We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great pizza!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tobie Norris

The Tobie Norris
Ranked #8 of 111 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A beautiful pub dating back to 1280AD full of character with a luxurious feel. Perfect for a coffee or a quick pint but also a special place for lunch and dinner. Now serving Sunday Roasts with meat from the owners farm 2 miles from the pub.
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place, great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was recommended this place by a friend, and i only live round the corner so thought to give it a try! The place itself if a little dingy and has that pub smell and pub service but i have the say the food makes up for it!

They say that pizza is only as good as the oven, and they must have a pretty good oven as it was great! In the area i would say the best pizza as i would never eat out anywhere for a pizza in Stamford or Peterborough as they are that bad! It's thin, crispy and the right size, only criticism is too much cheese as in Italy its about half the amount of cheese they use but still good and definitely would go again!

£21 for 2 pizzas and a bottle of wine is fantastic value for money and i can see me going here alot with that deal on!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank italianbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    148
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were recommended the Tobie Norris by locals who were watching us checking out the menu of a nearby 'chain'. We were saved! What a fantastic place. The building is amazing, several quirky rooms with exposed timbers, antique mismatched furniture, large fireplaces and wonky floors. A great place for some good beer, nice wine and interesting food. Our Sunday lunchtime could have been quite a different experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The not so small pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visited the Tobie Norris on a recommendation from a friend and certainly wasn't disappointed. Amazing building with lovely characterful features. Tried the 'not so large' pizza which turned out to be not so small! Pizza was very nice and tasted as though it was stone baked. Great range of food besides the pizzas and reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Popped into here for a quick look around and a pint.
Loved the place.
I used to live in Stamford and never new this place existed but then found out that it was not here "in my time" ! Wish it had been.
Quaint bars, cosy lounges, good beer and atmosphere.
Would look great in the winter with the fires going (if they do do that)
I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake-Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends and chinwag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I met up with two friends for a pizza and a beer. I was not disappointed with the surroundings or the food. It is slightly out of the centre which makes it more attractive to eat and drink in. It has charm and the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. The place was buzzing at 7.30 in the evening on a Tuesday. My pizza was superb, and the ales are varied and interesting. Well worth a visit if you have not tried it before.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank candymanPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tobie Norris also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Tobie Norris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing