We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here”
Review of The Eastleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Eastleigh
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I had to go to Skegness for work and didn't know where to stay. I am so pleased I found The Eastleigh, my room was spotless with lots of lovely toiletries and my towels were shaped like swans! I'm going up again for work in February and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate it! We know Skegness is not the most desirable destination in mid-November, but we're glad you found The Eastleigh welcoming and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 468 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in the family room during October half term with our 5 year old son and 11 week old baby boy. Every where else with a family room was booked so we were not sure what to expect. We were not disappointed.
We were surprised how close the hotel was to the front and parking outside the hotel was no problem ( might be different in peak times) we were greated with a warm welcome and ian was very friendly and helpful. It seemed to really matter to him that we had every thing we needed and was comfortable. He was worried that the room wouldn't be warm enough for our baby and we were offered a fan heater, but the room was fine. Some might like it a bit warmer but we were very comfortable.
The room was lovely, very clean, comfortable and had more room than a lot of places we have been. The family room is 2 adjoining rooms. Very useful for putting our son to bed and being able to stay up and have a cuppa and watch tv without disturbing him. Baby stayed in our room. There is room for a small cot next to the bed.
Our little boy was very happy here and wanted to stay longer. He was so disappointed that we had to go home. Our baby actually slept quite well in this room too. Not sure if it was the sea air!.
The only thing that might put people off, and almost put me off booking a room, is that there is no breakfast. It wasn't a problem though. We had breakfast at the waterfront ( restaurant at the top of lucky strike amusements quite random but turned out to be nice!)
We loved our short stay at the eastleigh. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbowlappage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Manager at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments. It was a real pleasure having your family stay with us. We're glad you found a breakfast place that you were happy with - more and more guests now prefer booking 'room only' to give themselves the freedom of choice regarding what to eat and when. We really hope you'll be able to visit again to see the upcoming improvements we'll be making to The Eastleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights. It was great location right next to the pier and there was plenty of parking around either in the small car park or on the street. we stayed in room 1 it was quiet, modern, very clean, a little small however big enough. Owner was friendly and helpful. We like the little extras in the room for example the mini fridge, drinks and toiletries. overall we enjoyed our stay and if we return to Skegness we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank x-x-ECP-x-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you! You were terrific guests and we hope we'll see you again some time. Thanks very much for the generous review - it's really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We always book our hotels from reviews on trip advisor. As this hotel had rave reviews we booked it. How disappointing! Yes the room had lots of little extras - hand cream,tea/coffee,shampoo,sewing kit etc. But that did not make up for the fact the room we had (room 10 ground floor), was dated,very old fashioned,cold and smelt damp. The furniture looked like it was from the 70's, decor was same, bathroom had mould on ceiling above shower, bare plaster lower down the wall and the window frame/ledge was filthy and needed painting. The window in the bedroom was also very dirty and needed painting. Our room looked nothing like the pictures on the web site. We had one very small radiator that had to heat the bedroom and bathroom and at 5pm when we came back in to change I had to ask owner to put heating on as it was freezing. When we came back in at 11pm heating was off again and never came back on up to us leaving at 9.30am. Very very disappointing.Location was good for central.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooby14doncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We're disappointed that you're disappointed! We'd be the first to admit that the room you stayed in is need of some TLC and it will be done over this winter period. However, we believe you get what you pay for and that's the reason our superior rooms are currently being offered so cheaply. Compared to anything of a similar standard in Skegness they are a bargain - and certainly not filthy. There is nothing 'filthy' anywhere on our premises. Our heating is timed to be on from 6pm until midnight and then again from 6am until 11am, which is well after checkout. You were the only guests in a full house to complain of being cold, others had windows open - it's simply impossible to please everyone, but we try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Booked at short notice known nothing about the place. Super location, friendly and clean. Shown to our lovely room on the top floor. Free WiFi and lots of other nice touches that made the whole place much better than many other B&Bs we've stayed in.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thanks for the great review - we're working hard to make The Eastleigh better than ever, so we hope you'll have a chance to visit again and see all the improvements. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We're so pleased we chose to stay at the Eastleigh for 3 nights. We were 2 couples visiting for the weekend to see Billy Pearce at the Embassy, and chose the hotel from the reviews here on Tripadvisor.
The welcome was excellent, the owner was very friendly, helped with our bags and explained all we needed to know. Our rooms were really terrific! We had booked a deluxe room at a very reasonable rate per night, but we got a stunning large room at the front with a four poster bed. Our friends room was next door, overlooked the rear of the building, but was equally large and well furnished. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped with lots of little touches.
The hotel is just around the corner from the main drag, so it was an easy walk for us to find restaurants and to get to the theatre. We didn't use the car all weekend.
This has to be a hard to beat place in terms of room quality for tthe money. It was great value and a very pleasant stay. We'll be sure to stay again when we next visit the Embassy for a show.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are large and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks so much for the great review! We're pleased you enjoyed your weekend in Skegness and we were delighted to have you stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you again when you visit for another show. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here last Wednesday (9th-10th October) and we were absolutely delighted with our rooms which were warm, comfortable, very clean, plenty of tea, coffee and sugar (+ horlics and drinking chocolate), beautifully furnished and lots of special little touches. Thankyou to the staff for all the thoughtful hard work that has gone into making this the best b&b in Skegness, we are definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: Ring to book and get 10% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria-and-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review - it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Eastleigh again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Quorn Hotel
The Quorn Hotel
#2 of 25 in Skegness
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
542 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#21 of 25 in Skegness
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastleigh

Address: 60 Scarbrough Avenue, Skegness PE25 2TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: $60 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Eastleigh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastleigh has an enviable location, conveniently close to the seafront, Skegness Pier and North Parade, and an easy walk to the beach, the centre of town, the bowling greens and Embassy Theatre. All rooms are comfortably furnished, well-appointed doubles arranged over three floors and all are en-suite with showers. Rooms at the front have a limited sea-view, and all other rooms face the rear of the property. Many unexpected little extras make a stay at The Eastleigh a little more special. The Eastleigh is 'room-only' and does not offer any meals, which is reflected in the attractive room rates. Allocated parking in the private car park is available for some rooms, otherwise there is ample on-street unlimited free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Eastleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastleigh Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing