We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The William Cecil at Stamford
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull & Swan(Stamford)
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haycock Hotel(Peterborough)
$115
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hambleton Hall(Hambleton)
$350
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlesticks(Stamford)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sibson Inn Hotel(Peterborough)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
417
259
82
25
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
259
82
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburghley houselovely hotelhotel groundsthe ground flooreggs benedicta large car parkroad noiseluxury roombottled watersmall bottlestayed here for two nightswedding receptionlarge bathroomenjoyable staybreakfast was excellenttwo night staywell worth a visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 789 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our second visit to the William Cecil and we chose to stay in a Chic room this time as we found the Classic rather small. Our room Bacchus, number 18 was at the rear of the hotel overlooking a flat roof. The very large bed was extremely comfortable and this was a definite plus about the room, together with a reasonably sized bathroom. The downside was the noise of a fan on the roof. We like to play cards and there was a long table which was useful. There was only one chair and we asked for another one. I think the first request must have been forgotten but when we asked again, a chair arrived within 10 minutes. On our second day we asked a member of staff who was cleaning the rooms if we could have a replacement bottle of water. She advised us that a delivery was due and she would put one in our room later. She did! Although this may seem a very small incident, it displays a concern for guest's needs. We decided to eat in the conservatory and were impressed with the quality of the food and the service we received. What was particularly impressive was the way our waitress dealt with another guest who had become unwell and who was sitting outside. She and another member of staff were genuinely concerned for the guest's welfare and provided practical help. She then very professionally resumed her waitressing duties.
As last time, the breakfast was delicious and we were delighted to see the vanilla pineapple and honeycomb on the table again! As the design of the building is quite unique and the bedrooms all have their own individual layout, it would be helpful to have this visual information, linking the names of the bedrooms with their room numbers. Although the staff are very helpful and able to advise about rooms, we feel this information could be helpful to guests. That being said, our request for this information was dealt with efficiently. We certainly hope to visit for a third time.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank krhBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your very kind and helpful review. We are hoping to add further chairs to many of our bedrooms later this year so you should no longer need to request this during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

At all costs avoid 'stretch the upholsterer' room 23. It is disgraceful that the hotel dares to let this room. Undoubtedly the worst room in the hotel no doubt for servants of old and unfortunates of new I had the worst night sleep ever!!

Whilst I appreciate I was informed room had limited head height at 5' 8" I felt like Gulliver! The room is tiny and badly maintained and laid out but the worst factor of the room is the stifling heat. The room is so small, in the attic and with minimal ventilation it is impossible to sleep - no fan available and if you open the tiny window you can't sleep with the noise.

Reception here was a joke, painfully slow and inefficient. When I complained about my room and the heat all I had in response was 'oh we must get around to putting a fan in there', yet they continue to charge over £100

This would have been 1 star if it weren't for the reasonable breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JKlondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your review. Despite us informing you prior to arrival that you were in a small room with a low ceiling, I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. At the time of your visit we were experiencing unseasonably hot weather but I do accept that we should have provided a fan in your room. We are currently looking into various air conditioning options for the room so that other guests don't have a similar experience in our smaller rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We held our wedding at The William Cecil in June. After plenty of venue visiting and researching we came across a true gem in The William Cecil. We were looking for somewhere that could host our very personal, intimate and relaxed wedding. Full of ideas we made an appointment with Vicki and after looking around and going through how our ideas could work we were instantly won over. It was perfect!
The venue is so versatile; being blessed with a gorgeous summer day we held our welcome drinks on the sun-trap terrace, followed by the marquee to host our wedding breakfast - which Juliet worked hard at turning our ideas into reality in terms of layout and decoration! We then made good use of the beautifully maintained gardens for outdoor drinks & games and then into the Burghley room for our evening reception which has ample room for lots of dancing and mingling! We have attached a couple of photos to the review. We cannot rate the venue, its staff, the food, and all over service highly enough. We would recommend this not only as a wedding venue, but a great place to stay if you are looking for a hotel set in gorgeous grounds, peaceful ambience, individual character, excellent staff and great food. It is a great location for exploring the local area, but in all honesty the place is so lovely, you might not want to leave!
Our guests described the venue as having the ‘wow’ factor and some even said they were going to come back themselves to celebrate their special dates here. The rooms are fabulous and individually designed so would recommend researching on the website to see what you need from your room to make sure it has everything you need, but rest assured you will not be disappointed with any. The included breakfast is amazing! The venue is well maintained and beautifully decorated, we love the character of the property, but without the excellent staff the venue would not be what it is. The attention to detail here is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble, the personalised experience here is rare and something which sets it apart from the competition.
We would like to give a massive THANK YOU to all of the staff, Vicki, Juliet, the bar staff, the waiters & waitresses, Phil & the kitchen staff, the cleaning staff – EVERYONE you made our wedding the best day of our lives and we will treasure the memories we made here with you all.
We will definitely return! Laura & Ed xxx

Room Tip: The 9th Earl!! Fabulous room with a private garden!! Well worth money :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lauratravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

What a cracking review! Thank you so much for your kind words. The whole team we're delighted to look after you and your guests and are so pleased to see that their hard work was very much appreciated. Congratulations and best wishes to both of you from everyone at the William Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am not easily pleased when it comes to hotels but I have to say that I have absolutely no complaints about the William Cecil. I had a very spacious comfortable room on the ground floor at the back with of course an en suite bathroom with bath and shower but, to my surprise, an en suite garden as well! Never had that before. It was lovely especially as the weather was so fantastic. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent for dinner and breakfast. But what really makes this hotel, in addition to its delightful quirkiness, is the staff all of whom are friendly, efficient and helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. To give just one example: for medical reasons I cannot have puddings although I did not disclose this but simply commented that I would have had a fresh fruit salad had it been on the menu but it wasn't. Within minutes a fresh fruit salad was brought to me at the table. I was absolutely delighted. The staff are clearly well trained and, I suspect, hand-picked. This must come from the top. I stayed here for three days with two friends. We had a marvellous time and we have decided to go again next year. Recommended without any hesitation.

Room Tip: I gather the rooms overlooking the road can be noisy so perhaps it's best to ask for a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. We're delighted that you got to experience all aspects of the hotel. We're proud as punch that you've decided to return to us again next year. Maybe you could dine at our little sister, the Bull and Swan next time you're with us...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I only stayed one night but had a really great stay. The hotel is in walking distance of both Stamford and Burghley House (a lovely walk through the grounds). My room was commodious and comfortable and there were quirky and interesting pictures and objects all around. The service was excellent with lots of choice for breakfast. I hope to return to Stamford and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

We too hope you return soon! It was a real pleasure to host you whilst in Stamford. The whole team are very grateful for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews