We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“45 min wait and lager was undrinkable”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Steak n Stuff

Steak n Stuff
Ranked #10 of 214 Restaurants in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“45 min wait and lager was undrinkable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a table for 4 but had to move tables as the gap between the table and fixed bench seats is about 12" and a bit tight for most blokes. We ordered our steaks and the waitress took our order for 2 pints and 2 halves of lager. The drinks came 5mins later and were totally flat and no head on the beer, we all left the beer and refused to pay for it on the bill. A 6" Chiabata warm roll was brought to us with some butter and a knife on a breadboard, this was cut into 4 to share among 4 adults, even Jesus couldn't feed 4 adults with the tiny slice we devoured; it should be a roll per person.
The restaurant was way too hot as you sit near the chefs grill even with the door wide open everyone was sweating profusley and were fanning themselves with the wine list. Another customer sitting by us complained that their steak was too chewy, it was taken back to the chef who told the waitress to return it to the customer as that is what it's like? They left very disgruntled vowing never to return. Our steaks arrived after 45mins but were actually OK but due to other aspects mentioned above, we would not recommend it to others

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stedepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl M, Owner at Steak n Stuff, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am sorry you found our booths a tight on space but we do have free standing tables and chairs for those who struggle to fit in and they can be reserved at the time of booking, on the subject of the lager I am sorry you found it flat, we only have one draught Lager and served a substantial amount that evening as we were full all night and received no other complaints, but as you said we did not charge you for this and there was other lagers available by bottle or can, the Ciabbatta is a free gesture we make to all tables when they come in while they decide on there meals and drinks and we have not received a complaint on this before as there is no charge, unfortunately when the restaurant is full as it was on this night there can be a wait on food as all our meals from our sauces to our steaks are cooked fresh to order, and also when full and at the height of the summer the restaurant can be hot but we do have fans, and have all the doors and windows open to keep it as cool as possible.
Finally on the subject of a customer complaining on a seperate table about the steak being chewy this customer ordered a very well done steak and unfortunately if ordered cooked in this manner it will not be as enjoyable as that cooked slightly less.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    37
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went here on 9th of aug their was 3 off use and 1 was a veggie. We all said we would come back here again when we are back in skegg. All the food is great n would say go for the mix grill if u are hungry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljgoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best steak outside of Florida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just been to Skegness for weekend and went to steak n stuff. Friday night, hadn't booked, but that wasn't a problem. Both ordered rib eye, it was amazing. Have ate many great steaks in Florida, but why go that far, when you only have to go to Skegness! Will certainly go again. Don't change.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's the Business!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Been to this Restaurant 3 times now, whenever we go to Skeggie, always like to have a good meal and we have not been disapointed on all 3 occasions, this time was on 15 August. Service was good,food was excellent,well cooked,and served up promptly, and efficient,by 2 very nice and friendly waitresses. No complaints at all, the price was really reasonable,as there was plenty on the plate!
When we go to Skeggie again, we will certainly book a table at Steak and Stuff. Well done folks you really do a good job,we really like the Cheese cake as well by the way,delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

we were at the steak and stuff on sunday its the wifes favaourie in skeg whist its not the cheapest its always good my wife and i had a steak with all the trimmings and a lovely sause my daughter had a chicken dish good atmosphere nice place

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak n Stuff also viewed

Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Steak n Stuff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing