We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb.”
other travelers have booked this property
Rutland Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rutland Terrace
Drawing Room Bedroom En Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Rutland Terrace
Drawing Room
Bedroom En Suite
Kitchen
View along terrace
Drawing Room
Rutland Terrace
Drawing room
Multi-fuel Stove
Stamford Arts Centre
Burghley House
Rutland Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patsy31
browns beach hotel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

There are a lot of steps to get down.I found it too cold,but was very happy with it. Right in the centre of town.c

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMH2011
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Completely met our expectations”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful basement flat, tastefully decorated throughout. It was surprisingly spacious as everything was so compact - a lounge, dining room, bedroom en suite and a long flagstone hallway, leading to the kitchen and a second toilet. Parking can be tight but each time we went out, when we returned we managed to find somewhere to park.

When you arrive, you park at the front and pay the £100 deposit, then you will be given a code to access the back gate, which is the equivalent of your front door. (I didn't have any issue about paying a deposit - that seems fair enough - and it was back in my bank the day after we left).

Loved Stamford. We bought a colourful guided walk round Stamford from the tourist information office. We enjoyed the walk and the guide was very good value at £1.50.

On the day we were leaving, we were going to a wedding and Victoria very kindly allowed us a late checkout, which we negotiated in advance.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the apartment met your expectations. I do hope that you will stay with me again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanLeic...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but lacking some essentials”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited Stamford many times and always enjoyed what it has to offer so on this occasion we decided to stay for a couple of nights.
The apartment looked great in the photos so we booked it for 2 night’s mid-week. Only once the booking was made was the additional £100 security deposit on arrival mentioned. The deposit is not returned until after you leave and the owner has checked the apartment for any damage without your presence.
On arrival we were lucky enough to find a parking space close to the front of the property although the entrance is at the rear and parking here is restricted by yellow lines. At the time of arrival no other convenient parking spaces near the entrance at the rear were available so we carried our baggage from the front of the terrace to the apartment (about 200 yards) and negotiated the steep and narrow stone steps down to the front door.
Initial impressions were good, it’s a spacious apartment with lots of storage space, a large walk in wardrobe, 2 toilets, large shower, good quality fixtures and fittings but on closer inspection some shortcomings were evident.
Cleanliness was below expected standards with dirty cutlery, crockery and coasters also many cobwebs around the walls and dust on most surfaces. All the provisions left in the kitchen (sugar, condiments etc.) looked unappealing.
Many basic items were missing or lacking, no kitchen roll, no dishwasher tablets, no spare toilet rolls but a tiny amount of milk and washing up liquid was provided. There is a supermarket nearby but guests should not really be expected to visit it immediately on arrival for the basics.
Numerous notices were posted around the property detailing extra charges (£10 for using the sofa bed, £10 for fuel to use the real fire) and instructions.
It would have been nice to have the option of eating in the apartment but the smell from the drain in the kitchen was very unpleasant.
Although the bedroom was pleasant we both found the bed uncomfortable.
The apartment has great potential but at present needs work on presentation. It is in a very good location as a base to explore Stamford. We had a great time in the area and will definitely stay somewhere in Stamford again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: difficult access and parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
I am saddened that someone should leave a review like this. The only drain in the kitchen is the sink and that has a standard U bend filled with water making it impossible for any drain smells to enter the room. There is also a separate dining room and I am puzzled why the guests were unable to use it. The property is priced for occupancy by two people,however, I do supply spare linen for the sofa bed but have to make an extra charge for this to keep costs down for the majority of guests who do not use this. I believe it is fairer that way. There are no other notices regarding extra charges so the reference to numerous notices is again incorrect. Guests are not expected to visit the supermarket immediately on arrival. I supply tea, coffee, fresh milk and home made biscuits, however, the apartment is self catering and as is usual you will need to purchase your own food. Although having said that there is of course, salt pepper, some cooking herbs, oil etc available in the cupboards. I have stayed in many self catering apartments and often found that nothing at all is supplied. Did this guest expect me to leave a meal ready? If so then he has perhaps misunderstood the concept of self catering. I take great pride in the cleanliness of the apartment and it is cleaned from top to bottom between guests although it is not possible to entirely restrict the antics of spiders, I do my best! Dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid was under the sink as are other cleaning supplies are too. I guess this guest did not look in the sink cupboard. Sufficient toilet rolls were left out for a two night stay for two people in the two lavatories. Neither lavatory was out of loo roll when these guests left so I am unsure why he felt he sould have had more. The �100 security deposit is mentioned in the terms and conditions and several times in future correspondence, Sadly I have large amounts of damage done to the property by guests and items stolen so have been forced to introduce a security deposit. Again this is not unusual and I believe fairer than charging everyone extra to cover the actions of the dishonest few.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The property was easy to find & we managed to park nearby.
We were given a warm welcome & advised as to where we could store our bikes (locked in the greenhouse in the enclosed garden).
The property is accessed by very narrow & steep (covered) metal staircase, this was not a problem.
The property had all we needed and has some quirky touches to the decor!
The center of town is no more than a 5 minute walk away with loads of places to eat & drink. There is a Waitrose just up the road to stock up on essentials.
The area has plenty of things to do & see & the cycling is good, with lots of quiet roads!
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliff455
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very comfortable and pleasant flat”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This basement flat was tastefully furnished and extremely well equipped. It provided a comfortable base to explore the lovely town of Stamford which was only 5 minutes walk away.
We had a warm welcome and were then left alone. Secure storage for our bikes was an added bonus and the on road parking did not present any problems.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen C
Macroom, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Will book again”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very well organised space and great to have a proper lounge and separate dining room. Bathroom and an additional WC in a property of this size was a real plus. Victoria was entirely helpful and accommodating. The weather was not particularly sunny during our stay, yet the apartment was not lacking in light. It's a lovely street, it was quiet and it was good value for money. Yes, it is accessed down some stone steps, but there is a pulley for suitcases if you need it. Truly a few minutes walk to the middle to the beautiful Stamford town centre and perfectly placed for the Waitrose supermarket. We are looking forward to going back in a few months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: separate rooms and not open-plan
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay an I will look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property remained intact while feeling modern.
Liked least: The electric blanket has a lump where your shoulders are, so if you roll onto it it feels like you've rolled onto your phone.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you had a good time. It was a pleasure to have you and I will look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing