We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Reviewed September 8, 2013

stayed here one night over the weekend received a really warm welcome from friendly staff it was 5 minute walk to beach front where all the shops and attractions are located. Provided travel cot for baby to sleep in. Comfy beds although rather bouncy when turning over. Great value for money, would stay there again :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Assis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

we took the wifes parents down for a week and chose this hotel as it was recommended by a friend as disabled friendly. we were not disapointed, the level of service was second to none. Dave, Lesley and Della were very attentive to all their guests. the meals were excellent home cooked food. you start the day off with a realy nice breakfast. the banter from Dave is excellent and a nice get together with other guests in the bar in the evening for that well deserved drink. the hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to the beach front. nothing is too much for Dave in ordering any other items you may need such as wheelchairs or scooters. this is a must use hotel. the inlaws realy enjoyed their stay at the mayfair. thanks you. Gwyn,Denise, Jenny and Bill.

Room Tip: the hotel is in a quiet street so no traffic noise. the room was very good. everything you need is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

great hotel, Great home cooked food, was well looked after, very generous people. I visited this hotel while i was on a solo charity walk, was given a warm welcome, really clean room, i was well fed and really looked after. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Skegness, local to everything you would need

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrekBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this hotel as a week away for my parents who are both in their 80's and no longer able to go away abroad due to various age related disabilities. After much searching on the web i found this hotel. I can not recommend this hotel more highly. They have described the food as excellent good home cooked food the rooms were clean and comfy and the owners really couldn't do enough for them. Its all to easy to come on here and comment when things go wrong but i feel it should work both ways and the treatment that my parents received and the satisfaction that they got from having a week at this hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank both Dave, Lesley for making an old couples stay so comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE MAYFAIR HOT... S, Owner at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

thank you for your lovely comment, hope too see you again soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came upon the mayfair hotel by chance, whilst scrolling the net for wheelchair accessable hotels in skegness. although we were a bit apprehensive when they said they could accomodate wheelchairs(we had been told this by another hotel in skeg the previous year and had been disapointed) we needn't have worried it is all that it says and more.We had to attend a family funeral and dave and lesley couldnt of been more helpful we booked in for 3 days and decided to only have breakfast on the day of the funeral however after sampling it and seeing what value for money it was we also booked for the next morning,
Wealso had our 3 children with us who are all in thier twenty's and each of thier rooms all had en- suites and double beds which they loved. dave and lesley's hosting skills are faultless its true what they say come as a guest and leave as a friend i know we felt that way and we can honestly say we will be returning as we still have family there and we have finally found a hotel that does what it says on the tin.
I would HIGHLY reccomend this hotel to anyone, and thankyou dave and lesley for making our stay pleasent in a otherwise upsetting situation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendy679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE MAYFAIR HOT... S, Owner at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

thank you for your lovely comment xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My mum and I always stay at the Mayfair Hotel when we go to Skegness. We always get a nice warm welcome from Dave, Lesley and Della. Meals are very nice and you get a good choice as well. Our room is always nice and clean. We look forward to a drink in the bar of the hotel at night, you are guaranteed to have a laugh. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Skegness. J and j Derby

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the Mayfair Hotel in February 2013 due to attending a catering exhibition in Skegness. The accommodation had been booked for me, so I didn't know what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised.

My room was an ensuite double room, complete with TV and coffee/tea making facilities. The room was tight on space and I would like to have had more furniture (room to put things such as a dressing table or a shelf for such), but as I was staying only one night it was no issue.

The room was warm and comfortable, and dark of a night time, although talking from the courtyard below could be heard later in the evening.

Breakfast was very good, having been cooked fresh by the proprietor with lots of tea and coffee available.

The owner also showed us the recently refurbished bar area which is a real asset to the establishment, and has a 1950's/60's theme with new fixtures and fittings.

Overall a very pleasant night's stay and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank britkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.9 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Quorn Hotel
The Quorn Hotel
#2 of 25 in Skegness
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 10 Saxby Ave., Skegness, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range: $78 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts David, Lesley & Della The Mayfair Hotel ***star, is a friendly family run hotel with a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We...are situated in a quiet residential area but only minutes away from the sea front, town centre, bus and train stations....The hotel offers 9 letting bedrooms (doubles and twin single) - most ensuite. The location in a very quiet area in the south of Skegness, a short distance from South Parade promenade, the southern bowling greens and the boating lake. Accommodation is available as room and breakfast, or optional, room, breakfast and evening meal, served in our comfortable dining room. Residents enjoy the comfort of our lounge and bar, both of which are delightful for relaxation on your holiday. Hotel FacilitiesBedrooms Ground Floor Accessible Rooms •Double bed •Twin beds •Right hand transfer to bed •Left hand transfer to bed •Sufficient wheelchair access around bedroom •Adjustable/electrically operated bed •Underneath bed clearance for portable hoist •Put-u-up bed for carer •Tea/coffee making facilities at accessible height •Electric sockets/hairdryer at accessible height •Mirror at accessible height Shower room•Wheelchair accessible shower room •Wheelchair turning space in shower room •Room for carer/carers in shower room •Grab rails in shower room •Easy access to wash basin •Easy access to hand dryer/towels •Portable shower chair •Shower gel/soap dispensers at accessible height •Shower controls reachable when seated •Space for right transfer to toilet •Space for left transfer to toilet On - site facilities•Electric Scooter charging facilities •Level/ramped access into accommodation •Easy access around ground floor Restaurant/Dining Area•Level/ramped access to dining room •Sufficient wheelchair access to tables Equipment rental•Wheelchair loan/hire •Electric Scooter loan/hire (Two on site)Other•Disabled emergency fire procedure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing