We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Happy Accident! Visitors from Cambridgeshire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simla

Simla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gamlingay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Happy Accident! Visitors from Cambridgeshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were staying in the Ramada at Sutton Coldfield and asked which were good Indian restaurants in the area. The first we were recommended was full as we had not made a reservation and Simla was another that had been recommended. The staff seated us straight away and were very helpful. The decor was modern and the restaurant was very busy if not full. We didn't realise it was take your own alcohol, but the little shop just down the road was still open, so a bottle of wine and some beer later and we were all sorted. the staff were extremely helpful when it came to ordering for us and our children. i could not decide between two dishes, so it was suggested I had their combination dish so I had a smaller portion of each dish. A great idea, and a good choice. The food came fast and turnover of customers was quite rapid, although there didnt to us seem to be any pressure to eat up and get out. So if you wanted to take your time you could but if you wanted to eat and run, the fullness of the restaurant would not have prevented you from doing so. The food quality was very good and the whole family enjoyed the meal. In the end I am very glad we could not get into the first restaurant we tried as we had a great time. Would not hesitate to go back the next time we are staying in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    48
    18
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another fine evening of great atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just been out with friends and had booked a table of 6 for 7.30pm to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant was bast and had a vibrant atmosphere but we were dealt with quickly and efficiently. 4 of us dined with the special offer and the other 2 decided they didn't want starters so just had a main meal each. The food was excellent and the service matched the quality of food. After our meal they brought the birthday cake out that we had dropped off earlier and nothing was too much trouble. I fully recommend anybody to come and dine here as it is the best by far that Sutton Coldfield has to offer.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“definitely the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

surprised to see any criticism of this place, we regularly visit and for overall quality of food, service, decor, value for money and standards of general cleanliness Simla is simply the best.
Extensive menu, great offers, bring your own drinks, welcoming atmosphere and without doubt superb staff - what's not to like! Don't be put off by any negs on Tripadvisor, this place is worth a visit any time, try it and it's highly likely you'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, stylish decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I had a lonely meal for one on Monday night but, despite this enjoyed a warm welcome, tasty food and enjoyed the experience. Much more than I had hoped for given the circumstances.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
183 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very modern decor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A group of us went but it was a long table and with 8 of us we felt we were two parties not one. The food was average, nothing to write home about. We brought our own alcohol which helped with the bill. Staff were friendly but it was far too modern for our liking. We will not be going back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank growolddisgracefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simla also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Simla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing