We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and welcoming, in a beautiful spot”

Review of Piper House

View from the outside showing Piper House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the outside showing Piper House
Kitchen/diner, table seats 16-18 people 50 foot reception, light and space in Piper House, Aunby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
View from the outside showing Piper House
Kitchen/diner, table seats 16-18 people
50 foot reception, light and space in Piper House, Aunby
50 foot reception room, with large screen TV and two separate seating areas
View of reception room
Tennis court built in 2016 - you are welcome to use this for tennis only please!
Small terrace garden overlooking the meadow
View from the lake in the wildflower meadow, not yet in flower here.
Walk out into open countryside onto a bridleway accessible from right outside Piper House
Bedroom 1, made up as double. This bedroom has full sized single permanently in room (behind camera)
Bedroom 2, made up as twins - shares bathroom with bedroom 1 and is on first floor
Bedroom 6 shown as a double bedded room
Bedroom 6, which can be configured as twins (here) or a superkingsized double
Bedroom 5 as a twin room - has ensuite shower room and can be a double
Bedroom 5 as a double room - can also be a twin
Bedroom 2, made up as a double- shares bathroom with bedroom 1 and is on first floor
Bedroom 3 - shown as a twin - can be a double. Has ensuite shower room
Bedroom 3 - shown as a double, with ensuite shower room
Bedroom 4 - shown here as a triple
Bedroom 4 as a double - the single bed is behind the photographer. Can be configured as 3 singles
Bedroom 7, shown here as a triple room
sink detail, bathroom for bedroom 2
The TV snug, in the cottage, beneath beds 6&7
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire V
1 review
“Spacious and welcoming, in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have spent 2 wonderful summer holidays at Piper House. We say it's a great place to get all the family together without feeling cramped.
The tennis court is always in demand for the teenagers and the more mature family members enjoy the relaxation of being in a beautiful spot where walks start at the front door.
You will find that Katie manages your visit in an efficient yet informal way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Thank you so much for this really kind message.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmahobso...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house & lovely location!”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at Piper House in May 2017 as a group of 16 ladies for a friend's hen do wanting a relaxing weekend - the property suited us perfectly, was set up as all twin/triple rooms, loads of bathrooms to share & amazing dining area and also living room with plenty of space for all of us to sit round the table for dinner! Well equipped kitchen to cater for 16 people & whole house very clean/tidy. We hired caterers to come & cook on the Saturday evening which worked well for us. Kate, the owner, was very helpful leading up to us staying and asking about our needs, plus directions to the house as is pretty rural - and was there on arrival to show me round & explain about the house & surrounding areas, offered suggestions for local attractions and places to visit. Only 15 minutes from Stamford by car. Would stay here again definitely with a big group! Location is great - as not far from A1/other major roads so easy for ladies to get to from all different directions - but very quiet countryside retreat which is what we had hoped for. Thanks Kate & Piper House!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Hi Emma - thank you so much for taking the time to review! And we are really pleased you had a good weekend. Best wishes to all of you and hope we might see you again sometime. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twogotrav...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend retreat”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked Piper House for a girls weekend away & it turned out to be the perfect spot! Location wise it could not have been more peaceful, the surrounding countryside was stunning (Stamford, Oakham & Rutland Water all an easy drive away) & we were delighted to discover the beautiful meadow complete with pond and apiary for a gentle afternoon stroll. The raised terrace at the end of the cottage was just lovely and we whiled away a long sunny afternoon admiring the view with a drink in hand watching the chickens. The cottage itself is spacious, clean, well equipped and a joy to explore with its quirky design. We particularly enjoyed our meals seated round the huge table in the main kitchen. Katie made the booking process a breeze and was beyond helpful with her recommendations for nearby pubs and restaurants (I highly recommend The Olive Branch at Clipsham, 10 minutes drive away). She left us to our own devices during our stay but was explicitly clear she was available should we require anything. Overall it exceeded my expectations and we loved every minute of our stay. We are already plotting our return trip!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you Lauren - for such a lovely review! We are really pleased you had a good weekend - and really hope we might see you all back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getaway66...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family celebration venue”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful place to stay. Piper House is perfect for large gatherings, an amazing lounge upstairs but lots of small spaces to find a quiet spot to relax too. The grounds are wonderful with the most fabulous tennis court and beautiful meadow with a lake to wonder around. Katie was a great hostess with lots of information and help beforehand but very discrete during our stay. We enjoyed a wonderful bike ride, horse riding and walks in the local area and 2 fabulous meals in nearby pubs. Piper House completely exceeded my expectations and our whole extended family without exception had a wonderful time, we especially treasured having 18 of us sitting down around one table in the house and enjoying meals together.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
I am so pleased you had a good time - and that Piper House helped with family celebrations. You were great guests as well! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
I am really pleased that you had such a good stay - and that the house worked well for you all. We very much hope to see you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanna G
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your wonderful cottage. I had a fantastic weekend. You feel really relaxed and as of your a millions miles away.for anywhere.
The cottage was.clean, spacious and had everything you could have asked for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2017
Hi Joanna - thank you so much for taking the time to review us! I am so pleased you had a good weekend - and wish you all the best! Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dean w
1 review
“Fab wknd”
Reviewed January 28, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had fantastic time cottages absolutely fantastic plenty of space for everyone but with plenty of space for quiet time away from everything. Very peaceful. katie and matthew are fantastic would recommend to anybody wanting a big roomy cottage with lovely friendly owners

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing