We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The William Cecil at Stamford
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We only stayed overnight here this time but will definitely come again. It's a historic but smart and well-appointed hotel and our room was very pleasant. Service and breakfasts were excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falakros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 763 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic setting. Warm and friendly service. Clean and quirky rooms. Fantastic dinner. breakfasts that meant lunch not needed (cooked to order) - eggs benedict and scrambled eggs with salmon superb. Had a wonderful weekend. Thankyou

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I will let the Head Chef know how much you enjoyed your breakfasts and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We came here back in November and had a great stay. Here we are again and what can we say? The same warm and friendly welcome. The same helpful attitude towards the room we were to stay in. Another lovely room done out in the same quirky style with delightful coffee and tea choice. The same super comfortable bed.
The friendly and helpful staff again at breakfast with the choice of lovely tasty food.
In a sea of mediocrity that exists in too many hotels these days it is great to know where you can go, eat well sleep well and have a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flint77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your repeat visit to The William Cecil. It is especially pleasing to read that you found the staff’s attitude to be warm and friendly again.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future, or indeed please do take the option of visiting one of our sister hotels, where you will also receive great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have just returned from spending a one nite break at the William Cecil at Stamford.
Booking in was very quick and efficient, our room was spacious and a nice quirky mixture of new and old - flat screen tv gelling with 16th century prints.
We had a very comfortable nites sleep and the breakfast the following morning was both comprehensive and enjoyable.
On the Sunday morning had a walk thro the park to Burghley House which was very enjoyable.
Would definitely not hestitate to stop at the hotel again especially in the summer when the weather is better.
All in All an very enjoyable stay and weekend in Stamford.

Sean and Pat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

I was delighted to read your review and to read that not only did you thoroughly enjoy your stay at The William Cecil but you also managed to sample some of what Stamford has to offer. I do hope you return to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for a night for a valentines / anniversary treat away from the children, a very rare occurence! All of the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is really quirky and had a lovely relaxed atmosphere, not at all stuffy. Our room was great, we loved the way it had been designed with the quirky furniture and fire place. Very comfortable indeed. It was like home from home but without the children running around screaming! It was very quiet where we were, even though we were on the front next to the road. Unfortunately though the room was like a sauna so to survive the heat we had to keep the windows open but even then the road noise didn't bother us, it was quite minimal. We feel very rested. We had breakfast, which was very nice, the only thing missing were the baked beans in the full english. This hotel was just as it states in it's brochures, very friendly, not stuffy, quirky, cosy, comfortable and welcoming. A really good find, a real gem. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved our room, called 'Daphne'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebiB407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of our staff and hotel and I am delighted that you experienced all of that. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Quick business stay with colleagues and I was pleasantly surprised. Great friendly welcome and attentive service. We were warned that the food could be hit or miss and for me it was certainly a hit.

Main let down was the rather dull small bedroom which wasn't on the same level as public areas but I suspect that this is luck of the draw as each room is probably different.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

I really appreciate you taking the time to review The William Cecil. All of our bedrooms are unique, with varying styles & layout; I am disappointed that you did not find the one you occupied to your liking. I am delighted however that you enjoyed the attentive service and the food. I do hope you return to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I booked this when in Lincolnshire on business and the standard of this hotel Very unexpected. The local produce used in the breakfast would be worth the trip alone! I am annoyed that I missed a chance to have an evening meal here. This place is very cosy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIscerningDubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Bish0p, Operations Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the local produce at breakfast. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for you to enjoy more of what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
605 reviews
8.2 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
937 reviews
7.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $123 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing