We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend away.”
Review of The Bull & Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bull & Swan
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for three nights from 1st March. We stayed in the 'Ram', which is a spacious room with an equally pleasant bathroom, comprising free standing bath and large shower. Throughout our stay we were always greeted by warm and friendly staff, whether it was for breakfast, or an afternoon drink. On the Sunday evening we ate in the Bedlam dining room, the standard of the food was equal to the service with which it was provided, the staff are always willing to cater for your needs. This is the third successive year we have stayed and will definitely be doing so again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are over the moon with your very kind comments regarding your stay. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are very pleased that we lived up to your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 352 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent a night in the hotel, the room was nice clean and very spacious. However the room was at the front of the hotel, which was on the main road through Stamford,this got very noisy from about 11pm to 2am. Then started again at 6am, which woke us up several times. We booked into the restaurant, as it was my Wife's birthday, the menu was a bit limited, and you will need a second mortgage for the sweets, as they are all priced at £7. Unless you wanted ice-cream at £1.50 a scoop. The other downside to the room was, that when we had a shower there was a terrible smell emanating from the drains If they priced the deserts at a more reasonable price more people, including us would have them. The restaurant was less than a 1/3 full, and for a Saturday night that tells a story.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We came here for 1 night to break a trip to the North. Whilst you may think it unfair to judge a place on one night, we can only report as we found. The rooms are well equipped and are nicely furnished and cosy. The bar was friendly and the staff pleasant. We had great expectations of the restaurant but were hugely disappointed with the quality of the food considering the price. We would stay here again but we would eat in one of the numerous restaurants to choose from in the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We strive to offer the best locally sourced food for our menu and are very sorry that we have fallen short in our delivery on this occasion. Your kind words about the bedroom and staff are greatly appreciated. I do hope we can tempt you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the luxury'Ram' room which was large with lovely features. A big bathroom with freestanding bath and good sized shower. Lovely comfy bed and great amenities. We ate in the dining room on the Saturday night and enjoyed a very good, if quite expensive meal. Both nights we stayed there though we were disturbed by noise below in the restaurant, on the saturday night they were dragging tables over a wooden floor way after midnight to set up for the next day. Would stay again but ask for a quieter room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodders_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for your kind words regarding the room and food. Our apologies for the noise you experienced. We have addressed our setup process to ensure that this will not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was my second stay at the Bull and Swan. My first stay was when I was working in the area and even though I slept badly as I was in a room above the bar I decided to give it a second chance as a friend had stayed in a different room and said it was lovely. So when i booked my room my my husband and myself I explained I did not want the Lion room as it was noisy. When we arrived we were shown our room by a nice member of staff who was very helpful. Once in the room ( the badger room) we were happy with the size and general appearance although linen and towels have seen better days. However, within an hour we both agreed the noise of a constantly banging door and general rowdiness of the restaurant below we're going to disturb us all evening. I immediately brought it to the manager attention but no alternative room were available so we had to put up. I am waiting on finding out what refund we will get but I just think if you are planning a quiet break in beautiful Stamford- stay elsewhere perhaps a nearby village hotel. Deeply regret booking again

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful room don't stay here. Better for younger couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and that at the booking stage your requirements were not dealt with better. I have taken steps to ensure the doors are made quieter for future guests. I hope that the full refund on departure went some way to compensate for your poor experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for one night on their Sunday offer £40 per person for bed and breakfast in one of the Lyon room I think it was called. It was great value for the money we felt.

The room had an enormous bed and an ornate bath in the room. Fine if you are staying with a better half! Very comfortable bed, very good breakfast.

Enough said!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is lovely to get such positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stopped by for a quick lunch and wasn't disappointed. My partner had potato and watercress soup with crusty bread and I had smoked salmon and creme fresh sandwiches with hand cut chips.......very yummy and with a drink each it all came to £20. Would definitely visit again next time I am in Stamford.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stubbysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, General Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.1 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The George Of Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,211 reviews
8.1 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
950 reviews
6.8 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull & Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull & Swan

Address: 24A High Street, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $112 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull & Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time there was a drinking club at Burghley House. It was founded by The 5th Earl of Exeter in 1684 and it was called The Honourable Order of Little Bedlam. It had an eclectic bunch of members: The Baptist Earl of Gainsborough was known as Greyhound, The Hon Charles Bertie was The Stag and The Earl of Denbigh was Tyger amongst other nefarious characters. They would have drunk locally brewed ales, feasted on Burghley Estate and other local produce and created total bedlam. Things have a habit of coming round and we are delighted to invite you to dine on our local produce, sup our fine ales and obviously behave very, very well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bull & Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull And Swan
The Bull & Swan Hotel Stamford
Bull And Swan Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing