We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Excellent Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
herefordshire
1 review
“Great Staff and Excellent Room”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have only stayed in one previous Premier inn which was in Lancaster (Lancashire) but recently decided to take our young children to Drayton Manor Thomas Land, after which we decided to stop off at Premier Inn Birmingham North, (Sutton Coldfield). I have to say that all the Staff, despite some of the negative comments on this website, deserve a pay rise and a well earned pat on the Back, We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door, our children were given crayons and a colouring in sheet, and were also offered a lolly each which made it even more special, we were given room 16 on the first floor, upon opening the door, our first words were wow, we did not expect a room as big as the one we had, and it was very clean, That same evening we decided to have a family meal in the Restaurant next door, once again nothing was to much trouble, plenty off room and no trouble finding a table - meals all very reasonable and there waiting staff, despite being young were very attentive, and once again nothing was to much trouble, food was excellent and the meals were cooked to perfection, I think there restaurant staff also deserve some kind recognition for there hard work, Because on the day we were there, they went above and beyond the call of duty, and should be proud of them selves, to finish off our stay we decided to have the premier breakfast before leaving, once again nothing was to much trouble we were told how things worked and were we could find everything, we were also given plenty of time to enjoy things like toast or cereal before bringing out our main breakfast, once again the food was excellent and did not witness any complaints from any other table, upon leaving they said goodbye and thank you, and we left having had the best stay ever. ( Verdict ) Would I return or recommend this pub and Hotel. ( Yes ) 10 out of 10 for good work, and thank you for giving my family a good time.
This Hotel and restaurant are very family friendly.

Room Tip: Very close to Drayton Manor theme park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    143
    69
    27
    12
See reviews for
163
105
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Friendly welcome and good breakfast. Nice bar and children's play area. Comfortable beds. Very small bathroom and room a bit hot. Couldn't leave windows open as on ground floor (although they did have restricted opening).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

good hotel suggest not staying on roadside.needs updating in resturant but food very good and reasonably priced.it is in a good position for travel into birmingham.the staf are very helpful and obliging

Room Tip: make sure you book rooms on back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritalydonjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by Emma on reception, a credit to the company..... smiley, cheerful and helpful. The room was fine, clean etc but needs a little tlc as it still had a box tube television not a flat screen. There was a slight drain smell in the bathroom which seemed to go after the shower was put on. The food place next door was good value for money pub grub, super for children. Would def use this place again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is probably the most run down premier inn I have stayed in, maybe we just got unlucky with the room. I wouldn't have said it was that clean either. The fan that was in the room had thick fluffy dust all over the plastic blades and inside the cage. If I'd have used it in that state it would have just blown dirt and dust everywhere. After 4 baby wipes I removed the cage and rinsed it in the bath as the dust was so thick it wouldn't come off. The whole place looks like it could do with a good hoover and the bathroom had wood panels on the bath and sink unit that were swollen and "fluffing out" at the edges. Again as with Stockport south, this room was very warm 26.5 degrees on the room stat (2 cooler than Stockport) and I think as it was a slightly larger room with 2 windows it wasn't quite as bad.

Location wise it was very good. The area itself wasn't noisy, we were road side but it's not a major road and the noise level was fine. For Drayton manor theme park it was only 10 mins in the car. I probably will try camping at Drayton manor in the summer and would probably return to the travelodge on a special offer but only in winter and hope they have upped their game a bit. I would have been very upset to pay more than the £34 rate but in this location it was just about acceptable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank noodle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Its OK but has a rather tired and worn out feel to it.
The room was very clean and the staff were very good.
The restaurant is very cheap and the quality reflects this (prefer the Table Table ones)
As always these places are good value for money.
I would use it again but its not a place I would look forward to staying at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great value for money. Very family friendly. Lovely breakfast.
Would highly recommend this hotel to families with young families.
Playground just outside restaurant.
Close to Sutton Coldfield and Four Oaks train stations with easy access to central Birmingham.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sutton Coldfield hotels
0.8 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,612 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,446 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Col...
#5 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
228 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
458 reviews
1.9 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Address: Whitehouse Common Road, Sutton Coldfield B75 6HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#4 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much on your doorstep at Sutton Coldfield. The bright lights, sights and shops of Birmingham are just a quick train ride away. While closer to home there are a number of renowned golf courses, as well as the beautiful Sutton Park National Nature Reserve. Conquer your fears on Stormforce 10 at Drayton Manor. Or indulge in retail therapy at big name stores in Birmingham. Watch some famous names tee off at the Belfry, then come back for tea and pampering yourself in our spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. Directions: Approx. 7 miles from M42(J9). Follow A446 towards Lichfield, then A453 to Sutton Coldfield. Turn left into Whitehouse Common Road, the hotel is on the left. 1/2 mile from Good Hope Hospital. Next to the White Horse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Premier Inn Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing