We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Eve nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The grounds to the hotel are really nice, but we didn't go for that. We wanted a place to sleep, and they didn't deliver on the most basic of our needs. We were put in a room where we were unable to control the temperature and were unable to sleep at all. Cigarette smoke seemed to be creeping into the room and we weren't sure from where. At a about 02:00 we asked for another room and after 30 minutes we were finally given one. We were offered a part refund and they didn't deliver on this either. Don't stay here, it's not very accommodating.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The-Shadow-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I was sorry to hear initially you had problems with your room. At Moor Hall we work hard to discourage smoking in every part of the building and have a clear policy which we try to rigorously enforce, but sometimes we fight a losing battle with determined guests who insist on smoking. Being a non-smoker myself I can totally sympathise with your feelings regarding the smell of cigarette smoke in your room and I was pleased that we were able to move you to another room and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    412
    214
    84
    40
See reviews for
325
520
40
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money, enjoyed our stay and would choose this hotel again if visiting the area. Good location for NEC.
Food is slightly overpriced for quality, but good to be able to have room service after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berry19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on offering excellent value for money and as you say we are in a great location for the NEC and Birmingham City. We do hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good hotel with pleasant and efficient reception staff and waiters etc.
The room was very comfortable and in general a very nice place to stay. The only negative comment would be the carvery type meal which, whilst being good value would not be my choice, as it had the problem of over cooked or drying out vegetables with some of the worst looking cauliflower cheese I have seen, however I was aware the main restaurant was closed on a sunday and I knew my choice would be restricted.
Overall it was a reasonably priced hotel with good facilities and staff and I would use it again and hopefully stay when the main restaurant is open.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room comfortable. I have passed your comments regarding the vegetables to Chef in order for further staff training to be arranged in this area and wanted to thank you for providing this feedback. I was pleased to hear you are hoping to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the Moor Hall.
The stay there was very nice with excellent staff. The assistant manager was a star who made us very welcome and was very accommodating.
Unfortunately our stay was spoiled on the last morning by a rather lazy breakfast waiter. When I told him I had been waiting 15 minutes for my toast and tea he replied that they were very busy. He repeated this twice again as he spent a further 15 minutes setting a table for two!
The other staff were very helpful and a young lady stepped in when asked and brought our tea and toast within two minutes.
My breakfast had by now gone cold and was not very nice.
In short the hotel is beautiful, the spa excellent, the service good, the breakfast waiter whos name starts with a D lazy and very unhelpful!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay but sorry to hear of your experience at breakfast. This matter will be discussed with the member of staff concerned in order for further staff training to be undertaken as this is not the usual high standard of customer service we provide at Moor Hall. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and we look forward to seeing you next time you are able to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We go there once a year for a black tie awards night, and it is always a night we look forward to! The hotel is very grand, set in a golf course with nice views and a grand approach up the drive, inside there are oak paneled corridors and snugs with open fires. We go in winter, but I bet it looks even better in spring/summer when the leaves are on the trees and the grass is green!
Afternoon food (sandwiches and snacks) are nice, well presented and tasty, the breakfast is good too, especially if you order the "other" things on the menu like Smoked Salmon or Kippers etc, the standard breakfast is good though, standard English type from a self service bar!
Evening meals we have had have always been of a set variety, but always good!
Rooms are ok, some are a little dated, and its worth spending the extra £10 to have a superior room I think, bit roomier and better decorated.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room - extra £10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Moor Hall. The open fires are certainly very cosy in the Winter and we are lucky to be based in such a wonderful setting. It would be lovely if you could visit us in the Spring/Summer to explore the grounds, and in October we have the beautiful Autumn glory of the trees to enjoy! We look forward to seeing you next time you are able to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night with wife and kids in February '13 and booked interconnecting rooms. Check in was quick and smooth and of we went to our rooms. Rooms are very spacious and very quiet. We booked 2 connecting rooms which was great as the boys had their own space and TV and in the evening when they were asleep we had our space.
We had dinner in the Country Kitchen restaurant which was perfect for the kids as the atmosphere was informal. They were given some coloring books which was a nice touch. Book early as both restaurants seem a haven for the locals which is always a good sign to be honest. Food was superb and the staff very attentive to both us and the boys. After a good night sleep we ventured of for breakfast which was in the same dining room as the dinner. The selection for both hot and cold items was great and even though it was busy we certainly were not rushed. After breakfast we went to the spa for a swim which was a perfect way to relax before our long drive back to Kent. The pool is fab and the kids loved it. Will be back next time we need to go to the NEC in Birmingham which is only 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: Book connecting rooms if you are with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Interconnecting rooms are great as they give all the family space and privacy and it sounds like the boys had a wonderful time. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay as we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service. I have passed your kind comments onto Chef and the rest of the team which were much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I booked the hotel on line and decided to book the dinner too, we arrived at the hotel to be greated by a friendly girl on reception, we were given a free up-grade as I am a member of the best western club. The room was lovely with a giant bed. We headed straight to the health club and enjoyed a sauna, steam and swim. We then had a few drinks in one of the many drinking areas, all of which were very well furnished and very comfortable. I noticed that the restuarant that we had booked into had a dress code and had not taken the right clothing for such a meal, my only niggle was there was nothing on the web stating this, I spoke to the girl on reception about my concerns and she rang down to the restuarant, I was then met by a lovely gentleman who reassured me all was ok, he went out of his way to make us both feel so welcome and at ease. We went down to dinner for 8pm and what a great experience it was, the food was amazing and the staff were always on hand to answer questions or to fill up wine glasses!!! Nothing was too much trouble. We then went to the bar area and enjoyed a few more drinks and had a good laugh with the bar staff. We then retired to bed and had a wonderful nights sleep. A totally great time and I would recommend to anyone. We had been to the camping show at the NEC and it was a 15 minute drive. Thank you to everyone at the Moor Hall Spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for your kind comments about the staff. We are in a great location for visiting the NEC and after a long day walking round the Camping Show, we were pleased you enjoyed your evening at Moor Hall and had such a good nights sleep. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
3.9 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Su...
#4 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: Moor Hall Golf Club Moor Hall Drive | Four Oaks, Sutton Coldfield B75 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa is a four star country house hotel set in parkland, yet within easy reach of Birmingham. A 2015 Certificate of Excellence winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel And Spa
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Best Western Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing