We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“POOR”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jimmy Spices - CLOSED

Jimmy Spices
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“POOR”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

If you enjoy raw, fatty chicken this is the place for you. Everything is of pure quality. Economy burgers which taste like they have about 10% beef in. It was poor the first time, gave it another chance and it was worse! Then they charged a service charge after I'd complained! No way am I paying a service charge for disgusting food! Avoid avoid avoid! Go cosmos/anywhere else instead.

Helpful?
2 Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    110
    92
    48
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Out with the girls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good choice as the different foods suit everybodies taste.There is always something for everyone.The 4 types of food give you a lot of variety and it is value for money.Being able to have a chinese dish cooked of your own choice is great and nice to watch as you eat your meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SweetmanB744JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spice Up Father's Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Celebrated Father's day at Jimmy Spices with Family, including, Grandchildren.

Menu-wise, we were spoilt for choice....The 'Grandkids' were very well catered for and happily tucked into a choice of healthy veg, salad & fruit, of course that was accompanied by a choice of pizza, chicken nuggets and other savoury delights. Desserts were also temptingly displayed especially for those of us needing to watch the calories...tho' there was more than sufficient fruit & veg available, so no excuses, "Any-road up", it was Father's Day after all. Lol.

For new diners to Jimmy's restaurant, I suggest you sample the available variety of tasters from the buffet Counter & when you find what you enjoy most, politely help yourself. We enjoyed the carvery roast lunch, helped along by good front of house service. For those folk unable to climb the stairs to the upper floor restaurant, there is a conveniently located elevator ( lift) con the ground floor.

Thank's guys for a delicious meal and for spicing up Father's Day.

Regards,

Paul R

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

It was the first time we dined here and I can't say I'll be returning. We were met at the door by a grumpy staff member who showed us over to a table. Then that was it. None of us had a clue what to do. Where to get plates from. The cutlery was already on the table but finding plates was a little daunting. When we eventually found plates the food was old and dry. The only thing i enjoyed was the thai curry. Drinks took forever to come over. When we were given the bill our waitress asked if we were going to pay the service on the bill. Yet after we all studied the bill carefully we couldn't see a service charge. I wasn't sure if I was being tricked into paying something I didn't even know was on the bill. I told the waitress there was no service on the bill from what I could see and somehow she acted as if this was our fault. All staff walk around sullen and moody. I assume this is because the service is supposedly automatically added to the bill from what I can gather so there is no motivation to be polite or helpful. Won't be returning.

Helpful?
5 Thank ascharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be careful using Groupon vouchers here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A friend had a Groupon voucher offer and invited us to join them. When making the booking for a Sunday evening she made it clear that it was her intention to use this voucher. The booking was accepted and on arrival we made it clear to the senior waiter who was seating us that we were there on a voucher. When the bill came it was pointed out to us immediately that it was only valid Monday to Thursday. Fair enough this had been overlooked but my point is we were allowed to book and be seated with staff knowing it was our intention to use the voucher without anyone pointing out that it was not valid. Paying full price for the meal we felt that in fairness it should have been mentioned when we arrived in which case we would have gone elsewhere for a better quality meal as quite frankly here it is quantity over quality and we would not have chosen this as a full price venue. Frankly we were ripped off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PollyplusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Spices also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing