We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Of Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

recently stopped off for afternoon tea....very very tasty, well presented and excellent service.
we were a large group on a sophisticated hen do so plenty of bubbly (which was lovely) and the scones were delicious. I would highly recommended The George, beautiful building and a gorgeous courtyard area.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank sleepingcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you very much for this lovely review. I am so pleased that you had an excellent time, with lots of bubbly, whilst celebrating with the future bride to be. We hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

popped in here for coffee while visiting Stamford. sat in the courtyard... very pleasant surroundings and staff helpful and attentive... the ladies rest room is amazing... quite an experience !!.. set in the heart of the town..a gem

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Candis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Lovely to read that you enjoyed morning coffee in the courtyard and the ladies’ powder room! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Cracking little hotel this in a lovely town.
Right in the middle of town, great location. I had a standard room which was nicely decorated with a funky wet room.
Good bar, nice friendly staff and a fair price.
I only stayed one night so never got to try the food but I will because I will be back.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank GlogSoggywig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time you we will able to dine with us too. Many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a deal which included a stay in one of their standard rooms. The room was quite pretty, if on the small side, but the bed was huge and extremely comfortable. Bathroom lovely and modern, but as I'm short I struggled to get in and out of the set-in bath/shower which had sharp, hard edges. Everything spotlessly clean.
Toiletries and soft bathrobes provided and lovely big towels. It was very hot when we stayed and airconditioning would have helped but we did have a fan in the room.
We had one dinner in the gorgeous oak panelled room - breathtakingly beautiful! Food was expensive for what it was - good, but not the best we've ever had. My husband's duck was delicious but the portion served would have served two people. My rack of lamb was delicious.
The following night we ate in the Garden Room and were slightly irritated by some young children who were allowed to run about noisily, but luckily they left before our evening was spoilt. Food was very enjoyable - my dressed crab was excellent.
There's plenty of space to relax in The George - wonderful sumptuous lounge areas, a bar (where we had pre-dinner drinks and were brought canapes on the house). Staff are very attentive and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. I'd strongly recommend this place for a special stay or a celebration, but I'd recommend looking for one of their last-minute special deals on their website which appear regularly.

Room Tip: Look at the website for special deals. In hot weather, ask for a room with airconditioning - I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hedgecrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your two night stay with us and took the time to write this lovely review. Although you said the food was expensive I was relieved that you went on to say that everything was delicious, the restaurant was beautiful and that the staff were attentive. We believe we are excellent value for money. We look forward to your next break. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very reasonable for the quality of room although no tea making facilities in the room but tea or coffee brought to the room before breakfast and if you leave your shoes out at night they are cleaned love it! There is a good choice of food and breakfast is cooked to order

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank FoxtrotFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

I am so thrilled that enjoyed your stay and our little touches of bringing tea to the room and cleaning your shoes. Many thanks for your compliments. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've eaten at The George many times but decided to stay as a treat and wow - what a treat. Room upgrade to a lovely room, stunning accommodation and facilities, awesome dinner (separate review under restaurants) - lovely gardens, in this wonderful town - a real gem. Not cheap but worth every penny! Great service.

Room Tip: Rooms in the oldest part of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CartwrightKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Lovely to read this review! Your comments are superb. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay- we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We decided to stay at the George after receiving recommendations from friends and were not disappointed!

Excellent traditional hotel with an all round quality service with a friendly and helpful staff who are obviously well trained and managed, why can't more hotels offer this type of service?

The rooms, food - especially the Oak Panelled Restaurant, and bars were all top notch. High praise should be given to the management?

Room Tip: Request a room that overlooks the courtyard or gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Fantastic review, thank you very much. It is always so lovely to know that you chose the George after recommendations from friends and that it didn't disappoint. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
583 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
902 reviews
5.6 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Of Stamford

Address: High Street, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $200 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Of Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George of Stamford is one of England's greatest coaching inns. It retains the charm and atmosphere of its long history yet offers today's guests every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Of Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Of Stamford Hotel Stamford
George Hotel Stamford
George Stamford
The George Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing