We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge has upped its game!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Travelodge has upped its game!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have tended to go to Premier Inn over the last few years as we felt they had left Travelodge way behind them. However after this stay I would say 'watch out Premier Inn!' Our room was newly refurbished and very comfortable. The extra bed was already made when we arrived which is much nicer than having to do it yourself. The hotel is well situated for restaurants with lots of curry houses within walking distance as well as a Harvester and a Wetherspoons within a minute or two. We paid about half the price that Premier Inn was asking so we felt very satisfied!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    66
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
79
68
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night in July 2013. The hotel room itself was okay - nothing special at all (we didn't expect that), but fairly clean and enough space for the four of us (two adults and two young children).
The problem was the noise in the hotel. Firstly, we could hear the people walking in the room above us - that seemed to be just because the ceiling was so thin. That was nothing however compared to the noise we got from a fire door just outside our room. Every time somebody went through that door, it crashed against the wall of our room. I distinctly remember lying in bed at 0200, thinking "when will this ever stop....".
Well it eventually stopped about 0300, but it was a miserable night. I told the reception staff in the morning, who gave me the old "we haven't had that complaint before" excuse - which I don't believe at all. I would not stay here again, there have to be better options in Sutton Coldfield. (And I am not a "tough" reviewer - just look at my other reviews).

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear DanSteely, we want our customers to get a good night’s sleep when they stay with us so we are really sorry to learn about the disruption you experienced. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed at this Travelodge which has recently been " refreshed ". The beds are very comfortable and the whole place improved dramatically. Good Wetherspoons for breakfast nearby. Had evening meal at the Harvester, could be better. Parking free. The staff, at both check in and check out were very helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay here again when in the area. This Lodge shows how all Travelodges could be run. Well done to all the Staff. My only gripe is that Travelodge still charge for w--fi. Come on Travelodge this is 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnthebattery46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel has recenly been refurbished and was similar in quality to a Premier Inn (but at half the price).
The bedroom was very spacious and clean.
This is a good location with shops and plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have avoided travelodge in the past as they can be quite dated and uncomfortable beds. I have had to stay in a couple of there re furbished ones lately and the improvement and standard has dramatically improved in these, but can still vary from location to location. The one I recently stayed in was of a very high standard for the price and the bed was new, comfortable with new and comfortable pillows. I would recommend this location. I hope they can start to achieve this standard in all there hotels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed three nights at this hotel, spotless clean,very friendly staff, great bus service to town, nice quiet hotel. great value for money very good restaurants next door, enjoyed our stay. Will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having stayed in Travelodges up to 10 times a year without any problems I have had a nightmare experience - someone inside the travelodge tried to gain access to my room in the early hours of the night and kept knowing and trying to gain entry to my room until almost 5am. I was unable to go back to sleep because of concerns of safety for my children in the room and rate the stay at the SUTTON COLDFIELD TRAVELODGE worse than any of the places I have stayed in the outskirts of Bangladesh, S. India and Pakistan.............. dreadful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank CHRW1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We’re really concerned to learn of the issue you have raised CHRW1233. Your security and safety is of upmost importance to us, we strive to provide as safe an environment as is reasonably practicable. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
1.6 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,650 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Fort Dunlop
1.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Perry Barr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Address: B4142, Boldmere Road, Sutton Coldfield B73 5UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#5 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 2*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Travelodge Sutton Coldfield
Travel Lodge Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Travel Lodge
Sutton Coldfield Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing