We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding”
Review of Moxhull Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moxhull Hall
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Attended a wedding here and felt the whole experience was wonderful. The Food was excellent. We had the beef wellington as the main and it was spot on!! Big portions,which was great to see. Fresh veg and plenty of it!! I will look to dine here more often!!

Well Done

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iarelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Iarelf

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is so important that at any wedding the guests are well fed!

We represent the couple and understand how important it is that we look after each and every guest. We really appreciate the time taken to leave us your feedback. It is nice to know that we are on the right path but rest assured we do not take it for granted. Please come and see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Moxhull Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 412 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have not stayed at he hotel but eaten here several times, each time has been very enjoyable & feel it is good value for money. Beautiful restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere. Service was generally satisfactory . The hotel is very busy with weddings however this doe not impact into the restaurant or your dining experience, fully recommend as for us we find restaurant of this quality a struggle in the local area

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bobbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I arranged a meal in the restaurant for 4 of us to celebrate my husband and my 25th wedding anniversary. We had never been to Moxhull Hall before but I wanted it to be special and we were not disappointed. The day we booked for was the day after a particularly heavy snowfall but even so I was surprised to get a very friendly phone call in the morning from Lisa not only to check if we were still coming but to wish us a safe trip.

From arrival to leaving everything was exceptional. The service was efficient and friendly but very professional. The meal was beautifully presented and just wonderfully delicious and the whole evening was outstanding value for money. The ambience of the restaurant is also just right and I particularly enjoyed being able to have coffee after the meal away from the table in the lounge area. Everything was very relaxed, nothing seemed too much trouble and yes a return visit will be made, more than once I suspect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Julia360

Thank you for lovely review and congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary. We are so happy that we gave you the celebration you deserved. It is really pleasing for us that you feel so positively about the experience in the restaurant. We want a calm relaxed environment that our guests feel comfortable in. Most importantly If you are happy then so are we.

Congratulations again and we hope we see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went with some friends for a meal last night at Kristian's restaurant. We have been there many times over the years and their standards seem to go up and up. The decor, atmosphere and service are second to none and nothing is too much trouble for Chris. Their meals are not only fantastic value for money but exquisitely prepared and presented and never disappoint.The staff, from the receptionist, to the barman and the waitresses are welcoming and friendly. This is true gem within the West Midlands and long may they continue.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank eil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Eil

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are really very touched.
We are so glad that you feel that Moxhull is a 'gem'. We work hard at getting it right and never take our custom for granted. We try and employ individuals that have a caring nature in their make up. We are glad that you get a sense of that from us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was beautifully and imaginatively restored some years ago from the mess the previous owner allowed it to get into. I live locally and eat there perhaps 10 times a year. Decor and service are good. The fixed price menu is very good value and the choice is always wide with a few pay extra steaks etc (only criticism of the steaks is that they seem incapable of cooking a steak less than medium rare. In desparation on saturday I asked for 'blue', the very centre was perhaps rare but overall between medium and medium rare. Perhaps a Suis Vide cooker might help or butterflying the steaks, not sure, I am not the chef!) Anyway, criticism over, it was another good night.
Worth a visit if only to see the fab marble hallway and genuine original Adam fireplace that is very cleverly incorporated in the bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Dave M

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you have seen the changes over the years and feel that everything is for the better. We are glad that you feel the menu is varied and offers fair value.

In terms of the steak we do take on board your comments. I know Andreas is always trying to aquire a standard that suits all our guests. We accept your thoughts on the way the steaks are cooked. We could not sell a steak that has been been seared for 30 seconds on the outside only in a piping hot pan as anything else but a blue steak nevertheless we take on board your comments and learn from them. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked this Hotel after reading some really good reviews about it and I am so pleased that we stayed here, from start to finish it was FAB!!!

We had a lovely room (104) the decor, bed, bathroom and views were all stunning, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the food was very good and the service was quick and efficient.

The price point is spot on.

We loved this Hotel and we stay in many, Moxhull Hall seem to get it SO right without being pretentious, it feels ilke home from home, we will be back!!

Room Tip: room 104 is the one in my photos - its a FAB room!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnBouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Bonnbouche

Thank you so much for your feedback. As a senior contributor we are very pleased that you felt Moxhull Hall delivered. We are particularly pleased that you felt our price point is fair. It is important that our customers feel they get value.

Most importantly if you enjoyed yourself and then we are happy. Once again thank you and it was a pleasure having you at Moxhull Hall. Please do come and see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Situated in an idyllic spot and the perfect wedding venue. The wedding we attended was delightful in all respects, the setting , the food was wonderful and the staff so helpful and obliging. We had a great day and evening followed by a nights stay in lovely large and spacious room and ensuite walk in shower and large bath the views from bedroom window were lovely. The breakfast was great and I can't fail to recommend Moxhull Hall for anyone planning a wedding or any one wanting a hotel in the area

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms are fine we had 108 and it was lovely quite and peaceful
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkalavanas, Owner at Moxhull Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Rosie194

As a tripadvisor top contibutor we are elated with your very kind feedback. It means so much to us that you were pleased. Beng compared so favourably against our peers in the industry is very positive for us and gives us all real motivation to keep on the path we are on.

Most importantly, you are happy with the wedding you attended. We take our responsibilty to the couple very seriously. The wedding day is for the familty and guests as well as the couple and we are perpetually reaffirming this to our staff.

If you are happy then so are we. We hope we see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
2.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,709 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
854 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,972 reviews
8.1 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxhull Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxhull Hall

Address: Holly Lane, Sutton Coldfield B76 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#1 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: $164 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moxhull Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moxhull Hall is a beautiful Victorian mansion, set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. It is the perfect venue for hosting weddings and a unique place for conferences, restaurant dining or overnight stays.Privately owned, the place is alive with warmth, hospitality and individual style. Original grandeur alongside modern, contemporary design gives Moxhull Hall a personality all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moxhull Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxhull Hall Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing