We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bells !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed in the Crown last Saturday night whilst attending a friends birthday bash elsewhere in Stamford. Booked room 12 overlooking the church at the front of the hotel and was very happy with the room and the facilities on offer in the room, that was until the bells started ringing at 8.00 on Sunday morning, what a cure for the severe hangover that we both had. However it got us out of bed and downstairs for a wonderful breakfast which was made even better with the provision of gluten free bread/toast for my wife who is a Coeliac which we pre-arranged with the hotel. Spent an hour in the bar early on Saturday evening and the choice of ales and the suroundings were much to our satisfaction. All in all would have been an excellent review apart from the bells !!!

Room Tip: If you want a sleep in on a Sunday morning do not book room 12
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel Stamford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 521 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a historic hotel in the heart of Stamford. Nice if not spectacular food, great bar as well as friendly reception staff form a good first impression but for the money my stay was far from great. I stayed here for two nights on business, first night staying in room six which is in the main building, facing the narrow Crown Street. I had noise from drunk people walking back from the nightclub nearby as well as bottles being thrown or moved at 3am, things were finished at around 6.30am when the rubbish lorry arrived. The morning was also far from ideal when the shower was either cold or very hot and nothing in between. This was also the smallest bathroom that I have ever been in, if you opened the door, it would swing under the shower! My colleague stayed in the floor below me and could also hear the night porter's radio during the night! The second night I asked to be moved and the room was fine for a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms facing Crown Street!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

nice hotel,great position,comfy room,good quality ingredients used at breakfast and staff friendly and very efficient.

parking was difficult because of how full the carpark was.from the carpark to reception with luggage not easy because you go through the beer garden that had quite a few people in so had to negotiate chairs,tables and people.we were not in the hotel but in the townhouse down the road.i didn't feel safe not being in the hotel and we were on the first floor beside the front door which was really noisy.also the people above us were noisy till really late.

my experience might have been better if I was in the hotel.

Room Tip: do not stay on first floor in townhouse
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

With our Head Office located here, I spend few weeks per year in Stamford. The hotel is very much like the town, traditional and in the same style as the surroundings. However, on the inside it displays a bit more modern tastes. The rooms are all different and have their own styles. As a business traveller, I would prefer a bigger desk and potentially a mini bar to have a drink when working, but the pub offers and alternative for that. Food in the pub/restaurant is nice and typical English. Breakfast also is traditional but offers everything I need in the morning. Compared to the other hotel options in town, I would give the Crown my preference.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 564PeterH564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one night on the 30th March 2013 having first researched on Tripadvisor. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of accomodation, we were allocated a room in a separate cottage adjacent to the hotel, really unusual but very well presented. the hotel itself is centrally located in the lovely town of Stamford and within walking distance of Burghley House, a historic home of great distinction.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comcare25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location for walking the town. Small room but pretty good bed. Tea kettle was dirty with old, stale water in it, but that was just a small problem. The breakfast was decent, had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and it was good, all except for the hard pieces of plastic found in my salad that, when pointed out to staff was all but ignored--sure hurt when I chomped down on it! Other choices for restaurants in town are recommended. Dessert was divine though--sticky toffee pudding and bread pudding. Staff on day of check out could have been a little more cordial and helpful, but oh well...stay in all was just average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griddle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night 22nd march 2013. This was our 2nd visit and did not let us down. We stayed in room 45.. Very nice and stylish with a free standing bath. Room very clean and tidy. Hotel staff very polite and helpful.drinks a little over priced but you expect that from a hotel. A full English breakfast is a must..not greasy. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay..well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denmatthews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.3 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
890 reviews
5.8 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#16 of 27 in Peterborough
797 reviews
7.6 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Stamford

Address: 6 All Saints Place, Stamford PE9 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $116 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for a beautiful hotel, with luxurious rooms and located in the centre of the picturesque Stamford, then look no further than the Crown Hotel. When you visit the Crown Hotel in Stamford you’ll discover a hotel with stunning attention to detail from the décor to the evening meals. All 28 rooms in the hotel are individually designed, with plenty of KNEAD Pubs charm and something for everyone – whether you’re visiting for a romantic getaway, on a business stopover or enjoying a holiday with family. Our rooms have all the amenities you need: •Complimentary WiFi •Tea and coffee making facilities •Hairdryer •Ironing board •Secure car parking (although please notes that during busy periods the car park can become full) For those visiting on business, and hoping to squeeze in a few emails during their stay, every room also has a work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown Hotel Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Crown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing