We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 3 days at the Saxby”
Review of The Saxby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Saxby Hotel
Ranked #10 of 93 Skegness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 3 days at the Saxby”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Decided to look up my childhood haunts in Skegness and came across the Saxby Hotel on the internet.
After traveling for about 7 hours we arrived to a wonderful welcome from Paul and Wendy who quickly made us feel at home.
The room we were allocated was lovely and the hotel was positioned in a quiet area just a short walk from the main attractions but close enough to the beaches which was exactly what we were looking for.
Walked the promenade the next morning and I returned for a lovely breakfast with great sausages and then walked for the rest of the day.
Thanks to Paul and Wendy we enjoyed 3 days of great hospitality and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms but the one we were allocated was facing the sun so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just got back from a super weekend staying at the Saxby Hotel Skegness, What a superb place to stay. On arrival we were met by the hosts Wendy and Paul who made us feel very welcome. The entrance is very appealing with its comfy settees and fresh flowers opening into the reception area.
After checking in we were shown to our room which was lovely and very spacious with en suite facility. The rooms have tea/coffee making facilities along with biscuits which are replenished daily. Also hair dryers which is very convenient.
Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean and warm.
I must report on the breakfast - never had anything so good - to start there's a buffet table which has branded cereals, choice of fruit juices, lots of different yogurts and yogurt drinks, butter, marmalade and jams along with a large bowl of fresh fruit. Once you've helped yourself to whatever you want from there it's cooked breakfast time. Out comes the toast and tea/coffee and then 'the breakfast' and what a breakfast; bacon, Lincolnshire sausage, mushrooms, egg, beans and tomatoes and lots of it (all quality produce).
Onto the bar/lounge, this is very comfortable with an open fire ,TV and daily newspapers. It has a well stocked bar and the prices are really reasonable.
Wendy and Paul can't do enough for their guests; they make you feel you are the most important guests and go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable and pleasant stay.
We will be returning on a regular basis and have no hesitation in recommending to anyone. Have a look at their website it's a true representation of the hotel www.saxby-hotel.co.uk

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodah120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed for three nights over the New year, (2014), our hosts Paul & Wendy made us feel so welcome and relaxed, New year was a blast with games food and of course copious amounts of grog. Rooms were lovely, the breakfast was of a very high standard, (cooked by Paul) and our stay was brilliant. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Saxby, Martin&Angi . Ps. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trickytree78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I looked online for a hotel near the sea and local to the amenities Skegness has to offer, which are excellent by the way! We decided to try the Saxby Hotel as it covered our basic requirements as indicated earlier!

What a wonderful surprise! We were greeted by Wendy and Paul who I understand have recently purchased the hotel and carried out extensive refurbishment of the inside of the hotel.(We found the website absolutely reflects accurately everything to do with the hotel) The room we had was absolutely wonderful, spotlessly clean, tea etc, TV, WIFI, ideal for visiting both for business and leisure, what ever you may wish?

They have a lovely bar with an open fire, excellent beer, wines and spirits and very reasonable prices!

The ambience of the hotel is brilliant and Wendy and Paul are really smashing very helpful and kind and nothing is too much trouble!

They do a delicious breakfast which is not to be missed!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

well what can I say this hotel is run looked after by 2 great people who put the time and effort in to keep the hotel a great place to stay.
this is our 3rd time in the hotel and every time we have been we have never been disappointed.
Christine will meet and greet you with a very warm welcome. The tea and cake is a very nice touch.
The rooms are clean and tidy with time tea coffee facilities. you cant fault the rooms at all.
the hotel is kept so spick and span all the time its hard to find a fault at all.
the breakfast is just what you need in the morning all fresh cooked with home made bread.
a good size car park
will be back again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Myself and partner Rita,decided to have a short stay in Skegness, looking online for a hotel to stay we decided to try the Saxby Hotel and what a pleasent supprise we had,on arrival we were greeted by Christine the landllady who made us so welcome with coffee.The hotel is well kept and very clean an homely the rooms are quite large and well decorated with en-suite and tea and coffee facilities,the food was excellent and all fresh local produce cooked to perfection as was Christines home baked bread.We have decided that whenever we go to Skegness again this is the only place we will try to book with. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SOAPBOXO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Me & my dad stayed at this hotel it's perfect, It's nicely decorated, well kept, spacious rooms with a good layout throught the hotel , very clean and spotless, nice breakfast and the lady who runs and owns the hotel is so pleasant and lovely...very chatty and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NorthernExplorerHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kildare Hotel
Kildare Hotel
#1 of 26 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aldor Guest House
The Aldor Guest House
#6 of 93 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saxby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saxby Hotel

Property: The Saxby Hotel
Address: 12 Saxby Avenue, Skegness PE25 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel,only 5-10 minutes walk away from the Skegness clock tower, situated in the Sea croft area. All rooms have en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers, TV with free view. Free WFI and car parking. We have a lounge with and open fire. Breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Saxby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing