We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Green Man
Nearby Hotels
$253
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull & Swan(Stamford)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haycock Hotel(Peterborough)
$114
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlesticks(Stamford)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stage(Market Deeping)
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
4
9
8
2
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
9
8
2
17
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 40 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at this pub/bed&breakfast for one night only, facing the hotel is a 24hour petrol station, where gangs of youths hang out through the night, shouting, swearing and heavily drinking booze, taxis in and out through the night, the noise started about 1.30 am through to 5.30am. We did not get any sleep. The carpets and the steep stairs were dangerous, the bedroom ceiling and carpets were in need of repair, no mirrors in the bedroom, the shower/bathroom is shared with other guest, no one could have a shower because the shower cubicle door was broken, we could not close the broken window. We had to give a set time for breakfast 8.30am, however no one turned up to open the dining area or the kitchen, after telephone calls to the owner, we was all served about 9.30am

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed in The Green Man last night, and after having checked this website before we went, was a bit worried about what it would be like, to say the least. However, on arrival, we were shown to our room and although the stair carpets were very worn and the stairs a bit on the steep side, the room was brilliant! Obviously recently done out, everything seemed spanking new, and we had TWO lovely double beds in our room. The bathroom was lovely and clean and fresh. The toilet was okay, however, no window or fan so that was a bit of a no-no.

Spent the evening in the bar and outside in the back patio garden and had a thoroughly good time.

We had booked our breakfast for 9am but were up much earlier and decided to go down early. The other guests who had booked their breakfasts for 8am were all sitting outside though, and the chef/cook hadn't turned up yet! We waited and waited... and waited... but nobody came. We eventually tried the kitchen door and it was open (however this did set off the alarm so we thought it wouldn't take long for at least the owner to turn up)! So off we all went to make ourselves tea and toast. A cleaner eventually turned up but didn't say a word to us - she just went in the bar and did whatever she was there to do. We ended up giving up just after 9.30am and left.

What a disappointment! We were so looking forward to the breakfast, as the reviews of it have all been great! And.. after spending such a nice night in the place, and having had such a nice room, we wanted to do the place some justice and post a good review.

What a pity! We would have stayed here regularly if we'd had our breakfast!!

Room Tip: Room 3, with two double beds!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Fine pub, but....

Accommodation was truly awful. Dirty carpets, window would not shut, no mirror, curtain so thin that it didn't prevent the all-night lighting from the petrol station opposite illuminating the room all night. Pillows not much bigger than a handbag and just as lumpy.

In essence; rather like a room in one of those old Michael Caine movies where he's about to indulge in some gang-land excitement.

It is a pity that places with such standards are allowed to operate.

Room Tip: Please do Not stay at this place.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in November. The carpets are a bit worn, and the room was pretty basic, but you had a flat screen TV with freeview, tea and coffee facilities and plenty of room. There was some noise from the garage across the road but the owner is in the process of getting that sorted and was very apologetic. Shared bathroom and toilet was very clean and we had no issue getting in when we wanted to. We even got given our own key to the back door if we were going to be back late! Would definitely recommend if you don't want to pay the £100's of pounds other hotels in the area charge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1mge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in September as we were in the area fir a wedding and must say it was thoroughly enjoyable. On arrival we were shown to our room which whilst being relatively small had everything required for a weekend including a flat screen and tea and coffee making facilities.

The hosts were lovely people and couldn't do enough for us. We were even left downstairs by ourselves in the pub and told to lock up on the 1st night we arrived!!

The breakfast was top notch and tea, coffee and orange juice were in plentiful supply. The bathroom whilst being shared had just been refurbished and was in excellent condition.

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here and will do myself in the future if in Stamford again.

Room Tip: If possible I'd ask for room 3 as it's the largest
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews