Fantasy Island and Eastgate Market. Clarendon Lodge offer bed and breakfast ( B&B ) accommodation in Skegness and are well located for the local restaurants and cafes and the clubs and bars. Breakfast is served at 09.30 - 10.30 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Clarendon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing