We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moxhull Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moxhull Hall
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming, which after our bad experience in another hotel the night before, made a welcome change/relief.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable to the point of being luxurious, and we had a delightful view - the grounds being stunning.
The room was very clean and had many little touches which made our stay extra special.
The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and we had one of the best nights sleep ever.
Breakfast the following morning was excellent as was the greeting at reception and the service provided at breakfast.
This place has a very calm tranquil atmosphere, and is one of the most lovely hotels in which we have stayed.
I cannot praise this hotel highly enough and most certainly would use again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor at the end of the corridor and would ask for this room again. Having said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheatece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Wheatece

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are glad that you felt Moxhull Hall gave you a good nights sleep.

It really pleases us that the staff and food were to your liking and most importantly that we will hopefully see you again. We really try and do our job properly and never assume that we are perfect. In January we are having a full refurbishment throughout the hotel and I feel we will be moving forward and to another level as a venue. Please do come and see us again very soon and once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    35
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
109
108
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We got married here in 2011 and my birthday is the 1st time we have had chance to come back. We were not dissapointed it was truly amazing. We ordered in the bar area and were then moved into the dining room to our table. My husband had the Moules Marinere and very kindly he let me try some and it was fantastic as were my goregous scallops of the day! For main we both had the Fillet Steak both medium rare and cooked to perfection. I'm not quite sure how anyone could say differently! I had the chunky chips (which were better than the skinny ones which my hubby chose ;)) and red wine jus. I am still dreaming about it now. Then Creme Brulee to finish. Completely wonderful. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molemWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Molemwalsall

Firstly happy birthday!!

It is so good that you came back to see us again and enjoyed your birthday meal. As you know we love seeing our couples again and we never forget that you our part of our history. Thank you so much again for your lovely feedback and please come and see us again very very soon. The doors are always open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I were being treated to dinner here by our daughter and her photographer partner - a fellow "foodie" with yours truly. He had been here taking pictures of happy couples on their wedding days on several occasions over the last year and obviously rated the dining very highly.

The venue did not disappoint. The entrance is via a short drive with immaculately manicured gardens either side in to a small forecourt parking area with further parking beyond and a grand double-door entrance way in to a small reception and welcome area.

The bar and dining room are just off this area to the left and on entering, you cannot fail to relax in to the atmosphere created by the subtle use of colour - dark browns, black, tans and beiges with wonderfully comfortable armchairs. It was a pity about the large screen TV on the end wall, but thankfully the sound was off.

The decor in the dining room continued along this theme with some interesting contemporary artwork filling the long wall almost entirely. Yet somehow it was just right.

Having ordered from our table in the bar both drinks and food, we were called after a very short time in to our dining table. Although a little on the small side for four, the table was nicely although not exquisitely set, with cutlery and glasses of an inferior quality from that which I would expect at such an establishment. The seats - small armchairs - were very comfortable and it was good to see full-size, top quality linen napkins in use.

The two wines we ordered duly arrived and I was asked to taste the Chablis - not a good start - it was corked. It was however exchanged without any quibbles whatsoever by our charming young wine waitress who apologised profusely. Why don't wine serving personnel smell corks when removing them any more? And yes, it was a cork, not a screw-cap.

The starters arrived promptly thereafter - the pate beautifully presented on a wooden platter with onion marmalade and the King Prawns in thai green curry in deep bowls with coriander sprout garnish. Both were faultless. But, just a small point - why are they so mean with the offering of bread? Just one roll each was brought, but more was forthcoming on request - and that too was delicious, probably home made or at the least home-baked.

The main courses of Rack of Lamb, Sea Bass and Chicken Breast were all absolutely delicious. The flavours were superb and whoever decided to accompany rack of lamb with a small pot of exquisite lamb hotpot deserves a medal! It was fabulous. All accompanied by a good selection of seasonal vegetables cooked simply and al dente.

I wished I had plumped for a sweet as opposed to the cheeseboard. My fellow diners were in dessert heaven with their creme brulee and chocolate brownie choices. I felt a little miffed that the cheese offering, at a supplement of £3.50, was three quite miserly slices of cheddar, port salut and stilton with a small pot of Branston, a few grapes and stlicks of celery. Come on chaps, you can do better than this surely if only to justify that extraordinary (unnecessary) supplement.

Service throughout was attentive, courteous and unobtrusive - just as it should be and on leaving we were lucky enough to be introduced to two young chefs who had just clocked off. I hope we made it clear just how thoroughly and justifiably proud they could be about the food they presented to us that evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Attended a wedding here and felt the whole experience was wonderful. The Food was excellent. We had the beef wellington as the main and it was spot on!! Big portions,which was great to see. Fresh veg and plenty of it!! I will look to dine here more often!!

Well Done

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iarelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Iarelf

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is so important that at any wedding the guests are well fed!

We represent the couple and understand how important it is that we look after each and every guest. We really appreciate the time taken to leave us your feedback. It is nice to know that we are on the right path but rest assured we do not take it for granted. Please come and see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have not stayed at he hotel but eaten here several times, each time has been very enjoyable & feel it is good value for money. Beautiful restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere. Service was generally satisfactory . The hotel is very busy with weddings however this doe not impact into the restaurant or your dining experience, fully recommend as for us we find restaurant of this quality a struggle in the local area

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I arranged a meal in the restaurant for 4 of us to celebrate my husband and my 25th wedding anniversary. We had never been to Moxhull Hall before but I wanted it to be special and we were not disappointed. The day we booked for was the day after a particularly heavy snowfall but even so I was surprised to get a very friendly phone call in the morning from Lisa not only to check if we were still coming but to wish us a safe trip.

From arrival to leaving everything was exceptional. The service was efficient and friendly but very professional. The meal was beautifully presented and just wonderfully delicious and the whole evening was outstanding value for money. The ambience of the restaurant is also just right and I particularly enjoyed being able to have coffee after the meal away from the table in the lounge area. Everything was very relaxed, nothing seemed too much trouble and yes a return visit will be made, more than once I suspect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Julia360

Thank you for lovely review and congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary. We are so happy that we gave you the celebration you deserved. It is really pleasing for us that you feel so positively about the experience in the restaurant. We want a calm relaxed environment that our guests feel comfortable in. Most importantly If you are happy then so are we.

Congratulations again and we hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went with some friends for a meal last night at Kristian's restaurant. We have been there many times over the years and their standards seem to go up and up. The decor, atmosphere and service are second to none and nothing is too much trouble for Chris. Their meals are not only fantastic value for money but exquisitely prepared and presented and never disappoint.The staff, from the receptionist, to the barman and the waitresses are welcoming and friendly. This is true gem within the West Midlands and long may they continue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Eil

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are really very touched.
We are so glad that you feel that Moxhull is a 'gem'. We work hard at getting it right and never take our custom for granted. We try and employ individuals that have a caring nature in their make up. We are glad that you get a sense of that from us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxhull Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxhull Hall

Property: Moxhull Hall
Address: Holly Lane, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moxhull Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moxhull Hall is a beautiful Victorian mansion, set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. It is the perfect venue for hosting weddings and a unique place for conferences, restaurant dining or overnight stays.Privately owned, the place is alive with warmth, hospitality and individual style. Original grandeur alongside modern, contemporary design gives Moxhull Hall a personality all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Moxhull Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxhull Hall Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing