We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I really like staying in independent establishments and this is a real treat, great food, lovely service and right in the middle of beautiful Stamford, the service team at the Crown do a great job. I have stayed at the hotel about 10 times this year and enjoyed most my stays. Slight gripe about some of the rooms being finished on the cheap with what looks like DIY plumbing, cold water once and non working shower that needs some attention instead of having its handle replaced with a steel bolt but honest feedback all the same. Check in can be hit an miss if busy and sometimes frosty depending on who checks you in but on the whole the Crown is really recommended. Good breakfasts and real coffee in the morning always set you up for the day. Whether on business or pleasure the Crown is worth a look, the staff seem to work really hard and are extremely polite.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by staying in either of the houses or apartments adjacent to the hotel they are...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel Stamford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 521 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were so glad we chose this hotel. The atmosphere was vibrant, warm and welcoming. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The hotel is in the centre of this beautiful place. We were in room 12 (as was Kas44) - the bells which woke us at 8am on Sunday were a pleasant reminder of the 'ancient' town. My only problem was the two flights of stairs which I found difficult, but worth it for the view and while there was plenty of noise downstairs it didn't reach our room. Note that we visited the other two hotels we had considered and the atmosphere didn't compare with The Crown. A Great Weekend for touring.

Room Tip: This is a quirky ancient hotel so rooms may vary and there is no lift. So if you have difficulty wi...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights in room 5 and loved the central location, good food and nicely decorated room. The downsides were that we parked our car in the far corner space as only space left, under a few trees so was a little apprehensive. In the morning we couldn't believe our eyes, every bird in Stamford must have pooped on it! The room could have been cleaner - crumbs on desk for two days. The bathroom had a wet room which wet the entire room so make sure you don't leave towels, clothes etc on floor. Noisy outside at night up to 12 and in morning for deliveries as opposite there is a pizza delivery shop and sports bar, but we still slept OK. All in all we enjoyed our stay, we got a good deal as we dined in the restaurant in the evening. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kas444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed in the Crown last Saturday night whilst attending a friends birthday bash elsewhere in Stamford. Booked room 12 overlooking the church at the front of the hotel and was very happy with the room and the facilities on offer in the room, that was until the bells started ringing at 8.00 on Sunday morning, what a cure for the severe hangover that we both had. However it got us out of bed and downstairs for a wonderful breakfast which was made even better with the provision of gluten free bread/toast for my wife who is a Coeliac which we pre-arranged with the hotel. Spent an hour in the bar early on Saturday evening and the choice of ales and the suroundings were much to our satisfaction. All in all would have been an excellent review apart from the bells !!!

Room Tip: If you want a sleep in on a Sunday morning do not book room 12
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a historic hotel in the heart of Stamford. Nice if not spectacular food, great bar as well as friendly reception staff form a good first impression but for the money my stay was far from great. I stayed here for two nights on business, first night staying in room six which is in the main building, facing the narrow Crown Street. I had noise from drunk people walking back from the nightclub nearby as well as bottles being thrown or moved at 3am, things were finished at around 6.30am when the rubbish lorry arrived. The morning was also far from ideal when the shower was either cold or very hot and nothing in between. This was also the smallest bathroom that I have ever been in, if you opened the door, it would swing under the shower! My colleague stayed in the floor below me and could also hear the night porter's radio during the night! The second night I asked to be moved and the room was fine for a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms facing Crown Street!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

nice hotel,great position,comfy room,good quality ingredients used at breakfast and staff friendly and very efficient.

parking was difficult because of how full the carpark was.from the carpark to reception with luggage not easy because you go through the beer garden that had quite a few people in so had to negotiate chairs,tables and people.we were not in the hotel but in the townhouse down the road.i didn't feel safe not being in the hotel and we were on the first floor beside the front door which was really noisy.also the people above us were noisy till really late.

my experience might have been better if I was in the hotel.

Room Tip: do not stay on first floor in townhouse
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

With our Head Office located here, I spend few weeks per year in Stamford. The hotel is very much like the town, traditional and in the same style as the surroundings. However, on the inside it displays a bit more modern tastes. The rooms are all different and have their own styles. As a business traveller, I would prefer a bigger desk and potentially a mini bar to have a drink when working, but the pub offers and alternative for that. Food in the pub/restaurant is nice and typical English. Breakfast also is traditional but offers everything I need in the morning. Compared to the other hotel options in town, I would give the Crown my preference.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 564PeterH564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.3 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
891 reviews
5.8 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
799 reviews
7.6 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Stamford

Address: 6 All Saints Place, Stamford PE9 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $117 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for a beautiful hotel, with luxurious rooms and located in the centre of the picturesque Stamford, then look no further than the Crown Hotel. When you visit the Crown Hotel in Stamford you’ll discover a hotel with stunning attention to detail from the décor to the evening meals. All 28 rooms in the hotel are individually designed, with plenty of KNEAD Pubs charm and something for everyone – whether you’re visiting for a romantic getaway, on a business stopover or enjoying a holiday with family. Our rooms have all the amenities you need: •Complimentary WiFi •Tea and coffee making facilities •Hairdryer •Ironing board •Secure car parking (although please notes that during busy periods the car park can become full) For those visiting on business, and hoping to squeeze in a few emails during their stay, every room also has a work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown Hotel Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Crown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing