We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great day”

Natureland Seal Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 42 things to do in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Awarded "Best Skegness Attraction in 2015" and "Best Business 2015" by the Skegness Partnership in November 2015, Natureland is well known for rescuing and rehabilitating orphaned and injured seal pups that are stranded on Lincolnshire beaches. Our visitors can see the seals and lots of other wonderful animals including penguins, meerkats, alpacas, tropical birds/butterflies, pets corner, aquarium, tropical house, koi carp pool, animal brass rubbing, gift shop and refreshments available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We live in Skegness but had not got round to visiting this great little place before although we pass it on a daily basis. We were not dissapointed, I had my parents visiting us for a week so we decided it was time. So the weather was lovely for late October and of we went, fortunatly we could park right outside,the 4 of us went in it is not a large place but it is compact with plenty to see. I am a wheelchair user but I had no difficulty getting round, there is only one steep ramp down to the main area. The only place I had difficulty was in the tropical house where there is a narow bridge so I had to turn back. We watched the feeding of the baby seals, then we watched to biger seals, and then the penguins. The meercats are very close so they are brilliant to watch there is a glass pannel so even the tiny tots can view. We bought some food so we could hand feed the goats and sheep, brilliant! they are so funny as they try and reach over to lick your hands.
We spent about 3 hours hear, and we had a brillianat time, I would recomend any one visiting Skegness to visit.

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Owner at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thanks for your excellent and accurate review, sounds like you all really enjoyed your visit. We have low viewing windows into many exhibits to allow smaller children, and wheelchair users, to be able to see easily.These are very popular. We also have two toilet facilities for people with disabilities. The small steps in the Tropical House are the only ones that we have been unable to do anything with but there is a sign to advise people when to go back the way they came in. Apart from that, as you said, we have ramps to all areas and are very wheelchair friendly.
Thanks again for such a good review, hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,687 - 1,691 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

As it was half term and the weather was good a short drive to Skegness was decided on to visit Natureland. Got there not long after opening at 10:00 and paid for myself only as I had the voucher from their web site to allow my son in free.

It is quite a small place but there is a lot crammed into it with information boards up in regard to the seals and some good solid background information in regard to them. However once you have been around a couple of times looking at the different things that is about it except that the feeding time does indeed put a new slant on things.

The feeding moves from one enclosure to another and there is a comprehensive introduction to the seals and penguins and their relationships with each other.

One thing that really surprised my was just before they youngest seals were fed there was an explanation of costs (fair enough) but then the lady who was feeding the seals came around with a bowl asking directly for monies.

Bearing in mind this is fully funded from donations and monies generated in the place and credit to them, this hard sell was wrong, surely if it were left to the discretion of those, once informed, to leave something extra would have been better.

Would say it was worth half a day maximum before you would want to move on but at £7.50 well worth it. And yes I did leave extra monies as a donation.

2  Thank Spout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Owner at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, it is much appreciated.
Just to clarify - the fundraising at feeding time is something we do to raise extra much needed funds to enable us to continue our work rescuing the seals. There is absolutely no obligation to buy any of the small souvenirs offered for sale, it is entirely voluntary. Thank you very much for your donation and thanks once again for taking the time to write your review.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

born and bred here in skegness i have visited natureland on many occassions and can say never disappointed a fun learning day for the whole family

Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Owner at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your review and for your support over the years.
See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We came to skegnes just to see the seal sanctuary and it was so worth it :) the work that the people do at this sanctuary is amazing and the small faces of the seals make you relise that this is so important :) best day out :)

Thank MagdaleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Owner at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit.
See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's a very interesting day out, seeing what is done to rescue the seals how well they are looked after and the seals are very entertaining .The staff are very helpfull and stop what they doing to talk to you it is kept very clean.There are other animals here apart from the seals there is reptile centre and butterflys very nice day out .Large resturant serving good food.

Thank SUSAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saveourseals, Owner at Natureland Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thanks for your great review, glad you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natureland Seal Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Natureland Seal Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing