We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like travelling back to the 80's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Like travelling back to the 80's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were so relieved that we got this room for £19 on the Friday and for free using a Great Night Giveaway voucher on the Saturday - we would have been mortified to pay the online price of £94 for the Saturday night. This is the most tired and run-down Premier Inn that we have stayed in - the room had a mouldy/musty odour that persisted for the entire weekend, the TV and decor was circa 1982, the wooden room door (that was rotten and falling away at the bottom) had an old-fasioned key and did not feel as secure as modern hotel doors and the bathroom was in need of some serious TLC. Worst of all the 'king-size' bed was actually just 2 single beds stuck together with a huge gap in the centre making lying together impossible. The bed was also extremely hard and uncomfortable to the point that my partner came away with a bad back. To make matters worse, we were both kept awake on the Saturday night until around 4am with noise from the room above - it was like trying to sleep below a herd of elephants.

I am guessing that this hotel has also experienced trouble on nights over the weekend in the past as to get back in at midnight we had to show our key and give our names to a woman standing in the locked entrance holding a clipboard - showing the key was not sufficient even though we are 2 respectable adults (definitely not kids looking for trouble), we were clearly completely sober (arriving in a car) and this is probably the only Premier Inn (possibly hotel) in the country that still uses traditional keys instead of swipe cards so where else would we have a key on a Premier Inn keyring from (!) - whilst it is good that the staff are preventing trouble in this way it is not common practice in hotels and suggests that disturbances are a regular occurrence here.

The only saving grace for this hotel that stopped it from receiving a 1-star rating was the staff at reception who were generally friendly and the fact that we booked the rooms using offers so did not pay a large amount. There are plenty of budget hotels in the Birmingham/Sutton Coldfield area that charge less than the outrageous weekend rates here but provide far superior facilities such as clean modern decor, secure bedroom doors, regular double beds and flatscreen televisions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraCalabrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that at Premier Inn we take all feedback seriously and we would like the opportunity to investigate these issues further. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    137
    69
    25
    12
See reviews for
159
102
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have tried several budget hotels but this was really good so we just book here now! We come twice a year so book early to get a good deal. The staff have always been very friendly & efficient,even over the Christmas period. Other than breakfast we haven't eaten in the restaurant so we can't offer an opinion .
We ask for a room at the back where it is very quiet.Ample car parking too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

If I could rate the staff at this Premier Inn higher than 5 I would. Every single one was polite, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. They took the Good Night Guarantee seriously and nothing was too much. On one of the nights we stayed, there was a rowdy group who came back, and the night staff dealt with this efficiently so as not to disturb any guests, but politely too. Also, the room was clean and equipped with everything we needed, the attached restaurant was fab and child friendly, and breakfast was ace too. We definitely feel we got great value for money and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here last night (Jan 19th 2013) as we were attending a friends party very nearby. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist 'Charlie' who was polite, helpful and efficient as he checked us into our room. We were on the third floor, which was fine with us. We were travellign as part of a bigger group, and occupied four rooms on the same floor. It was only when the other members of the party arrived, that we discovered that not only was our room considerably smaller, but the bed was a double compared to their 'Kingsize', this seemed bizarre seeing as we had all paid the same price, and we had checked in first, so we were a bit annoyed at this.

The only other issue that we had was with the shower. The shower head was practically immobile, and combined with the immense pressure, this meant that the water blasted all over the bathroom as soon as we switched the shower on, soaking everything in site.. which was not ideal.

Just one more small note to add - When we got in from our evening out, at around 2am, we were greeted quite rudely by the man on reception demanding to know if we were continuing the party in our rooms. We weren't planning to, and had come in quietly, and respectfully and found this exchange a little rude and unnecessary.

Overall a good stay. The bed was comfy and the room was well heated to allow us to be warm on such a cold evening. The breakfast was fine, but we felt rushed by the waitress as it was comin to the end of service. It would be useful if the menu cards for breakfast in the rooms had the times on them alongside the price (which by the way is a bit steep, especially considering the poor quality of vegetarian sausages)

Our room was room 36 by the way, Smaller than the others on the floor and with much more of an old fashioned feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShooHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
501 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a motel and meets all the requirements,comfortable bed, great bathroom and what appears to have been a makeover on the windows now gives great ventilation. Main problem is the extortionate price for breakfast. Tesco local at next door garage is great for providing good provisions.Staff very friendly and even supplied scrapers to remove ice from windscreens.

Room Tip: Alwaysask for room at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked ahead of the rest of my party and got charged an extra £16 for the privildge. We selected it due to the good links with nearby Moxhull Hall where we were attending a family wedding. Other hotels are available within the area so my advice would be to wait until the week before to get the best possible deal. The rates we paid varied from £45 - £29 - £19. Customer Service Dept is also particularly patronising when questioned about their pricing policy.
Overall the hotel is OK. Standard double/twin rooms built to a good standard at the rear of a pub. We only had one towel in our double room but other than that it was satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.

Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time.

Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy.

We do have a Team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Some aspects of our stay were excellent but unfortunately i have knocked a couple of points off because of the poor thought which has gone into what is meant to be a family room.

The good points are that the reception staff were welcoming, informative, and provided an excellent service. A minor issue with the lights tripping because the light bulb in the bathroom needed to be replaced was dealt with quickly and satisfactorily. The room was clean and the double bed was really comfortable. TV, Kettle and good facilities in the room, nice bathroom.

We stayed in room 9 and had booked a family room but was disappointed to find this was just a standard room with a poor quality, hard and uncomfortable camp bed dragged in and placed by the window. My 15 year old son was even too big for the bed. Suggest if you are claiming this is a family room then supply a single bed to the same standard as the double. Also when we arrived we found the heating turned off and the windows open. It took another 6 hours for the room to reach the maximum room temperature of 23 degrees, which is a few degrees below the standard in most hotels.

We didn't have breakfast as it is ridiculously overpriced and a certain pub chain starting with a W can offer a full breakfast for £3. Unfortunately we did have a meal in the adjoining pub. This was terrible to put it mildly. I had the steak and ale pie which had obviously been pre cooked and warmed up in the microwave. Well cremated in the microwave as it was piping hot but rock hard pastry. Poor quality pub grub for all that is best avoided.

Stayed for a week before Christmas but moved on Christmas eve as it was cheaper to stay over Christmas in an executive room in a luxury hotel not too far away!!!!!

Good value when you are paying the cheapest rate but not when the room price increases.

Good staff and a clean room.

Room Tip: Don't have a ground floor room as the people above us woke us up at 6am every morning. Sounded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trompa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
1.9 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Address: Whitehouse Common Road, Sutton Coldfield B75 6HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#4 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much on your doorstep at Sutton Coldfield. The bright lights, sights and shops of Birmingham are just a quick train ride away. While closer to home there are a number of renowned golf courses, as well as the beautiful Sutton Park National Nature Reserve. Conquer your fears on Stormforce 10 at Drayton Manor. Or indulge in retail therapy at big name stores in Birmingham. Watch some famous names tee off at the Belfry, then come back for tea and pampering yourself in our spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. Directions: Approx. 7 miles from M42(J9). Follow A446 towards Lichfield, then A453 to Sutton Coldfield. Turn left into Whitehouse Common Road, the hotel is on the left. 1/2 mile from Good Hope Hospital. Next to the White Horse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Premier Inn Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing