We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No faith” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mickleton Guest House

Mickleton Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mickleton Guest House
Ranked #53 of 97 Skegness B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“No faith”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Unfortunately, we were left with two impressions - that everything was done for the owners convenience, not ours and that they had no faith in the guests. The worst moment was when the female owner checked our room before giving us back our 'key deposit' of £20! That made us feel great, as you can imagine. She also insisted, on arrival, that we give her money for the second night before we could put our bags etc in the room, which resulted in a lot of kerfuffle with bags and suits falling on the floor,etc. We were told that even though, the breakfast window was from 8.30-9.15. 'could we come at 8.30 as my husband has to pick up the grandchild' - ok, happy to oblige but.... Lots of niggly things - like the hairdryer being wired through the back of a drawer so you had to stoop to use it, breakfast glasses being taken away before you good get a refill. Lovely location, but not recommended. A rethink of attitude to guests is needed...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulb2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatAdy, Owner at Mickleton Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
The deposit is to safe guard both parties. we like to make sure nothing has been left ie. jewelery,purses or wallets clothing phone chargers ect ect and yes I will say it we have even found a set of faulse teeth. As for payment up front all of the guesthouses we now do this. We are always amazed why people cannot talk to us we could easely sorted the hair dryer out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
34
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked to stay here on business and left immediately on arrival. Rude owners, rules and regulations all over the walls, when we cancelled the rest of the nights were presented with a bill for the whole stay which we refused to pay at which point one member of staff was locked inside the hotel and told the dog would not let him leave! Not allowed to use car park as advertised as our van blocked the view of the owners car! Give someone else your money please.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatAdy, Owner at Mickleton Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Plenty of room to park your van as seen by photos
Your work force were very rude to us
Have refunded your money
You should not comment on a place you have not stayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived to be told they had us booked in for the next night ,this despite 4 tele phone calls to them confirming the dates we had booked .The bar was never open ,evening meal was at 5 00pm !! The hosts were unhelpul and despite the rooms we had booked being available there was a notable delay in giving that info to us .With some reluctance they agreed to clean our rooms after they told us they had planned a leisurely day . We had paid 50%deposit for our rooms and were soon asked for the balance for the second night before we had even been shown our rooms .Clearly realised we would look elsewhere Wish we had, wouldn"t stay there again if you paid me

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcolm e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The whole guest house was very clean Breakfast was exceptional Pat and Adrian made the stay a very welcoming one;Nothing was too much trouble for them
Plenty of Car parking spaces just at the bottom of the garden
The garden was well kept and plenty of seating area but due to the weather could not enjoy sitting out
Situated in a very quiet location but 5 minutes away from all the amenities right on a bus route if you wanted to venture further Hoping to go Skegness again in November and will be booking again with Pat and Adrian
Would recommend this Guest House to all i am looking forward to visiting again

Room Tip: room 8 was very quiet located at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylcigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Mickleton Guest House is well situated with easy access to the sea front and it has parking which is great. The hosts, Pat and Adrian, are extremely helpful and will do whatever they can to make the stay as pleasant as possible.

It was a little disconcerting to find upon arrival a demand is made for a 'key deposit' after no previous mention of that, also the The Rules, and there are many - no mobile phones at breakfast, no buying new clothes and leaving the hangers in the wardrobe, similarly for shoe boxes, etc, etc!!

On no account try to enter the breakfast room early, it is strictly between 8.30 am and 9 am, so several of the guests hovered in the lounge like expectant travellers waiting for the boarding gates to open. Once allowed into the breakfast room, be on best behaviour as CCTV is in operation!!

The room itself was nice and clean with nice complimentary toiletries and the bed comfortable. The shower suffered a little from mold at the bottom, but on the whole everything was very nice.

The Mickleton is well positioned with parking, and a very nice place to stay if you don't mind The Rules and a very large dog that greets you on arrival!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berylthesilverperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

2nd time staying here & had a lovely time again! The owners Pat & Adrian are lovely, friendly people & will make recommendations on places to eat / visit if you ask. Their dog is also really friendly.
Location is great for us - free parking, quiet area, a 2 min walk across a car park until you are at the seafront.
Room was nice for a night stay (we had booked very last minute) but quite dated with a really small bathroom with a dodgy slide door that didnt lock. Cant fault the cleanliness though! We were put in a family room (room 4 i think), with a double bed & a small single right next to it, plenty of storage space, small flat screen tv on the wall and tea & coffee facilities. En suite bathroom had toilet, sink, shower cubicle & bathroom toiletries provided.
Breakfast was included in the price, its served in the dining room between 8.30-9am & was as last time delicious (we had the full english, toast, orange juice, cereal & tea) You are asked to select what you'd like the night before.
There is a lovely garden to sit in if the weather suits & they do have a lounge with bar but we didnt use it.
We would stay here again for a 3rd time but would try to book more in advance so we could request one of the more modern rooms as shown on their website. The location, hosts & the breakfast were faultless & we would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopePitstop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Pat and Adrian make you feel most welcome,lovely b&b,very clean and tidy,nice breakfast,would highly recommend and will be going back again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefoxesleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#3 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Lodge Guest House
White Lodge Guest House
#29 of 97 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickleton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickleton Guest House

Property: Mickleton Guest House
Address: 6 North Parade Extension, Skegness PE25 1BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mickleton Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our cosy, family run licensed guest house situated on the seafront. Ten bedrooms on 3 floors all with colour televisions, hair dryers and hospitality trays. We offer a high standard of home cooking which includes a full English breakfast and a 3 course evening meal with a choice of menus. Our 3 star guest house offers free parking for all rooms and has a well stocked licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mickleton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing