We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I organised a Diamond wedding celebration for my parents in the form of an afternoon tea for 25 in the Ladywood room and my husband and I stayed for two nights. It was a lovely experience and I found the staff very attentive and helpful .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

A Diamond Wedding Anniversary is something very special and I was so pleased to hear your parents enjoyed their celebration afternoon tea. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff which I have passed onto them and we look forward to seeing you next time you are able to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,541 - 1,547 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited Moor Hall on 3 occasions over the Christmas period .Firstly for a meal in the Country Kitchen on Christmas Eve ,a 5 course carvery meal for £18.00 which was excellent ,the staff were very welcoming and the quality of the food was first class making a great start to Christmas.

After Christmas we attended a pantomime with our family,a most enjoyable afternoon well organised again with excellent staff and service.

On New Years Eve we stayed here for one night mainly to attend the New Years Eve Gala Dinner which was very enjoyable with superb food and a great atmosphere with a room inclusive price which was much better value than other hotels in the area.The breakfast the following morning was excellent served in the Oak restaurant and as the hotel had been full the previous evening was served with courtesy and efficiency .Well done to all concerned.

We had two rooms a double and a single which were on the upper floor hence nice and quiet the only problem was the double room was extremely cold and despite a call to reception and a very rapid response from the Maintenance man it remainded cold throughout.It may well be that the radiator is undersized for such a large room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I was so pleased you enjoyed each visit to Moor Hall and have passed your kind comments onto the team. However, I was sorry to hear that the radiator in the bedroom remained cold despite being checked by Maintenance and have asked them to investigate the issue further in order for the problem to be resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends for a new years dinner with accommodation included in the price. We arrived to be greeted by a very pleasant girl on reception. Our room was very nice but did not have a very big bed (seemed more 3/4 than a double) However, we asked to move and they arranged this for us. The rooms were very pleasant and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The shower in the bathroom was the most powerful I have ever experienced, unfortunately, the shower screen was not good enough to contain the water and we ended up with several puddles!
The only down side to the room was the amount of dust, I have had this in other best western hotels and it really needs to be addressed.

The staff were all very helpful and everything for the New Years eve meal was very well organised with lovely food.

Breakfast very good but probably needed more staff but as it was new years day it was understandable.

The hotel has a lovely feel to it and although very big still appeared cosy. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay as the comfort of our guests is of paramount importance to us. Please accept my apologies for the dust you found in your room as at Moor Hall we pride ourselves on our usually very high standards. I have passed your comments to our Head Housekeeper in order for this issue to be addressed and wanted to thank you for bringing the matter to my attention. We look forward to seeing you next time you are able to visit and when you will be assured of our best attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently held our wedding reception at Moor Hall Hotel and from the day we booked the wedding, to the moment we arrived at Moor Hall through to our check out the next day we were 100% happy with the service, staff and value of the event.
We held the wedding breakfast in The Charter Suite which looked amazing with the Christmas decorations and our finishing touches. The meal was perfect, the service was flawless and our every need was catered for.

We stayed overnight, along with many of the wedding party, and our room was comfortable and spacious. There was even a jacuzzi bath in the corner of the room!

All the staff were professional yet approachable, and nothing was too much hassle. We'd like to thank Joanne, for answering our many questions in the run up to the wedding and Marina & Nigel for managing the event on the day. A big thank you to Andy, the bar supervisor, for his help when one of our party felt unwell, his discreet and professional management of the situation was a credit to your team.

Although we won't be hosting another wedding at your venue we'll certainly be back again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethWalker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Wow what a fabulous review! Thank you so much. It was our pleasure to look after you and your guests on your special day. I have passed your kind comments onto our team who were delighted to play a part in your big day and to help make those memories that you will keep forever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We found our arrival to be treated as a bit of a nuisance to the receptionist, but having met her again I concluded that she is just quite miserable by nature. The room was OK (159 - we upgraded) but the bathroom was dreadful - needs refitting desperately. The shower didn't work and it just irritated me that we had to go to reception and ask for soap so that we could wash our hands. We ate in the Oak Room the next day for lunch and I have to say the staff are fantastic. I will write a seprate review for the restaurant as I cannot say - enough great things about it. Breakfast in the Country Kitchen was nice if a little crowded - but they had some good veggie options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelindaCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and I was sorry to hear about your experience in reception on arrival and that you were disappointed with your room. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention as it has allowed me to discuss them with the relevant department heads in order to improve things for the future. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback as we do take all comments on board and strive to continually improve the standard of accommodation and service we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed several times in this hotel on business and will stay again. It is reasonable for the money although the rooms are variable - there seems to be a rolling programme of refurbishment so some are rather tired and tatty whilst others have a very nice bathroom and good facilities.

I would not recommend the food - the breakfast buffet is very variable and I have been warned off dinner by other regulars.

However, this hotel wins on the genuine hospitality of the staff. They are helpful and welcoming and you're able to forgive the odd quirk because of the friendliness of the people who work there.

Liam

Room Tip: Ask for something on the first floor and avoid the singles on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamFitzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

It was good to see you again and we were pleased to hear that as always you found our rates good value for money. We are constantly looking at ways to improve the experience for our guests and are glad you like our refurbishment programme. We are sorry to hear you do not have dinner when you stay with us as we receive many wonderful comments about the food at Moor Hall. I hope you will give us a try next time you are with us as we have lots of different dining options for you to choose from. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff which have been passed onto them and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We've been Moor Hall for Christmas Day lunch for the past 20 years and this year was a fantastic experience. Even on such a busy day, we managed to find a parking space in the car park and were greeted as usual by friendly, smiling faces. The food was exquisite-one of the best meals we have had in a long time. All of our courses were presented beautifully and portions were plentiful-in fact we couldn't manage everything, they were so generous. The service was also superb. All of the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a lovely time, in particular, David who balances humour with efficient service to great effect. The Oak Room is beautifully presented and maintained - you can tell they take a pride in it. We shall be booking for next Christmas as soon as we are able and cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you, Moor Hall for making our Christmas Day so special from Debbie & Brian Guest and Christine Lagoe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Manager at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

First of all it was lovely to welcome you back for Christmas Day lunch and we were pleased to hear that, once again, you had a fabulous experience at Moor Hall and look forward to seeing you next year, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,238 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
3.9 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
488 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Moor Hall Drive | Four Oaks, Sutton Coldfield B75 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: $96 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa is a four star country house hotel set in parkland, yet within easy reach of Birmingham. A 2015 Certificate of Excellence winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Best Western Premier Moor Hall Hotel And Spa
Best Western Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing