We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop-over”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Skegness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ingleton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stop-over”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

weve just returned from a stop over/business meeting in Skegness and found and loved this dog friendly hotel. Where nothing was too much trouble as we have just started our diets, Shirley was only too happy to accommodate us, we had delicious poached egg and beans on toast with a fresh fruit salad and all-bran flakes. . so all very healthy.. gorgeous location, sea view, 2 mins from main high street... loved it.. definately recommend .. dont bother reading all the nasty reviews, the couple who run this hotel arent fake, not in your face and false, just down to earth friendly hoteliers, just how we like it.

Room Tip: We had room 6, but i reckon room 7 would be awesome as it had it owns balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NBA2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    39
    14
    3
    11
See reviews for
34
87
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely Easter break in Skeggy (my first time ever and I loved the place!!). The Grand was a perfect base - on the sea front and a small walking distance to the Pier and shops. The B&B was clean and the staff were really friendly. The breakfast was amazing each morning and the perfect start to the day. I would only recommend to stay away from the Clock House Restaurant - it was extremely expensive for what it served plus the quality of the food was very disappointing. The Sun Castle is a must for sure, its a bit quirky price for drinks was really reasonable.

Room Tip: If possible when booking a double room as for one on the first or second floor - the third floor one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon_farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

i stayed at the grand for 4 nights, the room was really nice i thought it was nice that you got clean towels everyday and as i went with my grandparents the view from the room was really nice you you could see the crazy gold course and the pier it is a lovely walk from the hotel to the beach and they also have facility for people that smoke, i smoke and it was nice that they had two benches outside and you have a lovely view of the pier at night. breakfast at the grand is lovly they have toast and a selction of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, jams, mushroom, sausage( nice but could be better), bacon, bean , tomatos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

stayed for 1 night, room lovely clean and compact room. room 20 on third floor lovely sea view with small balcony nice new bathroomm toiletries provided and tea and coffee facilities. car parking available. overlooks the pier and crazy golf. breakfast excellent spotlessly clean. tea coffee orange and apple juice cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad,toast eggs scrambled and poached beans mushrooms tomatoes[grilled] bacon and sausage its a help yourself but quality is good although sausages could be better. staff are friendly and very helpful we will return x

Room Tip: choose a sea view with balcony the third floors best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed one night with my partner on a short break. Met owner on arrival who was courteous, yes they do keep your car keys and yes my car was moved to make room in the small garage. Unless you own a Ferrari I really dont see why this is a problem. Room very clean, bed comfy and smelt fresh, decor a little dated but as long as its clean that doesnt bother me. Breakfast was fantastic, buffet style where you can help yourself to as much as you want, all hot and fresh. Very nice cheap and cheerful hotel, right opposite the beach and pier. Would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Be strongly advised not to stay at this 'hotel'. No welcome from the owners and then it just gets worse. When signing in I was told I would have to give my car keys to the husband so he could move my car as they have to double park due to lack of space. I didn't take much notice and went up to my room - was not shown to it or had an offer to carry my luggage.
On coming back down later to explore Skegness the wife (who had been lying in wait) asked for my car keys so her husband could move my car. When I refused she said I could not leave the hotel unless I did so!!!!!! I have never been so rudely treated in a hotel before. What was she going to do- forcibly restrain me, lock me in my room????
I said that as my car was parked at the back of the little garage it was not in the way and didn't need moving. She insisted it had to be moved, again I said no. We agreed to go and have a look at how it was parked, whereupon she became quiet as she saw it was not in the way.
When my friend and I returned to the hotel later in the day the wife whispered to her husband 'that's her'. He called to me and said he had found somewhere else for me to park that would be acceptable to us both. I duly moved my car.
He is a creepy man who watches all his guests coming and going. He sits in a chair watching us all come and go when he should be doing the very many maintenance jobs that need doing all over the hotel; shabby decor, old kettle on a small shelf half-way up the wall, towel rail falling off, old horrible brown bobbly blankets, only single pillow cases when there should be two, dirty windows, to name just a few.
My friend and I did not like leaving and returning to the hotel as we knew he would be watching, it really spoilt our stay in Skegness.
Breakfast was not much better, plastic jugs, cheap food, old plastic table cloths for the serving tables, cheap nasty table mats.
And to top it all off, when we checked out he told me he had already taken the amount out on my credit card. As we had decided to pay cash I was annoyed. How dare he do that. The correct procedure is to present the bill to the guest so the guest can check it is correct, then the hotelier should ask ask how the guest would like to pay and THEN ask the guest for their credit card!!!
A most awful hotel (prison camp) run by Basil and Sybil! We re-named it Fawlty Towers.
Please find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dudleycat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I booked a last minute trip down to Skeggy for a weekend break from the kids on our anniversary.

We found The Grand very quickly and it has a grat location on the sea front. Parking provided to the rear of the bulding in a garage (4 spaces (which we got one of)) so no probs there. A walk round the front to ring the bell and be let in. The Owner greeted us warmly and explained the 3 keys given for room, porch and front doors. We were then provided direction to our £76 (paid £10 more for an upgraded sea view) double room on the top floor.

Eventually we reached the top, dodging the stair lifts provided for restricted access to floors 1 and 2, and opened the door to our room.....

HAPPY! Modern attired room in clean, neautral colours. Nice double bed (no squeeks ;) ) Opened the double patio door to the balcony we paid the extra cash for and were pleasanly surprised by the lovely view. I'm glad we paid the upgrade.

Bathroom nicely decorated and Shower worked well power and heat wise.

We had a lovely night in Skegness and slept well. Onto breakfast...! HAPPY! Self serve with plenty of cereal, fruit and yougurt choice. Sausages, Bacon, Eggs, Beans and Mushrooms followed from the beffet style self serve.

All in all we were both extremely happy with our Hotel choice and would certainly stay at The Grand again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Pay for the Sea View with Balcony. We liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#9 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
1.1 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 14 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally located in a prime seafront position, close to the Sun Castle Bowling Greens, the Pier, and just a 5-minute walk from Skegness Town Centre. Guests can enjoy full English breakfasts and free Wi-Fi. Grand Hotel is a family managed business comprising of 21 rooms including an suite bathroom, with a TV and free tea, coffee. Some rooms feature private balconies with views of the bowling green and seafront. The buffet-style breakfast includes a variety of continental options as well as cooked items. Guests can enjoy a drink and meet new friends in the Grand Hotel Bar. We have a fitted chair lift, providing easy access to our first and second floor bedrooms. Children cannot be accommodated at the hotel. Extra beds are not available. There is no capacity for extra beds in the room. Skegness Rail Station is just 15-minute walking distance. Also the Tower cinema, Skegness Arcade, and Lifestyle Leisure Centre are only 15 minutes away on foot. The Embassy Theatre is just 5 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing