We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very good position. Stayed for 2 nights early July. Welcome was very friendly. We had Room 43 across the courtyard. Room was excellent, bed very comfortable and very good bathroom with shower gel and shampoo.
Friday evening eat in the courtyard watching tennis on the large TV. We both found the food very good. Saturday had lunch in the Courtyard with a jug of Pimms watching the Ladies Final. The small dishes of whitebait, scampi and cheese balls were very good.
Breakfast choice was very good and well cooked.
The staff were very friendly and efficient. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    159
    68
    30
    9
See reviews for
51
235
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Used the Crown for a long weekend recently. Stamford is beautiful and the Crown is very well positioned in the centre of town. The bar is lively and has an interesting selection of drinks and cocktails. The weather was good and the outside seating area is pleasant. The car park is small and finding a place can be difficult. On arrival we were booked into room 31 which is not in the Hotel but in the townhouse up the street, the room was in the basement and the stairs were quite awkward, the room was ok but dark and only a light curtain seperates the bedrrom from the bathroom, there is no shower. None of this would have stopped us staying in the room but the heating was on full and the main radiator could not be shut off. There is a small window which cannot be properly opened because it is obstructed by the roller blind, the alternative is to open a door which is below pavement level and right by the bed. We asked reception to get the heating switched off however on our return later nothing had been done. We were then moved to a much nicer ( and cooler) room in the hotel. The staff were always friendly and helpful and efficient in finding an alternative room.
We used the restaurant on the second night and were not particularly impressed with the food which we found quite bland.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and think that apart from some minor shortcomings the Crown is a pleasant Hotel in which to stay.

Room Tip: Check if you are in the Hotel or the Townhouse and beware of the heating in room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank6755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fantastic property but falling down in a few areas due to a lack of attention to detail. The good; room was fine and bathroom was amazing. Bar area very nice and staff friendly and attentive. The bad; the shower was filling up with water so I pulled the plug up to find it full of hair (and I mean full!) not great. The breakfast was abysmal, easily the worst scrambled egg I have ever had (like rubber) and bacon not cooked. Car park is a bit tight.

Shame as a wonderful location and could be outstanding. Staff are nice maybe a bit inexperienced .Chef needs some work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I booked to stay in the most expensive room at the hotel (£165). The room, number 45, was very lovely and situated across the beer garden in converted barns. The bathroom was very modern with a great bath! However, it was just lacking certain finishing touches. There were 5 bottles of shower gel but no shampoo - went to ask at reception and it was no hassle giving me a couple of bottles but no apology was made. We later realised that there was no milk with the tea and coffee but already dressed for bed I wasn't about to go and ask at reception. The following morning, part way through drying my hair the hair dryer stopped working. Went to ask for another, the same thing happened again. A member of staff then brought a third hairdryer which worked. Again, no apology was made.
On checkout, the member of staff took the keys but didn't ask if we'd had a nice stay. The hotel itself and the breakfast were lovely, in a perfect location but it would have been nice if staff had offered an apology for the inconvenience of chasing everything up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for one night recently in Room 17. Check in was efficient and we were pleased that the room was ready a good two hours before expected. This got the weekend off to a good start. The room itself was rather on the small side and the placing of the hospitality tray was rather awkward - low ceiling meant a banged head when making the tea! The room was on the second floor, built under the eaves. Ample electric sockets for hair straighteners etc but very inadequate mirror and lighting for hair and make-up! Two small armchairs but no coffee table although for a one night stay with only limited time in the room it was ok. What the bedroom lacked the bathroom certainly made up for! Wow... Free standing bath, shower cubicle, toilet and basin, a room with enough rspace to have a party in!
The bar was buzzing both with drinkers and dinners. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was excellent. The menu is the same wherever you eat in the Crown and the use of local, seasonal produce (asparagus) was very pleasing. There is a very good wine list and an excellent range of cocktails and different gins to sample. Breakfast was good, both the continental selection and the cooked and it was served quickly which made us think that it wasn't freshly cooked - rather just kept warm in the kitchen.
Stamford is a delightful town and the Crown is well placed for visiting. If you are a light sleeper Room 17 would not be the room for you. We were aware of noise in the early hours of the morning. The room overlooked a small side street where there was a nightclub and kebab shop and at 2.00 am we heard the revellers going home! But if you stay in a hotel in the centre of any town there will always be some kind of noise - it's the price you pay for the convenience of the location.
Would we stay again? Yes, but would ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Do not have a room overlooking the small side street with the kebab shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spainfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived in Stamford without pre booking accommodation and were lucky enough to stumble upon the Crown Hotel. On enquiring we were advised that the hotel was full for the 2 nights we planned to stay but were offered accommodation a couple of minutes walk away in a property owned by the hotel. The room we were offered was a basement room which was very comfortable and spacious with good decor. After settling in we found the room a little too warm so we tried to turn down the heating but on our return from a long walk we found the room was far to hot to be comfortable. We spoke to management who advised they would look into it. After returning home from Dinner about 9.00pm the room was still too hot so the manager let us sleep in another room in the building which was fine for us. The next morning the maintenance man fixed the problem and we slept comfortably in the original room that night. An adequate breakfast was served back at the main hotel of a morning. Just a warning for those who may be less mobile. The annexe building has steep narrow stairs like many pubs in England so carrying baggage up and down can be a problem. The normal access to the basement room is a tight squeeze however we found that we could access the room directly from the street with only a couple of steps to climb. There is free carparking available at the rear of the Hotel. Overall our stay was pleasant in the amazing town of Stamford.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I'd recommend it to everyone looking for an hotel that offers such great value for money
Great rooms, great food and most if all great staff

Please try it for yourself - you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.3 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Stamford

Property: The Crown Hotel Stamford
Address: 6 All Saints Place, Stamford PE9 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Crown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing