We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Scala - CLOSED

La Scala
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have now visited La Scala several times and have never been disappointed. Alfredo and his team work hard to deliver authentic Italian cuisine.The decor is tasteful and the ambiance warm. The new menu is extensive, the portions huge and the food excellent. We will definitely return again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    7
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing - things have changed here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Having previously had a good experience here, we arranged a meal for a group of 7 family and friends in December. Despite the restaurant not being particularly busy we were sat on a long table by the bar away from the ambience of the main restaurant - it would have been preferable to be placed at the large empty round table in the main seating area where we could have chatted more easily and not felt separate from the restaurant. The service was shockingly bad all night with almost a one hour wait for the arrival of starters followed by a further hour before receiving the main courses with absolutely no apology or explanation provided. The unanimous feeling of the table was that with the exception of the steaks, which were of excellent quality although not cooked as requested, the rest of the food was underwhelming. The quality of the food served is no more superior or authentic (despite the Italian staff) than that of many high-street Italian chain restaurants like Ask but is provided at around double the cost - the meal cost around £65 per person for two courses and three bottles of wine for the table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FraCalabrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Me and my family have eaten at La Scala a number of times now. We have always enjoyed our visit and never been dissapointed with the food. It is a more formal setting than the chains, which I wouldn't visit now anyway having tasted the real thing. Yes ithe price can be at the upper end depending on your choice of dish. But I think this is fair as I consider the ingredients they use to be superior to most other restaurants. Alfredo the owner has taken on-board customer comments to provide a wider range of dishes which ofer the cutomers dishes from £10. So if you just fancy a glass of wine and an excellent dish of fresh pasta you can do this. We also like to visit for special occassions, we dress up and spend more. If you like good Italian food give it a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hooray the set menu is back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Minestrone soup was delicious! Good selection of main courses and all at a good price. Service was excellent and lovely ambience. Super to go in to the warm restaurant when it is so cold outside! Extension to the dining area works wonders - great improvement. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1951Teddy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst service ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had not tried La scala before and from the outside, it looks very nice. We were so disappointed with the food and service. We had not booked and were imediately treated as second class citizens and were told to sit in the front bar area. We had the cured meats for the starter which were ok except for the sloppy mushrooms. We ordered the trio of pasta to share (chef's special) and were amazed to find that there was no seafood or meat in any of the 3 dishes. After mentioning this to the staff, they offered to put some chicken on the top which understandably we didn't think was satisfactory. We were then presented with the bottle of wine we'd ordered however the bottle bore no resemblence to what we had actually picked from the list at £21.00. Embarrassingly, we were left with no choice but to question this. At this point, the management were even more defensive and confrontational. We have never had such an experience before and are generally very patient/understanding however we were left on edge, feeling that we had to have our wits about us in order to be treated fairly. The end result was that we agreed to disagree and left the restaurant. We were not asked to pay anything but overall the evening was very disappointing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing