We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
stamford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“i love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

So far myself and my husband have stayed here twice, each time it has been amazing. it may not have leisure facilities/pool/spa, but the food is delicious, the staff are lovely, and the rooms are all unique and stylish. Brilliant value for money. Certainly going back.

Room Tip: they also have cot bed facilities for young ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    159
    68
    30
    9
See reviews for
50
235
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was a little concerned having paid just £105 for a room including breakfast in the centre of Stamford, so could not have been more amazed to find a huge room which was spotlessly clean, four poster bed and an enormous roll top bath, with a lovely view facing the church. Excellent location as right in the centre of Stamford but very quiet at night- so you can be sure of a good nights sleep. Evening meal was lovely and I would recommend eating there. Breakfast looked good too. Parking can be a challenge, but there is a car park at the rear, and you can leave your keys with staff who will move cars if they get blocked in.

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I said for one night at the crown after we were due to stay at the bull and swan but left as the room was so horribly noisy . The staff at the crown we really welcoming and we stayed in a cottage style apartment. It was really really well appointed and had a feel of luxury that the bull and swan's room did not have. Very plush bed and a lovely bathroom and shower and an extra toilet. Lighting was also beautiful . We also enjoyed a very generously sized meal in their restaurant. If you want luxury, cleanliness, character, charming staff plus peace and quiet book at the crown. Thank you to the staff for being so kind and understanding.- my husband birthday was saved.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 44 a which was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight one Saturday. The location of the hotel is first rate, right in the middle of this lovely town. We had a Superior Double room which was nicely furnished and spotlessly clean but a bit on the small side. We had a super meal in the restaurant - nice food and a lovely bottle of Malbec from Mendoza. However there isn't a resident's lounge to meet and have a drink beforehand. The Bar at the front was packed and very noisy. To their credit, when we asked if there was somewhere quieter, we were shown to a room on the first floor, although it wasn't particularly comfortable and it felt a bit strange being there on our own at first.

Breakfast was excellent and there is a secure car park at the rear.

Room Tip: Probably worth asking for a room at the rear where is is nice and quiet. Some rooms seemed to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The good bits - Nice looking building, secure car parking, decent food and rooms are in pretty decent shape and well fitted.

The bad bits - My room was located over the kitchen and when they started the fans just before 6am the noise and vibration pretty much ensured no sleep for me (sounded like a 747 had parked outside). The second issue was the taps in the bathroom were not labelled, but when turned on it wasn't any clearer which was which as they were both warm! - I mentioned this before leaving so hopefully they'll sort it, but the fan noise will remain a "feature" I guess.

Breakfast was okay, but cooked portion was a little stingy.

In summary, I won't be rushing back, it's by no means a dive but I value a good night's sleep and a greedy breakfast from my away days and the prettiness didn't compensate enough.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here before Christmas for a party and decided to stay over. The Crown is just off a square in the centre of Stamford ,well situated for
shopping nd sightseeing. The hotel is friendly welcoming and well decorated. There are plenty of rooms for a drink or coffee and we had no trouble parking. The room for our party was perfect,big enough for people to mingle and socialise but small enough not to feel lost. We had our own bar and both hte service and food was very good considering that the Hotel was packed.
Our room was good. A very comfortable bed and modren furnishings. It was a little small and the bahroom was a wet room,which I really dont like. Whatever you do you end up padding around a wet floor and drenching anything you take in,but some people like them and the shower was hot and powerful.
Breakfast the next day was in the same room. That was fine,service wa sa little subdued but the staff were probably tired and the toaster one of those help yourself rotating things,again I'm not to keen .
So apart from a few very minor niggles this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteljunkieNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great location and the staff were lovely and friendly but they need to be a little more organised; we had no TV control, 1 key for 3 of us (had a family room) the key was hard to use. The breakfast was inedible I only ate once in 3 days the eggs were tasteless and powdery. Our room was also pretty cold. They need to try harder because the rates are not cheap.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the hotel we stayed in a house annexed to the hotel and probably why we had the expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.3 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Stamford

Property: The Crown Hotel Stamford
Address: 6 All Saints Place, Stamford PE9 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Crown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing