We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still as excellent as ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowan House
Ranked #4 of 18 Stamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Still as excellent as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We made a return trip to Stamford area and stayed again with Jilly and Michael. As ever they were excellent hosts who do all they can to make you feel at home. Jilly will ensure you have a cake available to go with your tea or coffee and a really lovely touch was the offer of a glass of wine or something when you return at night. The breakfast is sooooo good. There is just nothing that you will need that is not available. We were lucky enough to have the East wing to ourselves so had use of a kitchen and lounge ,overlooking the countryside, as well as bedroom and bathroom. Don't really know why I am posting this as we would like to keep it a secret for ourselves but Jilly and Michael deserve all of you to visit them and experience their hospitality first hand

Room Tip: Ensuite room is sumptuous but if you can get the East wing you will have so much extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
78
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woolpit, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Fab-u-lous
We have just returned from two wonderful nights stay with Jilly and Michael, it was perfect in every way. They could not have been more welcoming, home-made cake on arrival, invites for drinks in the evening but the best thing is their genuine desire to make your stay as perfect as they can. The rooms are delightful, spotlessly clean and they have thought to include everything you might need, including a torch to walk to the local pub. At breakfast time don't miss out on Michael's fresh fruit compot. it is delicious. We look forward to staying with them again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed with Jilly and Michael for one night - if only I could have stayed longer! This is a true home away from home and they think of everything. The room was remarkably comfortable and a good size, treats on the side, a good selection of bedtime reading on the shelf... I was greeted with tea and sandwiches and breakfast was simply superb. I've seldom been made to feel so welcome and felt as though I was staying with old friends!
Highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraLangston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our all to brief recent stopover at Rowan House proved to be one 'out of the box'. Our excellent, affable hosts ably assisted by their two friendly dogs instantly put us at ease with a free run of the house and garden. The room and ensuite were immaculate and well appointed. Our evening meal at the suggested nearby Millstone pub provided an interesting neighbourhood walk and one of the best pub meals we ate in the UK. Breakfast was a treat and our departure was capped off by Michael washing the road grime from our car windows. How good does it get?
Thank you Jilly and Michael for a wonderful highlight to our month in the UK.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed this week end with Jilly & Michael and what an amazing experience we had. This is the most amazing Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed in. The warmth and care we were treated to even by the "dogs" made the start of our week-end away amazing. I had to go onto Bradford the next day for my brothers wedding and this was a half way stop over. Jilly helped sort out a local pub for an amazing meal and would recommend the pub as again was fab. Jilly and Michael have done everything they can to make you stay a home from home experience with FIRST CLASS service. Breakfast was yum !! To Jilly and Michael "thank you" With love Elaine & Pat xx

Room Tip: Any Room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Jilly and Michael's warmth and hospitality made our stay in Barnack a very special and memorable experience. Look out for the horse on their front lawn. Rowan House is a B and B like no other. We give it top marks and highly recommend it.
Jean, Geoffrey and Helen Womack.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed three nights, had a suite of rooms, with Jilly and Michael. Everything was perfect, sherry, cake and tea on arrival. Advice given on local restaurants and pubs. We exchanged stories over breakfast, wonderful.

Want to take someone special away for a few days? This is the place to stay.
Everything others have said is true.

Room Tip: Its a quiet village, so noise is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishMaid6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
3.3 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
3.3 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 8 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.4 mi away
The George Of Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
5.0 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.5 mi away
Borderville Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan House

Property: Rowan House
Address: Rowan House Station Road | Barnack, Stamford PE9 3DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rowan House. Every conceivable comfort & attention to detail as acclaimed by guests in their reviews. Overlooking scenic countryside adjoining Burghley House Estate close STAMFORD - THE SUNDAY TIMES 'BEST PLACE TO LIVE IN BRITAIN' We offer Guest suite of double AND/OR twin bedroom complete with dining/kitchen if desired & private sitting room, PLUS separate double en suite accommodation. Delicious breakfasts! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing