We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions”

Boathouse Restaurant at Bracebridge
Price range: $80 - $80
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walsall
Level Contributor
455 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Small portions”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Friends took us here as a thank you and recommended the mid-week special menu. Place was packed to the rafters (for a Tuesday night) which made it very noisy. The specials menu is fairly basic and on the face of it should be good value, three courses and a 1/2 carafe of wine for £15.95, but the portions were minute and I for one left feeling that I could eat another meal. As it was so busy the staff seemed to struggle to cope with the numbers. Shame as we had eaten here some time ago and food and service were very good. Setting is beautiful next to the lake. Avoid the specials and go on an ordinary night as the special menu isn't that special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    137
    77
    60
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“21st birthday meal”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Dined here for a meal for my 21st birthday. Overall food was good, setting was lovely! However staff were quite rude and abrupt when asked questions about the different menus weren't very helpful at all. Didn't make a real effort considering they knew we were celebrating! Overall an ok place to eat but didn't really make the evening that special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOLIHULL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went for lunch at the Boathouse today with husband and 5 friends. We all chose off the set meal £12 for two courses or £13.50 for 3 courses. Made very welcome and very attentive staff. We all chose different starters and everyone agreed they were all delicious. The main meals were good sizes and such a good selection of vegetables, red cabbage, swede, courgette, mange tout and all cooked to perfection. We had new potatoes, spring opinion mash and chips so we were all able to have a portion of all. Puddings were also enjoyed. We will definitely be back. Our table overlooked the lake, so lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DIANE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nigel W”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had our 25th Wedding Anniverssarry meal here this year and i must admit the meal was very nice at a reasonable price. The view was lovelly over the lake and it was all the better as it was a beutifull summers day. We had the whole resturant closed for our lunch which made it even more special with about 70 friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went to the Boathouse for Sunday lunch to celebrate my wife's birthday, very nice feel to the place. The meal was outstanding. I had the roast beef Mrs F had the pork. Will certainly go there again. If I had a complaint it would be the cost of the drinks (seems all decent place's charge the earth). Anyway its a decent restaurant. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant at Bracebridge also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant at Bracebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing