We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The William Cecil at Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am not easily pleased when it comes to hotels but I have to say that I have absolutely no complaints about the William Cecil. I had a very spacious comfortable room on the ground floor at the back with of course an en suite bathroom with bath and shower but, to my surprise, an en suite garden as well! Never had that before. It was lovely especially as the weather was so fantastic. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent for dinner and breakfast. But what really makes this hotel, in addition to its delightful quirkiness, is the staff all of whom are friendly, efficient and helpful. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. To give just one example: for medical reasons I cannot have puddings although I did not disclose this but simply commented that I would have had a fresh fruit salad had it been on the menu but it wasn't. Within minutes a fresh fruit salad was brought to me at the table. I was absolutely delighted. The staff are clearly well trained and, I suspect, hand-picked. This must come from the top. I stayed here for three days with two friends. We had a marvellous time and we have decided to go again next year. Recommended without any hesitation.

Room Tip: I gather the rooms overlooking the road can be noisy so perhaps it's best to ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We're delighted that you got to experience all aspects of the hotel. We're proud as punch that you've decided to return to us again next year. Maybe you could dine at our little sister, the Bull and Swan next time you're with us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    233
    72
    17
    6
See reviews for
107
368
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I only stayed one night but had a really great stay. The hotel is in walking distance of both Stamford and Burghley House (a lovely walk through the grounds). My room was commodious and comfortable and there were quirky and interesting pictures and objects all around. The service was excellent with lots of choice for breakfast. I hope to return to Stamford and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We too hope you return soon! It was a real pleasure to host you whilst in Stamford. The whole team are very grateful for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My hubby and I spent 2 nights at the William Cecil celebrating our anniversary and had a really fantastic time. The staff couldn’t have been more welcoming and helpful - they even went as far as giving us a courtesy call prior to our late arrival to offer cold plates of food to be sent to our room in case we arrived after the restaurant closed, and put an anniversary card in our room! Our room was lovely - extremely comfortable, the bed enormous and the shower luxuriously powerful! Breakfast was delicious with tons on offer. The only things lacking (which I would expect from a ‘deluxe’ room at such a quality hotel) were hotel slippers and bath robes but these are minor points in what was otherwise a perfect stay.

Room Tip: St Martins is a busy street (I used to live on it!) so pick a room at the back if you're a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linken24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We were so pleased to hear that you were spending your anniversary with us so I'm delighted you had such a pleasant stay. I'm afraid we're not really a slippers kind of place, but we do provide lovely fluffy bathrobes in all our luxury rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The William Cecil is ideally situated within walking distance of Stamford town centre. The delightful staff certainly lived up to the aims of the Group to which the hotel belongs to provide quality customer service. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed for just two nights and were sorry our stay was so short. The hotel building is centuries old and has much charm with long uneven corridors and many interesting artefacts. Our room was comfortable with clear attention to detail. We ate in the restaurant each evening and the food was top quality. However, the highlight for me was breakfast. I have not seen such an extensive and interesting breakfast menu. Brilliant.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a main road into Stamford and unless traffic noise does not trouble you a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. It's a real pleasure to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. I will make sure I pass on your lovely comments to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the William Cecil. Everything was perfect from the booking procedure, the welcome when we arrived and the upgraded room which we paid for was really comfortable, spacious and well maintained. We also had the benefit of French windows which opened onto a lovely garden which was like our own private space.
The hotel was recommended to us by our friends who we were visiting in the area. There is another more expensive hotel in Stamford but this really had everything we wanted and it would be difficult to find something better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidCanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased as punch to hear that we were recommended by your friends who live locally. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again, next time you're in Stamford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents because they aren't online but really wanted me to put something on here about their stay - they recently enjoyed a night's bnb at the wonderful William Cecil with their labrador, Freddie.
All three had a fantastic time and Freddie was warmly welcomed by all the staff he met and made to feel very at home - he doesn't visit hotels a lot (in fact I think this is the first time, at 11 years old!) so my parents were unsure how relaxed he would be, but they needn't have worried - he was totally at ease from the minute he set paw in the place and settled down so quickly.
This hotel could not be better for a dog-friendly stay - dog beds are available (although my parents took his along), your dog can sit with you in the conservatory for dinner (which my parents THOROUGHLY enjoyed) and there is even a doggy menu! My parents had glorious weather and enjoyed sitting on the large patio in the sun with Freddie, playing with him on the lawns near the marquee and walking him in the evening in Burghley Park (you can access it via the hotel gardens and there is loads of space for stick-throwing etc). The next day they walked him from the hotel to see the old Wothorpe Towers up the road - beautiful!
Although there are so many things to love about this hotel, including the beautiful building itself, grounds and high standard of interior design, the most impressive thing is the quality of staff. You simply cannot fault them - they are always smiling, helpful and very friendly to dogs and humans alike! A big claws up!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmyw1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your magnificent review. It was an absolute pleasure looking after Freddie and his parents. Now that Freddie is a seasoned traveller we all hope he'll return to the William Cecil very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed one night in this beautiful hotel. Receptionist very friendly when we arrived and showed us to our room. She offered several times to help with our luggage. The hotel is immaculately presented. Our room, (number 3) on the ground floor was beautiful, with lots of little extra touches. The ensuite was large, with a roll top bath.

Dinner was delicious, lots of choice, well cooked and vegetarian choices too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast in the conservatory next morning was lovely. I saw that the previous reviewer bemoaned the lack of eggs benedict, but they were definitely on the menu yesterday, together with haddock, kippers, full English; egg and soldiers, sausage or bacon sandwiches and other egg dishes that I can't remember. There was the buffet with fruit and continental breakfast too, so definitely a huge choice.

Wished we could have stayed longer and will definitely return, as well as visiting the sister hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your great review. I'm pleased breakfast was such a triumph for you as we try hard to ensure it's a very memorable experience for all our guests.

We hope to see you soon, whether it be back at the William Cecil or at one of our lovely sister properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
7.8 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Property: The William Cecil at Stamford
Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing