We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to get a meal on dropping in!”

Boathouse Restaurant at Bracebridge
Price range: $80 - $80
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Hard to get a meal on dropping in!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Dont call in on passing try and book if you cant been twice 50 mins too 1hour plus wait not good. web site you can never get table either so why have one?
If you get in good food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobbymaltons-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    137
    77
    60
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Credit Crunch to die for!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm just waiting for a reason to return to the Boathouse. Great for a girls' night out or with hubby. The chef clearly cares about what goes on the plate and standards are sky high! I generally choose the fish or anything that I don't cook. The young servers in there are great fun and interesting to chat to. Clearly proud of their product.
As luck would have it, my birthday is coming up soon so I can return to my favourite eating venue with whoever I can drag with me. Looking forward!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariah049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've been a few times to the Boathouse and the menu is always enjoyable and what is presented is always lovely. I've had no bad experiences, including a very crammed Valentines Day when they managed to squeeze us in last minute. I thought this may mean service suffered, but they were as delightful as always. Thoroughly recommeded

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not Quite What We Were Expecting”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A group of us visited The Boathouse on a Monday evening. It was half full and the menu we had chosen when we booked some weeks in advance was not available. We were presented with the more expensive Xmas menu instead and so decided to order from the A la carte menu. The food was very good but the rather loud Xmas music being played made conversation difficult. When the bill arrived the substantial deposit we had paid had not been deducted. Luckily one of the party noticed the oversight and pointed it out to our waiter. The restaurant was well decorated for Xmas and the setting is beautiful though this is irrelevant on a night in December. We were disappointed that the original menu was not available as we had booked on the strength of this

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jacqueline89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“QUALITY FOOD WITH A VIEW TO DIE FOR”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I must confess I have only visited The Boathouse on a Sunday Lunchtime but wow - is it good? There is a set menu with a choice of about 8 starters, 8 mains and 8 sweets. I have enjoyed many family celebrations of my November Birthday and there are many reasons why this has been an Annual Pilgramage. Firstly is the Restaurants location in Sutton Park overlooking Bracebridge Pool - a lovely expanse of water with ducks-a-plenty. Are they the ones that end up on the menu? Doubtful, I guess! It is a beautiful old building, full of character & atmosphere. When i was a child some 50 years ago it was just a traditional tea-room - now it is ideal for it's current use as a Restaurant of Calibre. The Sunday Menu has something for everyone. I adore Fish & Seafood and there is always something "Special" on the set menu to satisfy my passion. Most of my "Clan" go for Beef or Lamb. Give me a nice grilled Plaice & I am more than happy! There is a varied wine list to choose from and the prices are reasonable. Sutton Coldfield is lucky to have such a superb Restaurant at its heart - highly recommended. Don't forget to bring some bread to feed the ducks!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raratrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant at Bracebridge also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant at Bracebridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing