We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely attentive staff, fabulous breakfast, bedroom decor a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely attentive staff, fabulous breakfast, bedroom decor a bit dated”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Late booking for a single room on a bank holiday weekend. Lovely staff, very welcoming & homely. Room ok, bed v comfy but décor dated. Lots of lovely hot water for bath & spotlessly clean. Found place a bit tricky to find- could do with a bit more signage. Woken up at 7.30 am by voices of guests passing room to go to breakfast. Breakfast staff extremely courteous & efficient.
No rush on leaving hotel as long as checked out room by 11am. A bit disappointed that couldn't use spa facilities after this time tho as arrived late last nite & didn't have time to use the spa then. Lovely grounds for a wander. Very comfy lounge areas inside & outside to relax & read the papers. Wedding set up for today looked fab ..hope they enjoyed a fabulous day :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near staircases
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm pleased you could walk around the grounds and sit outside as you picked an excellent weekend for the weather too! We have an ongoing refurbishment programme for the bedrooms with a few still to do, but its very important that you get a good bed and the room is clean, which I'm pleased you have mentioned. I do hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    425
    217
    88
    42
See reviews for
351
543
41
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chislehurst
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with good sized well equipped bedrooms. Ours was a superior room so had a view over the adjacent golf course. Good bed and excellent bathroom, all very clean and well decorated.
However we stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast deal, and wished we hadn't. Breakfast was the usual buffet style fare, but we ate at 9am and the food was very overcooked as tough it had been prepared for the start of service at 7am and kept warm somewhere since then.
There are two restaurants, the Oak Room being where we dined, was a pleasant room, light and airy, however, the food was again overcooked and not well presented. We dined there two nights, on the first night we were offered a special starter of Mussels and a Main of venison, then to be told that the Venison had run out. The Roast of the day was Turkey. The second night we were only offered a special starter,Mussels, no special Main, and the Roast of the day was,you've guessed it was Turkey.
The food overall was of good quality, but had been spoiled by being overcooked or kept warm too long before being served. We did say when ordering on the 2nd night that the Fish on the previous night had been overdone and it was a bit better that night.
The Country Carvery offers a cheaper option but is a bit like the cupboard under the stairs with no windows and a low ceiling so overall was not very appealing to us as we would not have wanted to stay in there having a leisurely dinner after a long day.
The Pool and spa however are very good, pool just the right temperature and everywhere very clean.
The gardens are very nice and the building attractive in a quiet location

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveChislehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, but do apologise for the issues you have raised with regard to the food. We are generally very well known for our restaurants and their standards and quality. It is very important that our guests enjoy the whole experience when they stay and I will be raising the issues you have mentioned in order to arrange further training and improve these aspects in the future. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again when you will be assured of our best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of April, having dropped our sons off for the ice hockey play offs in Coventry and headed further up to visit friends whose house backs on to this hotel. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with a golf course on site. It's an oldy worldy style of hotel...steeped in history of which they are obviously very proud. Our room was in the new wing and small but perfectly fine. Lovely bathroom and very comfy beds. There were numerous weddings, tea parties etc taking place both days but nothing bothered us at all. The reception staff were lovely and very efficient, on check out they seemed genuinely interested in whether we'd had a nice stay...which we had! The breakfast was lovely, very plentiful and the hot food was hot! The waiting staff were lovely and helpful and worked so hard they need a medal! It was also excellent value for money as only £20 per night more than the very budget chain hotel we had dropped our sons off at! One note.....the lift in the new wing was out of order. This didn't bother us but carrying bags/children upstairs may have been a problem for some. Maybe they only put the fit and healthy in these rooms. We commented on it to the poor chambermaids who were up and down the stairs with huge bundles of linen and they said it had been 'out of order' for months! Hopefully it's fixed soon! Our only disappointment was that we were only there one night and were spending most of the weekend at our friend's house we didn't get to use the pool/restaurants etc! We hope to stay again the same time next year, maybe for two nights so that we can enjoy the facilities!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing facing the gardens are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onhols4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed the charm of Moor Hall and found it excellent value for money. We do hope you will be able to visit us again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first visit and what a pleasant surprise. This place is a gem. Its location is great. The staff were friendly, attentive and welcoming. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The spa and pool were very relaxing. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: To make sure you are not impacted by any noise from the function suite ask for rooms 90+
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bcoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments which will be passed onto the staff. As you say we are in a great location and we are central to many local attractions. Thank you for taking the time to provide this review and we look forward to seeing you when you are next able to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely hotel and very spacious room. Staff very attentive and accommodating. Food in the Oak Room restaurant of good quality although the portions are on the small side and you have to pay extra for side dishes of vegetables.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for those special occasions,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for this fabulous review. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you next time you are able to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed one night for our wedding anniversary. Had an amazing time, food was fantastic, room was spacious and very comfortable , staff were brilliant nothing was to much trouble for them, spa and pool were lovely. only downfall was that we didn't stay for two nights. Would defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review and Happy Anniversary! We were pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and will pass your kind comments onto the team. Look forward to welcoming you back next time you are able to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is our third visit to what is now our favourite hotel! We were greeted by the friendly receptionists and our room was on the ground floor as requested. The room with 2 double beds was extremely clean and very well furnished. the beds were really comfy and as we were a bit warm on the first night our duvets were changed for blankets and the second night the temp was spot on. The breakfast was delicious and hot from the buffet and our waitresses were charming nothing was too much for them. We had room service and our sandwich platter with curly chips was tasty. The second evening we had some family in to see us and I rang Reception to check this was okay and they sent us a tray with extra cups and a milk jug. The staff all do their best to make this a friendly and efficiently run hotel. The hotel decor and generally cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding - the best I have ever stayed in and being a family run hotel adds to the quality of both the hotel and the service given.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JENNE520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It was lovely to welcome you back to Moor Hall and thank you for such a fabulous review. We were delighted to hear we are now your favourite hotel! We all look forward to seeing you again next time you are able to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,171 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
3.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
393 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,851 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: Moor Hall Drive | Four Oaks, Sutton Coldfield B75 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa is a four star country house hotel set in parkland, yet within easy reach of Birmingham. A 2015 Certificate of Excellence winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel And Spa
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Best Western Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing