We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Of Stamford
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Over the years i have stayed at the George several times and it is always superb in every way.
Hope they never take roast beef off the restaurant menu it is second to none.
Its nice to stay in a hotel that never allows standards to drop.

Room Tip: I always ask for a courtyard view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammysirloin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Don't worry- we will never take the Roast Beef off the restaurant menu!. It was really pleasing to read your comments. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had an amazing evening at The George for a family party. The Food was first class, the service was wonderful and the staff were able to accommodate all of our needs. Can't comment on the price because the parents treated us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodleburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you very much for this superb review. Lovely to read that everything was excellent and that you all enjoyed your family party. Many thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed overnight and had a wonderful time. The room was superb, furnishings very tasteful, bathroom excellent. It was so quiet in the room, no plumbing noises or sounds from outside which I have often experienced in other hotels. The meal in the beautiful panelled dining was delicious and the service throughout our stay was superb.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17, it was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your superb comments regarding your recent birthday stay with us. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful time and that you loved your bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I recently took a good friend for her birthday lunch to the beautiful panelled dining room at The George. It has been some years since my last visit but it has lost none of its charm! The food was fabulous and the service impeccable - all set in the most stunning building and gardens. If you're thinking it might be a bit far to travel for lunch (about an hour in our case) it's really worth he effort! The pretty town centre also offers some great little independent shops, sadly lacking in most towns.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LeonieWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

It was so lovely to read your review regarding your visit to the Oak Panelled restaurant. I am very glad that you enjoyed your lunch with your friend,especially as you were celebrating her birthday. So pleasing to know that even though you travelled a little way to get to us, you felt it was worth it. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have so often been to the George but never stayed overnight. At last I had the opportunity to stay last night and it didn't disappoint. A beautiful old Inn and my room was delightful and perfectly formed. Everything was just right for the setting and the outside is as wonderful and varied as the inside. The gardeners deserve an award for their hard work and skill. Dinner was as expected, delicious, served by expert and friendly staff and no pressure to leave the restaurant even though it was quiet and getting a bit late! I really can't wait to stay again sometime and absorb the history of this stunning building, a real treat for anyone lucky enough to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

I am so pleased that you had the opportunity to stay with us and of course even happier that you enjoyed the experience so much. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel both inside and out. The gardeners were very touched that you had mentioned them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is very pretty and is located in the equally pretty village of Stamford. It is a very old hotel with a long history, you can find all about it on a leaflet in your hotel room.
No lifts did mean carrying luggage, but admittedly staff had offered help.
Check-in was quick and friendly.
The room was glorious. It had such a luxury feel to it. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets felt so soft I really enjoyed sleeping. The bathroom was big and there were two different bathrobes to choose from.
Food was exquisite, and I am really spoilt with food so don't easily say that. Nice thing that all items on the menus of both restaurants could be ordered as room service and arrived piping hot and delicious. There is a wine menu that has won several prizes and all.
I could open my window which meant fresh air. It was silent all night even with the windows open.
Breakfast was very good again, not only a lot of choice but more than anything else very good quality of the products.
I would love to stay here again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Sincere thanks for writing this lovely review from your recent stay with us. I was so pleased to know you had a comfortable stay and that found the food exquisite. It is very rewarding for us all to receive such praise. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I love the George at Stamford, it has the atmosphere you expect in an old inn located in a provincial town but so seldom seem to find. Yes, it could do with a few updates here and there but again better that than a complete "makeover" which I've experienced in some hotels resulting in a sterile bland environment that could be anywhere. Recently had lunch in the oak panelled room which was up to the usual high standard, not the greatest food but more than acceptable. It's been a while since I stayed here but have good memories of a very nicely appointed room. Long may the George continue to thrive in this beautiful Lincolnshire town, highly recommended to visitors to the U.K.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrispitman, General Manager at The George Of Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review of the hotel; it is always so great to read such positive feedback in all aspects of your visit. We are also very fortunate to be situated in the beautiful town of Stamford. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 6 in Stamford
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
615 reviews
8 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
950 reviews
5.6 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#16 of 27 in Peterborough
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Of Stamford

Address: High Street, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $163 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Of Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George of Stamford is one of England's greatest coaching inns. It retains the charm and atmosphere of its long history yet offers today's guests every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Of Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Of Stamford Hotel Stamford
George Hotel Stamford
George Stamford
The George Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing