We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Of Stamford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As others have said, if you want a modern hotel with the latest facilities, large lounges and corridors and standard rooms with no character then the George is not for you. If you like a thousand years of history with creaking winding landings, individual rooms that are comfortably furnished and attentive individual service from a friendly and welcoming team then this is the place to come.
The lounges are set out for comfort with chairs you can sink into to enjoy afternoon tea, a pre dinner drink or a coffee and liqueur. The log fire, even in June, adds to the atmosphere.
Dining is an occasion, jackets required in winter, the food was good but we felt the sweet trolley was a bit dated and new inspiration for desserts is required. Breakfasts were freshly cooked and set you up for the day. The service was good but not stuffy. The wood panelling adds to the ambiance but we were a little disappointed by the lack of tablecloths as they were crying out for crisp white linen. There is pleasant outdoor courtyard, partly covered with patio heaters so can be used for most of the year. A lovely place to relax and unwind.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Consistent perfection. Things change everywhere, except at the George. You just know that as soon as you enter this charming hotel you are going to experience faultless service, quality food and comfortable and elegant bedrooms. Take your pick of two superb restaurants. Both offer the same standard of service and quality of food. The staff are friendly yet superbly efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. Not cheap but then perfection comes at a price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_bish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had to visit a company in stamford. Found this hotel close by. Must say the hotel should pride themselves with excellent levels of customer services and excellent food. The hotel had option both formal and non formal settings. Very relaxable stay. Sometime it seemed I am staying at a King's Castle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Seven of us decided on morning coffee. We sat in the courtyard. We could not have been served better if we ere there to spend lavishly on dinner and fine wines. Efficient, without fuss, or any sense of being hurried, though at just over £4 each they couldn't have made much profit, but did make admirers of the level of professionalism.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlandeWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The George is an old coaching in and rightly prides itself on the quality of customer service, excellent food in formal and less formal settings and the relaxed atmosphere of the bar and outside courtyard.

We regularly eat in the Garden Room Restaurant, but have also had a few meals in the formal restaurant. Both Sarah and Roger in the Garden Room ensure that staff are courteous and attentive, but not overly so. Food arrives at a sensible pace, although sometimes drinks need chasing up, if the bar is busy. The main dining room is much more formal and needs to be booked in advance. Sunday lunch is one of the finest meals I've had, with staff only too happy to accommodate small changes to menus and both polite and friendly, without being over familiar.

Gorgeous gardens and supervised parking on busy days and the bedrooms look lovely too - just can't find an excuse to stay over when home is just down the road!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed four nights at The George in April and loved the hotel and the town of Stamford. We had a large room overlooking the lovely courtyard, and enjoyed two delicious dinners in the Oak Panelled Room. The breakfast each morning was wonderful, with many choices available. Stamford is a beautiful little town, and we found it convenient for making day trips by car to Cambridge, Kings Lynn, Lincoln and nearby Burghley House. We also had one dinner in the York Pub at the hotel, and another very nice evening at Jim's Yard Restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayo Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Like most things in life you get what you pay for.
Even the "special weekend break" rate at The George is not cheap but what a hotel.
From the outside it is not very impressive, but inside it is a return to the luxury and service of history.
We had booked a Deluxe Double Room for our weekend break. It was a refurbished room (some are oak, this was modern) with a large and very comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom.
The hotel itself is very extensive with rambling corridors and extensive public rooms, including a wonderful (in the sunshine !) courtyard.
Breakfast is served in the Garden Room - which at times can resemble a jungle, with plants everywhere - and is a combination of cold buffet and hot service, all good.
We had dinner in the oak restaurant and enjoyed the lobster, lamb and chicken - the only disappointment was that the half duck was dry.
What is the supreme poni of the hotel though is the service provided by all the staff - nothing is too much trouble and any niggles/problems can quickly be resolved.
So, go on - spoil yourself !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.2 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
584 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
902 reviews
5.6 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Of Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Of Stamford

Address: High Street, Stamford PE9 2LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: $200 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Of Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George of Stamford is one of England's greatest coaching inns. It retains the charm and atmosphere of its long history yet offers today's guests every modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Of Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Of Stamford Hotel Stamford
George Hotel Stamford
George Stamford
The George Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing