We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burghley Park

Burghley Park
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed in 1754, these graceful serpentine gardens feature a gothic greenhouse, stables, and a picturesque summerhouse beside a scenic lake.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Enjoyed our walk across the Green on a sunny morning in June, and then visited this magnificent Stately Home. Do make this a priority if you are visiting Stamford.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catlover9cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    71
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Suprise Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

On an otherwise dull day we drove to Burghley to visit the sculpture garden and suprise garden. The sculpture garden had some interesting and creative pieces that were let down by a collection of what can only be described as industrial trash.

The Suprise Garden though was completley different and I enjoyed wandering around. Some of the exhibits are interactive and I can see that on a busy sunny day the kids would be running all over the place. Nothing against kids but I'm glad it was a pretty quiet thursday afternoon in October.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cvselman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful parkland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The grounds surrounding Burghley Park are beautiful and full of interesting walks including the deer park and river area. Burghley Park is the home to the famous Burghley Horse Trials.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

To be honest, we only stopped here because we needed a break on a long drive down the A1. And what a break it was! We didn't have time to visit the rather grand house but we did stroll in the grounds and have a bite in the conservatory restaurant. There was a great selection of cakes, cheese platters and hot food. Only the coffee was a bit weak and disappointing. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank mariog26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just the most magnificent grounds and the house is one of the most outstanding stately homes in Western Europe a must see for connoisseurs of the Jacobean period..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burghley Park also viewed

 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Burghley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing