We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent restaurant would recommend”
Review of Moxhull Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moxhull Hall
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant would recommend”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we booked the whole family for a meal for a birthday, the place is lovely and the service excellent, there was 9 of us and they were on the ball, food fantastic, I would recommend the steak, it was the size of the plate and cooked to perfection. Quality is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmitchell591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear JMitchell591

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening with us.

As long as you were well fed and looked after we are happy.

Thank you so much again and we hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    37
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
114
110
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

After getting married at Moxhull Hall nearly 3 years ago now, we have been back several times for special occasions and eaten in the Kristian's restaurant which has always been excellent.
So, i booked a table for my wife's 30th birthday with some of our closest friends attending as a surprise. First of all a special thanks to the very helpful lady on reception who had to contend with me changing the time and quantity of people of attending on more than one occasion !!!
I also asked if Tony (who managed our wedding and was outstanding) was going to be present that night to greet us. The lady on reception, spoke to Tony who confirmed he would be working (as there was a wedding on) and would happily come and say hello.
Trying to organise our friends attending, the time, where to park their cars (so my wife didn't notice them) !! was like a military operation but it all went to plan.
My wife and i arrived to be greeted by Tony and he remembered our favourite drink from our wedding day (Kir Royale) and had 2 glasses brough to us in the bar. Lovely touch and it was great to have a catch up with him. As we were sitting in the bar (i was a little nervous as i expected to see our friends in the bar to surpise her but no one to be seen) but then Tony came through with 2 of the couples much to my wifes surprise, then thinking that was it, another friend who had made a special journey appeared, so, it was smiles all round and the surprise was done to perfection, thankyou moxhull for your help.
We sat down and chose the 3 course dinner. The service, wine, food was outstanding as usual.
Nothing could be faulted. We all had a great evening in relaxing surroundings.
if you are thinking of having your wedding here or a special meal the do not hesitate to book, you will not regret it.
Thankyou Tony and Moxhull Hall for making my wifes 30th birthday such a special occasion.
We will see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieMoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Moxhull Hall for a second time to celebrate another special occasion. We so enjoy welcoming returning guests and love to hear that we live up to their expectations from a previous visit - not always easy after a wedding! We love to make an occasion however big or small a truly memorable occasion for everyone & do all we can to make this happen, including under cover operations! Usually it's the little details that people remember. Sending you sincere thanks for your wonderful feedback & we hope to see you back at Moxhull Hall again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I booked a night here shortly after enjoying the excesses of Las Vegas and its wildly decorated hotels. Just 10 minutes drive from his best friend, we had stayed at another Sutton Coldfield landmark, New Hall, last year, but Moxhull Hall had received such good reviews, we chose to stay here. Virgin Atlantic had failed to put my suitcase onboard in Las Vegas so when we landed in Heathrow on Saturday, I had only my small overnight bag with one change of clothing. VA failed to deliver it on the Sunday we were in London so I got them to courier it up to Sutton Coldfield (near Birmingham) on the Monday and the lovely receptionist called me to let me know it had arrived (ahead of us). Being near-empty on a Monday night, they upgraded us to room 104, a suite with a huge bedroom with sitting area, makeup desk and armoire, and separate, equally huge bathroom with a standalone bathtub which we never got the chance to use. Out for dinner, we missed the school prom event (and its noise) and we slept in until 9am, just making breakfast. This has the most gorgeous dining and living areas downstairs,d decorated in designer chocolate, caramel, vanilla, gold and and cream accents, set off by the massive leadlight windows which look onto the manicured gardens. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitrequisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Barry we are absolutely delighted that you and your guests enjoyed the wedding so much and we are thrilled to receive your wonderful review - thank you! We do all we can to make the wedding special not only for the happy couple but for the guests too and of course non more important than the parents! Offering good quality, tasty food and good service is a top priority for us so it's great to hear you felt we got this right. Yes, the gardens are the best they've ever been this year - the fabulous weather we've has really made the plants flourish. We sincerely thank you for posting your review - it means a great deal to us to know you enjoyed this special moment in your lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here recently for a cousins wedding.The hotel is lovely and set in very picturesque grounds. We were given an early check in which was a welcome bonus, however the receptionist was quite aloof and not particularly helpful. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and airy. Disappointing that there was no bottled water available in the rooms. The wedding was beautiful,and the ceremony took place outside,(some of the guests even got burn't!) This was followed by champagne and canapes, before a lavish wedding banquet, the quality and quantity was superb. Great band, followed by a disco and yet more food! Breakfast was good, usual cereal, orange juice and cooked breakfast. However was too full to appreciate it. Would reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petulamchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Petulamchuh

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate and respect your thoughts. We are most upset that you were dealt with in a aloof manner and we have dealt with the matter in house. It is something that we will not accept. If any staff member is unhelpful at Moxhull Hall there is a zero tolerance approach to it on our part. I apologise and rest assured it has been dealt with. The receptionist you refer to is normally excellent and obviously had a 'dip'. She understands what we allow and accepts our feedback.

We are glad though that you took time to give us feedback on the rest of the day and that is very pleasing and appreciated. We respect the balance and fairness in your review. We understand very well that we represent the couple to all their guests and we want it right every time.

Once again thank you and we hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On arrival at Moxhull Hall I found all staff too be super friendly and very efficient.
Our room was very clean, modern and contemporary.
After settling into our room, we went for a wander in the landscaped grounds, where the views are lovely.
The restaurant had a great atmosphere and the staff looked after us perfectly, we were spoilt for choice with the menu, and thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered.
We had a great time and will be back again soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, General Manager at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello Claire - thank you so much for taking the trouble to review us and of course for your positive feedback. For us an enjoyable stay for guests is about making them feel welcomed and looked after, offering comfortable accommodation, wholesome food and above all a high standard of service. So glad you were able to enjoy the gardens - they've been at their very best this year. Hope you can come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Having visited the top-class restaurant on many occasions and each a thoroughly enjoyable experience, we recently attended for a family wedding.
Upon arrival you are dealt with a warmth and professionalism that is rarely seen nowadays. Our rooms were immaculate, functional and extremely reasonably priced. With the weather on our side the day was an absolute pleasure. The food, the staff, the experience was a credit to the management. The attentiveness and quiet professionalism of all created a weekend stay that we will take away in our thoughts and treasure forever. Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timper760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Timper760

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it and it gives us real motivation to keep going. We have never assumed we are perfect and never will but it is so nice to hear off guests that feel positively about us.

We genuinely try and deliver a wedding day that our couples and guests can be proud of. We want a service that is understated but efficient. Food that is unpretentious and tasty in a venue that feels comfortable.

If you and the rest of guests are happy then so are we.

Please come and see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

During our overnight stay we strolled around the beautifully landscaped gardens at Moxhull Hall. The location is truly tranquil, yet only a short drive from Birmingham city centre.

The Victorian mansion has been renovated to a very high standard. The interior is contemporary and stylish. Our room was located in the house, which had stunning views of the gardens and was very peaceful. The room had a very large glass shower and was very spacious.

The hotels restaurant had a vibrant and relaxed atmosphere. The staff were attentive but not obtrusive. The meal was excellent and reasonably priced and highly recommend a visit!

I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay special, we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahR43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear SarahR43

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We really appreciate the feedback and I know you mentioned to our team that you were going to leave us feedback straight away.
I know there was a problem with your door and I hope you felt we dealt with it as quickly as was possible.
You also suggested that a business centre would be useful and it is one thing we are in the process of looking at as the current facilities are not ideal. It's so important that guests help us develop and your thoughts and recomendations are greatly appreciated.

Thank you and we hope we see you again very very soon. You review has really touched us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxhull Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxhull Hall

Property: Moxhull Hall
Address: Holly Lane, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moxhull Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moxhull Hall is a beautiful Victorian mansion, set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. It is the perfect venue for hosting weddings and a unique place for conferences, restaurant dining or overnight stays.Privately owned, the place is alive with warmth, hospitality and individual style. Original grandeur alongside modern, contemporary design gives Moxhull Hall a personality all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Moxhull Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxhull Hall Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing