We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed here at the end of July, as it was the closest place to stay to enable us to attend a family function.

I was in slight trepidation having read earlier reviews, however, the staff were wonderful when at the last minute I infomred them that my 9 year old son would aslo be staying.

The checking out time of 2pm with breakfast served until 12 is very civilised and the breakfast was wonderful.

It is a bit of a warren, but that was part of the fun for our 9 year old.

I would definitely stay again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, Jed Weldon, Front Office Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, August 22, 2009
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay earlier this month at our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    358
    298
    241
    201
See reviews for
299
420
35
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

I've just returned from a pamper weekend with 2 of my friends, and to be honest can't beleive all the bad reviews about this hotel. Check in was faultless, the room was fine, clean and everything we needed, the staff we're very friendly and the food was lovely. The setting is very nice and the duck eat from our hands!!!! The pool area was also fine.

I book hotels for a living, and stay in lots throughout the year, and was very worried to read all the bad reviews before I went, but honestly I can't complain about anything really. It's a 3* hotel, and that's what you get.

I think it's the place for weddings though as there had to be about 5 over the weekend!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle&Hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Checked in with a pleasant receptionist, however then the fun started looking for our room - we trudged along corridors and up stairs and eventually found our rooms. The room smelled as soon as you opened the door and the bathroom was filthy - it hadn't had a good clean for ages - dirty toilet (which I mentioned to reception and on return to our room some blue stuff had been put down the loo which took some of the muck off but not all) dirt around the taps on the sink and bath, the sink when filled with water took forever to empty and there was hair in the bath need I go on.

We thought we would go and have a look at the Seb Coe Leisure Centre - and on the walk down to the centre through a walk way that hadn't had a clean for ages and also smelt. We didn't bother to use the leisure centre and if I was Seb Coe I would be very careful about what I put my name to - does he not do spot checks?

Also, people who smoke stood outside the hotel entrance and the smoke made its way back into the hotel.

Have we got anything good to say - well the breakfast was good and we had one evening meal which was okay - the waitress and waiters were friendly enough.

Why can't management get a grip and give the hotel a really good clean and update.

We will not be staying there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, Front Office Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to hear about your experiences and perceptions of the hotel.

It is safe to say that we have extensive grounds of which the hotel corridors are built into. I would hope that you had the opportunity to view and take in the lake and grounds during your stay.

As with all feedback, for any action to be taken, we would need specific room details to be able to pinpoint any housekeeping shortfalls.

You may be interested to know that in the past 3 weeks we have appointed a new Head of Housekeeping and housekeeping supervisor. We have already seen the benefits of this new appointment at the hotel.

As with all guest experiences, we would very much appreciate the opportunity to rectify any shortfalls in service. Please contact fo.birmingham@ramadajarvis.co.uk should you wish to speak to us.

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share feedback and hope to hear from you in the not so distant future.


Kind regards,


Jed Weldon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

This hotel has definately seen better days. After trekking to the room through several different corridors we struggled to open the door as it was sticking. The decor was ok, but tired, the carpet was heavily worn and the bathroom was old, dirty and had a over-powering damp smell. The shower was pathetic and the control area was shoved into a hole in the wall which hadn't been properly filled. Our room was also next to a generator which hummed all night and the mattress was so creaky that it woke us up every time we turned over. We were completely exhausted by the following morning. I stay in a lot of hotels and I don't consider myself to be fussy, but this is one of the worst I have stayed in for some time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller7358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed here to attend a wedding over the bank holiday weekend and were most disappointed with the room, the facilities for the wedding were very good and the setting on the lake was very nice but these were all let down by our awful room, after reading other reviews we didnt expect much and weren't disappointed in that sense! We didn't mind having to trek to the room but we noticed the decor deteriorate walking along the corridors, once inside we felt liked we had walked into a room from the seventies with the carpet and wallpaper having never been changed, the carpet was filthy, the bed sheet didn't even cover the whole bed exposing a small part of the dirty mattress which was something we really didnt need to see and unfortunately the quilt cover wasn't fastened around the welcoming light and in places, dark brown coloured quilt. The rest of the decor was either filthy or damaged but at least it had a flat screen tv, hooray! Anyway to top the stay off our room was located next to a generator which made a constant whine that was obviously louder at night (we later found out we weren't the only ones to hear it). We hurriedly left the room the next morning with some serious black shadows under our eyes but made time to sample the buffet breakfast which was a small highlight of a dreadful stay....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

Very nice Hotel by the lake. Lovely breakfast and fast wifi. Suited me down to the ground.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tridenttravelleror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield on 10/11 April. We chose this hotel as it was the one nearest to the wedding that we were going to that weekend and their website made it look lovely.

Before we went we read the reviews on TripAdvisor and were a little concerned as there weren't that many recent good reviews.

Upon arrival the receptionist wasn't the most welcoming of people however he was informative and checked us in quickly and without any problems.

Our room was 5103 which was an executive suite. It was a short distance from reception, bar and dining room, however there were some steps to go down with our suitcase - good job my finance could carry it!

The room was quite large, a lovely large mirror when you walked in (although not enough light to use it to put your make-up on). The bathroom was a good size but it only had a shower and no bath - which didn't bother us as we're not really bath people. I did notice a little bit of mould on the shower door which could have done with a wipe down. The bed was nice and comfy and there were spare pillows above the wardrobe if needed. The sheet was a tad on the small side though and came untucked and all ruffled after being slept on.

The view out of our room was lovely - it looked across the pretty lake to the Seb Coe gym/swimming pool. It was lovely and quiet and couldn't hear anything from the rooms either side. The ducks and geese were lovely, although quacking at 7am in the morning they weren't quite so attractive!!

The food in the hotel was good. We had an evening meal there on the Friday night - I had pan-fried fillet of beef with not an ounce of fat on it - scrummy. The breakfast on the Saturday morning was just as good and everything was piping hot. On Sunday morning however the breakfast wasn't so great - I think it was because the hotel was a lot busier (there had been a wedding there the previous night). The food was ok, just not as good as the morning before.

All in all we had a great stay and would definitely stay there again - I'd make a point of requesting the same room (5103).

Rachel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Su...
#4 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Property: Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Address: Walmley Penns Lane | Penns Lane Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing