We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay at a nice hotel”
Review of The Sunningdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunningdale
Ranked #16 of 93 Skegness B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Its a nice hotel and you get what you pay for really. Its not a high end posh hotel, its a nice little family run hotel and they are very accommodating. The chuckie doll was funny, I think the dolls were nice and made the hotel look even better. The only thing that really let it down for me was the really small bathroom but the room was nice and cosy. Its only round the corner from the centre which was really convenient. Me and my friend loved this hotel and the staff were so nice, the bed was realy comfy as well. Had no issues with the hotel what soever, Location was good, service was good, and the room was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for The Sunningdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

ok, very friendly. We found the decor very dated. It was a 5/10 minute walk into central area. If we went back to Skegness we would try somewhere else to stay. Dolls dotted around were weird, but everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punkwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went for a weekend break, we found our room was dated and hygiene standards poor. No vacuuming under the bed, cobwebs in the bathroom, thick dust being hidden by the magazine rack. The door handle rattled every time a bus drove past the guest house and the door to the room itself was ill fitting. We could plainly hear other guests having conversations in their rooms. The first morning there we placed the "please clean room" sign on a door but on our return the only sign of cleaning was the replenishment of coffee and milk. Breakfast was exceptional but a shame only available between 8.30 and 900. The mock tudoresque decor did not live up to its images as promoted on the guide. The "tiny tears" doll collection did nothing to enhance the feel of the guest house. All in all thankfully Skegness had more to offer otherwise we would have left the day after our arrival!

Room Tip: Try others in the area - some offer a chance to look round and view before booking.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayboyskegness, Owner at The Sunningdale, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Right , here we go.

Our 100 yr old building here in Skegness is showing a few signs of it's old age which of course we all do as we get older. Age reveals rattles and wonky joints but none so bad that life can't happily carry on or cause us to worry !
With many guests more than happy with our hygiene i sometimes wonder how the cobweb family that reside with us on a regular basis manage to leave their evidence so unknowingly to us and for guests to observe but obviously can happen as in all of our homes !
Unfortunately we are unable to specify as to how loud guests can have a conversation within their room and hope that any overheard conversations are acceptable and do not contain any disturbing subject for others to hear.
Breakfast 8-30 -9.00 am suits the majority of our guests who wish to be up enjoying their time away but is not compulsory for those who wish to choose otherwise.
Each day the guests room on request are serviced. This includes tea, coffee etc replenishment, bins emptied etc and any other requirements deemed necessary to make the guests comfortable within their room without disturbing personal belongings.
Any pictures shown regarding our guest house are actual photos of the building inside and out therefore no mis- interpretatation can be made of our accommodation.We do not have a brochure but do display many photos on our booking sites.
The collection of vintage dolls and prams displayed on only the ground floor are of great interest to many guests and are very in-fitting with the character of the building .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Sunningdale, friendly welcome when i arrived, left to get on with my stay without interruption, had a small double room, and it was small, but i was informed of this prior to my stay. The room was clean, bed clean and very comfortable, breakfast was very nice, served by nice people. The only criticism I have is the toys. There are two beautiful silver cross prams in the reception area, and another in the lounge I think, and a rocking horse, and I lost count of the dolls scattered around. In the breakfast room there must have been about thirty of them. It was a bit weird but apart from that the hotel was small and friendly. A bit old fashioned but fine. It did the job for me.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor, the stairs are steep.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellshillEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Went for a 2 night stay at this b+b. We arrived early but was allowed to leave our luggage there so we could make the most of the day, was made to feel very welcome and the b+b has plenty of character about it. Our 4 year old daughter loved the dolls, prams and the rocking horse. Breakfast was excellent not a drop of grease on the plate will stay again and thank you from the Tyrrell family

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

owners and family very freindly had a very welome arrival
room was standard double, comfy bed. tea/coffee making equip. tv. en-suit shower and basin separate wc. quite basic equipment but adiquate.
full english included . cereal, bacon, sausage, egg beans tomatoe and toast
fruit juices and or coffee/tea
allbeautifully cooked and tasty
recommended
QUIET LOCATION 10MINS WALK FROM TOWN

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete4741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

went to stay at this b&b just for the i night wish it could have been more. The welcome was great and nothing too much trouble, the staff were polite and a good selection for breakfast being a b&b owner myself i am pleased to say i would gladly return which we will in the future well done see you as soon as we can the Ratcliffe family.

Room Tip: room 6 is a beautiful room must try
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Quorn Hotel
The Quorn Hotel
#2 of 25 in Skegness
244 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karema
Karema
#23 of 93 in Skegness
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunningdale

Address: 19, Seaview Road, Skegness PE25 1BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range: $66 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunningdale 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10 bedroom , family run guest house,offering varied room types including Four Poster, Deluxe, family and Doubles.We are situated just 2 minutes from the beach and approximately 15 minutes walk from the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing