We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Anniversary Meal”
Review of Moxhull Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moxhull Hall
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Excellent Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I visited Moxhull Hall for the first time since our wedding reception there in 1989. Boy has a lot changed! We were warmly greeted by the lovely lady and shown into the bar area. We were quickly shown to our table and were served an excellent 4 course meal by delightful and attentive waiting staff. The food was really enjoyable and was very fairly priced given the range and quality. If I was being picky I was probably expecting a slightly more cosy bar area/lounge but given that its a matter of personal taste its a really small observation. Now we have rediscovered it we will be back again - excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENGLANDMAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Englandman

Thank you for your very kind review. Your wedding took place well before we took over and we have made many changes. But we always felt Moxhull had that little something extra and I hope you feel we have respected it.

I am glad that you enjoyed the meal and felt it was fair value. For us that is vital.

We are refurbishing in January and the bar area is something we are focusing quite heavily on. The look at the moment (we feel) works but we agree that some slight adaptations will enhance it. The reception to the decor has been really positive from our guests but we never stand still. Physical limitations exist but we feel we can adapt it.

Most importantly we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed Moxhull. As a senior reviewer it's great to be compared favourably against our peers. Thank you so much or coming to see us.

Please come back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    36
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
114
109
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We got married at Moxhull in November and it was just the perfect day. We'd stayed there overnight on a couple of occasions before our wedding, and have eaten there many times as we are local to the hotel and in our opinion the food cannot be beaten. The staff are very friendly and provide excellent service with that personal touch. They took a lot of the stress out of our wedding day with the way they helped us leading up to the wedding, and how they looked after us on the day.

The day went without a hitch, and the food was simply gorgeous. We had 180 guests to the sit down meal and the quality of the food could not have been better. We received so many compliments from our guests on the food, even now they are still talking about it!

The hotel itself is stunning, it's modern and stylish inside, and surrounded by beautiful grounds. The rooms are lovely, stylish and spacious with very comfortable beds and luxurious bathrooms. The room we were given on our wedding night was amazing, the bathroom alone was bigger than our living room at home!

I truly cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and its staff. We had a wonderful wedding day and have already been back since for a visit, we can't stay away! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Charlie C

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you.

We know that you have been a customer of Moxhull Hall for many years now and were elated when you decided to have your wedding with us. We appreciated the faith you showed in us.

We never take our responsibility to our guests lightly and see looking after a wedding as a privilige. You friends and family were a pleasure to have at Moxhull Hall.

As long as you are happy then so are and we look forward to seeing you again very very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter got married here this week and Moxhull Hall lived up to all of our expectations, after being told how wonderful the hotel/staff/food etc are by the Bride & Groom!!

Everything was thought of, very friendly staff, even Gary introducing himself to me on the morning of the wedding, which was nice.

Lovely bedrooms, very accomadating reception staff. Waiting staff were very polite & the barman during the day was a hoot!!

All the staff are a credit to Moxhull Hall and you all made Em & Simons special day the BEST day!

Food was lovely, breakfast was huge & lots of choices.

Well done Moxhull!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffeA_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear SteffeA

Thank you so much for your very knid feedback. We needed to feel a bit better about ourselves after our previous review!

Most importantly we are so glad that you are happy and that Em and Simon got the day they deserved. We genuinely love being part of any wedding day. The job becomes so pleasurable for us when we are dealing with a lovely group of guests. It is so very easy to keep the team motivated so thank you for that.

Our barmen is a real character and we do get great feedback about him. He loves people and it shows. We are lucky to have him and appreciate his energy. All the team loved looking after you and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you so much again and we hope we see you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed overnight here, after a wedding, for bed and breakfast. We stayed in one of the cottages, which we shared with friends, my wife and I had the pull out bed settee style bed and it was aweful and very, very, uncomfortable, we didn't get any sleep whatsoever.
The breakfast was well overcooked, in fact the sausages were burnt and appeared like they had been cooked some days before.
You would think, that for £145.00 per night, they could do better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, July 21, 2016
Thank you for your review. Sofa beds are designed to take people upto 16 stone. You admitted that you weighed more than that. We were not aware that four adults were booked in the room. We thought there were two adults and two children which is highlighted quite clearly on booking the room. £145 inc VAT and full English breakfast for a room that has two lounges, bedroom and a garden is reasonable. Your comments about the breakfast are noted but to imply that we keep cooked sausages for days is insulting and we would never risk the health of our guests. Reading your other reviews it appears that you look only for negatives and it is really sad to us. A suggestion would be to say something while you are at the place you would be amazed how many places would love to help and you would be really happy. Keep well and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming, which after our bad experience in another hotel the night before, made a welcome change/relief.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable to the point of being luxurious, and we had a delightful view - the grounds being stunning.
The room was very clean and had many little touches which made our stay extra special.
The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and we had one of the best nights sleep ever.
Breakfast the following morning was excellent as was the greeting at reception and the service provided at breakfast.
This place has a very calm tranquil atmosphere, and is one of the most lovely hotels in which we have stayed.
I cannot praise this hotel highly enough and most certainly would use again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor at the end of the corridor and would ask for this room again. Having said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheatece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Wheatece

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are glad that you felt Moxhull Hall gave you a good nights sleep.

It really pleases us that the staff and food were to your liking and most importantly that we will hopefully see you again. We really try and do our job properly and never assume that we are perfect. In January we are having a full refurbishment throughout the hotel and I feel we will be moving forward and to another level as a venue. Please do come and see us again very soon and once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We got married here in 2011 and my birthday is the 1st time we have had chance to come back. We were not dissapointed it was truly amazing. We ordered in the bar area and were then moved into the dining room to our table. My husband had the Moules Marinere and very kindly he let me try some and it was fantastic as were my goregous scallops of the day! For main we both had the Fillet Steak both medium rare and cooked to perfection. I'm not quite sure how anyone could say differently! I had the chunky chips (which were better than the skinny ones which my hubby chose ;)) and red wine jus. I am still dreaming about it now. Then Creme Brulee to finish. Completely wonderful. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molemWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Molemwalsall

Firstly happy birthday!!

It is so good that you came back to see us again and enjoyed your birthday meal. As you know we love seeing our couples again and we never forget that you our part of our history. Thank you so much again for your lovely feedback and please come and see us again very very soon. The doors are always open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I were being treated to dinner here by our daughter and her photographer partner - a fellow "foodie" with yours truly. He had been here taking pictures of happy couples on their wedding days on several occasions over the last year and obviously rated the dining very highly.

The venue did not disappoint. The entrance is via a short drive with immaculately manicured gardens either side in to a small forecourt parking area with further parking beyond and a grand double-door entrance way in to a small reception and welcome area.

The bar and dining room are just off this area to the left and on entering, you cannot fail to relax in to the atmosphere created by the subtle use of colour - dark browns, black, tans and beiges with wonderfully comfortable armchairs. It was a pity about the large screen TV on the end wall, but thankfully the sound was off.

The decor in the dining room continued along this theme with some interesting contemporary artwork filling the long wall almost entirely. Yet somehow it was just right.

Having ordered from our table in the bar both drinks and food, we were called after a very short time in to our dining table. Although a little on the small side for four, the table was nicely although not exquisitely set, with cutlery and glasses of an inferior quality from that which I would expect at such an establishment. The seats - small armchairs - were very comfortable and it was good to see full-size, top quality linen napkins in use.

The two wines we ordered duly arrived and I was asked to taste the Chablis - not a good start - it was corked. It was however exchanged without any quibbles whatsoever by our charming young wine waitress who apologised profusely. Why don't wine serving personnel smell corks when removing them any more? And yes, it was a cork, not a screw-cap.

The starters arrived promptly thereafter - the pate beautifully presented on a wooden platter with onion marmalade and the King Prawns in thai green curry in deep bowls with coriander sprout garnish. Both were faultless. But, just a small point - why are they so mean with the offering of bread? Just one roll each was brought, but more was forthcoming on request - and that too was delicious, probably home made or at the least home-baked.

The main courses of Rack of Lamb, Sea Bass and Chicken Breast were all absolutely delicious. The flavours were superb and whoever decided to accompany rack of lamb with a small pot of exquisite lamb hotpot deserves a medal! It was fabulous. All accompanied by a good selection of seasonal vegetables cooked simply and al dente.

I wished I had plumped for a sweet as opposed to the cheeseboard. My fellow diners were in dessert heaven with their creme brulee and chocolate brownie choices. I felt a little miffed that the cheese offering, at a supplement of £3.50, was three quite miserly slices of cheddar, port salut and stilton with a small pot of Branston, a few grapes and stlicks of celery. Come on chaps, you can do better than this surely if only to justify that extraordinary (unnecessary) supplement.

Service throughout was attentive, courteous and unobtrusive - just as it should be and on leaving we were lucky enough to be introduced to two young chefs who had just clocked off. I hope we made it clear just how thoroughly and justifiably proud they could be about the food they presented to us that evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxhull Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxhull Hall

Property: Moxhull Hall
Address: Holly Lane, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moxhull Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moxhull Hall is a beautiful Victorian mansion, set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. It is the perfect venue for hosting weddings and a unique place for conferences, restaurant dining or overnight stays.Privately owned, the place is alive with warmth, hospitality and individual style. Original grandeur alongside modern, contemporary design gives Moxhull Hall a personality all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Moxhull Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxhull Hall Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing