We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 stars for a 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“3 stars for a 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

It does what it says on the tin! Having read some of the reviews on here I went with a little trepidation. The parking was great - plenty of it - staff are very friendly and we were pleased to be offered a free upgrade to an "executive" room. The room was a very long way along corridors and up and down stairs. Room was fine but walls very thin so you could hear a lot of noise from people wandering the corridors which did disturb our sleep on both nights. We were off out for the day early so didn't have breakfast the next day and experienced a problem with room card on our return but this was soon rectified. We had breakfast on our day of departure which was very nice - only disappointment was only scrambled eggs on offer and they were very bland - other than that a good breakfast with plenty of choice of fruit cereal and pastries. Not bad value for money when booked through booking.com so overall a 3 star experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanoStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your 2 night stay with us at Ramada Sutton Coldfield.

I am delighted you had a pleasant experience with us overall and found your executive room to your liking, with breakfast being plentiful and the whole experience, value for money.

Can I take this opportunity to suggest you take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events and as you already know you can also upgrade to an executive room subject to availability to guarantee lake or garden views.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    358
    298
    241
    201
See reviews for
299
420
35
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a two night break at this hotel through Wyndham rewards as my husband chooses to stay in Ramada Hotels for business. We therefore decided to take our three small children away during half term. The booking was made via Wyndham rewards. When we arrived my husband checked in and there was some confusion as to what package we had. We were also unsure as this was done via the telephone and no confirmation had been sent by Wyndhams or Ramada. After three (very nice) members of staff had a discussion they all decided we were on a bed and breakfast deal. The following morning on arriving at the restaurant for breakfast the gentleman at the door informed us we were on room only basis, after we queried as we had been told differently by reception staff at check in, he phoned through and checked with reception and was again told, yes breakfast was included. The following morning we arrived for breakfast and were shown to a table. We had started breakfast to be interrupted and told that we were room only and that we would have to pay for breakfast. We decided at this point (after consuming one bowl of fruit and a cup of tea) that we did not want to pay an extortionate amount of money for breakfast and that we would leave. We were introduced to Sebastian, the Operational Manager who obviously had not even consulted with his staff members and did not know the full story and told us we would have to pay for breakfast. We then had a heated discussion with this gentleman in front of our three children as he was happy to let four members of his staff tell us breakfast was included and then half way through our breakfast tell us we had to pay. This is clearly Ramada at fault yet we were made to feel like petty criminals. Sebastian wanted to charge us for the bowl of fruit and tea however my husband told him we would not pay as we were not at fault. We had asked and asked and asked and FOUR staff members had confirmed breakfast was included!!. We therefore checked out and nothing was mentioned on check out. On arriving home we had a poorly worded letter from Sebastian telling us we were not welcome in this hotel again as we had £12 arrears. A sad, cowardly response as the opportunity was there to address this at check out. Absolutely shocking behaviour for a world wide chain of hotels and to add to this the room we stayed in the carpets hadn't seen a vaccuum cleaner in quite some time, EVERY single floor board creaked (not good in a family room with a four month old child), the room was next to a storage cupboard which was in use constantly throughout the night, and the staff using it were not worried about waking anyone up with noise and the bed sheets were blood stained...............We will happily never return to this hotel and would warn anyone booking to triple check what tarriff they are on as they obviously change their minds depending on what day of the week it is or what member of staff is on duty. My husband also will now not be staying in Ramada Hotels for business. Thank you Ramada for ruining the end of a lovely family holiday. The children had been looking forward to using the swimming pool however we decided to leave as we were made to feel so uncomfortable.!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, Operations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest, (forgive us for not addressing you by name, we know who you are, however trip does not allow this)

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

I am aware that we have already been in communication regarding your specific stay at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and a letter has been sent to you accordingly regarding this matter. We would disagree with the sentiments of your report and remain of the opinion that there is an outstanding charge to be addressed. Our position overall remains unchanged.

Yours sincerely

Sebastien Peltiez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just home from another lovely stay.
Staff very helpful and can't do enough.
breakfast and food in the restaurant is yummy.
Our third stay in six months and will def be returning.
Use of the health club is a great added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your recent positive stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and for giving us such a glowing report. We were delighted to hear that you had such a good time and we certainly look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards



Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel needs a complete refurbishment and better signage to the rooms.
The bedrooms are cheerless, the furniture is old and shabby and the beds are hard with cheap looking covers.
I was astonished to discover that the mattress cover and bottom sheet did not fit the bed, leaving the pillows to rest on the bare mattress. The room was stifling hot as elsewhere in the hotel and when I opened the bedroom window the noise from the generator made sleep impossible.
The bathroom smacked of the 1960s with a small bath and overhead shower that took some time for the water to reach a decent temperature. The shower water pressure was very weak. Plastic shower curtains should be replaced by hygienic modern glass shower screens. The inner door handle to the bathroom door was missing and had been left on the windowsill. Luckily for me I was my own and did not need to close the door. The lino flooring had started to come away from the skirting boards.
To boil the kettle it was necessary to place the kettle behind the TV because the flex was too short to reach the socket. For safety reasons the socket should have been placed under the dressing table mirror.
Breakfast was disappointing, I had to ask for the hot plates to be replenished and the tea and coffee was insufficient for the number of guests.
However, the staff in all areas of the hotel were friendly and helpful and deserve a better product to offer the customer. The level of cleanliness was acceptable.
It is sad to think that in 2013, some UK hotels still believe that that they only have to offer minimum standards to a transient client base. Having stayed in many Ramada hotels worldwide, I was saddened to find the worst experience was in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happilyretired_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectation in some areas.

I concur that some aspects of the property would benefit from investment. We are a 3 star mid-market hotel committed to ensuring rooms are clean and well maintained, and our team is friendly and welcoming. However, what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, free car parking, extensive leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place def needs a facelift- a bit of investment and this place has great potential. Great staff- v attentive both front of house, bar & restaurant. Amazing breakfast, great setting overlooking a lake. Signposting to rooms & spa need improving- quite an odd lay out of corridoors and stairs. Decor in room def needs tidying up but rooms spotless, beds comfy, plenty of hot water for a bath. Spa pleasant & clean but again in need of freshening up decor-wise.
A bargain Groupon Deal though would def go back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay with us at Ramada Sutton Coldfield.

I am delighted you had a pleasant experience with us overall. I sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff being friendly and I am glad you found breakfast amazing!

Can I take this opportunity to suggest that when you choose to stay at the hotel again, take a moment to follow our hotel Facebook and Twitter accounts to hear of offers, team news and community events. Do remember you can also upgrade to an executive room subject to availability to guarantee lake or garden views.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this hotel as our children, for my Husbands 60th Birthday bought him a buy a gift voucher. The room for 2 nights bed and breakfast cost over £170.00 for Friday and Saturday night. On arrival the grounds as promised were beautiful and we were booked in fairly quickly by reception. We were allocated a room on the 1st floor, the corridors had a musty smell with chipped paint, dirty carpets and were very dark. We then entered the room and i was actually in shock.It bore no resemblance to the website.Tiny,old patterened dirty carpet, chipped paint. the most uncomfortable hard bed that creaked with every movement, creaking floorboards, a headboard that was so old there was a radio tuner attached. The bathroom entered through 2 doors was tiny in width and consisted of linoleum flooring. a pink 1980's bath and basin with old taps and a white unmatching toilet. The window,overlooking a roof with generators making a constant noise was not double glazed and filthy with flies on the sill and an old dirty net curtain. We complained immediately and were told that only 1 other room was
available and that was in no better state than the one allocated.
I would not recommend the bar, dirty with stale smell and dirty chairs, and a group of noisy bawdy workmen watching football, a glass of wine and beer £8.25!
The restaurant was a little better only very dark, chair arm lifted off one of the chairs.Breakfast ok.
Did not use pool or leisure area, looked pleasant from outside.
This hotel certainly does not deserve 3 stars, it is in need of total refurbishment and we were totally mis-lead by the web-site, we are not moaners, we stay in B&Bs travelodge and premier inns, all are palaces by comparison,whole experience was so bad we left the following day, no doubt freeing up the room for another unsuspecting guest and the ramada group benefitting from double rates!

Room Tip: We were at the front of hotel above generators, can'tremember number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to note your observations following your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield.

Please be assured that our aim is to not only meet but exceed expectations and I am sorry if on this occasion we fell short . Our team is genuinely friendly and accommodating and strives to ensure each guest experience is the best that it can be.

I appreciate you sharing your observations and advising of your concern regarding cleanliness of the rooms and apologise for the shortcomings identified. Following your feedback all rooms are being checked to ensure our usual high standards are met, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had read some negative reviews and was a little worried as we got a superb deal in a suite for two nights. Needn't have worried, although the room was a long walk from reception, one lift and various stairs and corridors, it was a nice, spacious room. Lovely Japanese shower, comfortable bed. The down points were the TV (movies and internet were included in the package) didn't work properly, no movies, we were told it was an outside company who needed to deal with it and that they would be in contact, but they didn't. However, they did deduct £20 from our bill as a gesture of goodwill.
Breakfast was nice, abundance of muffins, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts. Then the usual cooked and cereal choices.
The swimming pool and spa is opening late and it was warm for our two year old. We didn't get a chance to try out the other amenities in there sadly but all looked nice and well maintained.
All in all a nice stay.

Room Tip: The suites are very roomy with a quiet view onto the gardens (room 5005)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tshukuduky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent 2 night stay here at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, and we are most appreciative of your positive report.

I am so glad you liked your suite and enjoyed your breakfast and I gather you were able to take a moment to enjoy the swimming pool, hopefully next time you can try out the other amenities of our leisure club facilities! I am pleased that all in all, you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do look forward to being of service to you again in the future and remember, subject to availability you can request an upgrade to an executive room. Please take a look at and 'like' our Facebook page at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield to keep abreast of news and offers we have throughout the year

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Su...
#4 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Property: Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Address: Walmley Penns Lane | Penns Lane Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing