We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Room clean and spacious.
Cot for the room was not there as per my booking- had to call to chase.
Breakfast was excellent, Jamie in the restaurant looked after us well as usual.
Leisure facilities were adequate, featuring a small children/ babies pool, sauna, steam room, Gym and onsite spa and hair salon (extra charges)

Room Tip: One in the main hotel and not the mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent experience at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and are delighted that your overall stay was positive. In particular, Jamie was pleased to receive your comments, and all the team will continue to ensure our guests receive a warm welcome.

We are also happy to note that you enjoyed the breakfast and that you and your family were able to make good use of our leisure facilities.

Don't forget to 'like' us on Facebook to keep abreast of news and future offers and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    369
    314
    258
    211
See reviews for
321
438
36
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here last week for an over nighter whilst on a business trip, I am about to join in the tens of other reviews that complain about the shabby rooms. I know the manager has come back previosuly admitting that the rooms could do with some TLC and that they are afterall only a 3 star accomodation but some of the previous reviews go back 4 years or so and it seems to me that nothing has changed. I usually stay at Premier Inns, they are cheap and clean and you know what you are getting, I paid £75 to stay at this Ramada hotel and it should never have happened and wont again. The staff where pleasant enough and on the whole the hotel reception and bar areas are fine, I wont complain like other people about the distance of rooms because this is only due to the nature of the hotel layout over the years. I wouldnt say my room was very dirty but just a little shabby and tired, the radiator kept me awake all night because it clanked and clonked! The decor was old but rooms well equipped, the hotel is not worth £75 pe rnight, more like £45 per night for which I would stay again. Oh and the bar is expensive and no matter what the manageress says regarding the prices being competitve, they are not, I stay in hotels every week and this is one of the most expensive to have a drink in. One more thing to mention is that the hotel is generally noisey at night due to the amount of weddings etc that the hotel caters for so if you are looking for a bite to eat, a few drinks and a decent sleep before work the next day dont bother, and if you do get to bed take ear plugs because the radiator next to your bed will keep you alert for most of the night, oh or the fan in the bathroom, oh or the famous light under the doors! good luck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to record your views on your recent experience whilst staying at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield. I am sorry to learn that despite your acknowledged friendliness of the team and cleanliness of the property, both of which are key in ensuring a pleasant stay, your over riding impression is not to return. You kindly note that we respond to all comments left on this site, and generally by doing so, future guests appreciate our honesty and acknowledgement that as a three star, mid market hotel, we are what we are in terms of current decor. Our in house painter and decorator works on a continual cycle to update rooms.

We would recommend guests do not choose to leave their bathroom light on, as indeed the extract fan is connected to the same, to aid in the removal of steam and prevent build up of condensation and mold. I do hope you mentioned the radiator rumble to reception, who would have quickly checked this and altered the thermostatic valve to stop any noise.

With regards bar prices, we routinely compare these with other local comparable hotel establishments and they are much the same, however we will continue to monitor them. In addition, we have introduced great dining offers on Tuesday, Thursday and now Fridays, in which a tasty main meal includes a drink, for just £10.

Thank you once again for your feedback,

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lovely hotel with character.
Excellent food in a beautiful restaurant. Two course set meal very good value but some bar meals a little expensive.
Comfortable bar area.
Lots of facilities such as indoor pool & beauty parlour which I didn't have time to use.
Rooms I think vary. I was in room 208 which was OK. A little noisy due to the extractor fan outside possibly from the kitchen. Room seemed quite basic & a little cold.
Some rooms difficult to find when you first arrive as the hotel is a bit of a maze.
Staff all extrememly helpful & friendly.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that is away from the kitchen. Ask for directions from reception so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandMichele007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent stay at Ramada Sutton Coldfield, and we are delighted that your overall stay was positive. In particular the team appreciates your kind observation of their helpfulness and friendliness, and we are delighted that the restaurant and facilties met your expectations.

Whilst I do concur that the hotel has an unusual layout, having been developed over the years in a low rise style, I hope you understand that given our residential location, building up was not an option. Most rooms benefit from views over the lake or gardens, and are generally quiet with no passing traffic or external noise to disturb. Having a non-conforming traditional style can also be part of our appeal!

It is our hope to be able to serve you again in future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham ,England
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated in extensive wooded grounds with a lake, in the northern part of Birmingham. We had a dinner reservation at their restaurant and decided to stay overnight. We were not made to feel welcome on arrival - no smile, no welcoming words, just a stony-faced basic reception. No one forces anyone to become a hotel receptionist. The welcome one receives sets the scene for the whole stay, so a bad welcome is bad for the hotel. Dinner was good -we have favourably reviewed this restaurant before - but readers should note that prospective diners were being turned away until a later time even though the restaurant was less than one third full and was never more than half full all evening. Suggest you reserve! Our standard bedroom was clean but very dated, being all in pink and with a very old pink bathroom suite which must have been there for decades. When we turned in, we had to complain about noise from a party event in their function suite, and were moved to an "Executive" room at the far end of the building. This room was significantly better but I'm not sure it was worth an extra £20 per night if booked normally. The staff did apologize. Apparently we should have been told to expect some noise in that part of the building when functions are going on. Breakfast was a very good and comprehensive buffet, though the only eggs were scrambled. A mixed visit - some good some bad, but the worst aspect was reception on arrival and departure. N. B It's a large hotel and it may be worth a gamble to turn up late without a reservation - rates can be significantly below the standard advertised rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as it's a popular destination for functions which can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views on your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield. You also completed our online survey following your stay, and your observation regarding the lack of warmth from our receptionist was noted, resulting in an immediate follow up phone call from our reception manager in which she endeavoured to identify the colleague to ensure follow up coaching.

We are disappointed to note your positive restaurant experience was marred by an apparent lack of desire to welcome more guests, and we do appreciate that private events taking place in 5 suites are not visible to restaurant diners, who may then perceive the hotel is not busy and any paced seating to ensure no delays in preparing food, unnecessary. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast too, and can confirm fried, poached and other eggs are available by ordering, from the team as these tend to deteriorate quickly under heat lamps. We will ensure the team are consistent in offering additional items and fully explaining service.

We look forward to being of service in the future, and thank you once again for your time.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay here with my boyfriend on one of the Groupon deals. From reading the previous reviews we were uncertain what to expect of the rooms but we were very satisfied with ours, finding it clean and comfortable. Certain areas of the hotel could do with a renovate but overall it has a nice atmosphere. We were very impressed with the staff as any we came across, at reception, the restaurant and the leisure complex were extremely friendly and happy to help with any questions. Our breakfast in the morning was very tasty and had a good range from cooked to continental. We also had an evening meal in the hotel which was delicious, both of us choosing from the a la carte menu. We also enjoyed using the leisure facilities.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us. In particular, the team values your kind comments regarding their professionalism and friendliness, as customer care is of the utmost importance to us and it is gratifying to hear when we get it right. We will continue to ensure that all our guests receive a warm welcome.

We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and were able to make good use of our leisure facilities.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for three nights, starting 13th of march. The rooms we had were really poor. The shower in both rooms were broken, the bath towel was dirty,the decor was really poor and needs painted and cleaned. complained at reception, who said they were sorry. If i had been with my wife ,i would have walked out. On a better note, the food at night was reasonable and the breakfast was;nt bad either.The staff in the restaurant and bar were pleasant and helpful . To be honest i would look elsewhere, even on a lads trip. Ramada have the chance to answer our comments , but dont. Think that says it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to record your thoughts on your recent experience at Ramada Sutton Coldfield and I am sorry that on this occasion certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

Please be assured that all feedback is of huge value, as it gives us the opportunity to ensure we continue to address opportunities for improvement and all comments are investigated to ensure all our guests' comfort and to deliver the highest level of service possible.

As soon as our team are made aware of any shortfalls in a room our maintenance and housekeeping team are called to ensure that any repairs or housekeeping issues are addressed at the earliest opportunity, so thank you for bringing your concerns to the attention of reception.

We are a mid market three star property, and whilst I completely concur that aspects of the property would benefit from investment, as a team we are committed to warm, friendly hospitality, and work hard on the aspects within our control to ensure guests have a positive experience.

It is our hope to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend treated me for my birthday and we stayed for one night in a twin room. The reception staff were very nice on both checkin and out. The room was clean, comfortable, warm and had a nice outlook over the water. Bed was very comfy. I did find the hotel abit of a maze and thevsigns are very confusjng.
We used the leisure facilities which were nice enough.there were swimming lessons on which was noisey but wasnt a problem for us,
We had an aftrrnoon tea in the bar and a few drinks. Afternoon tea was lovely. The drink prices were high.very high.
The breakfas was fantastic.so much choice.
I would definitly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrstwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and we were delighted to hear that your overall stay was positive.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed both our afternoon tea and breakfast, your room met your expectations and you were able to make good use of our leisure facilities.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers.

We look forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,648 reviews
1.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,192 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Col...
#5 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
232 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Property: Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Address: Penns Lane | Penns Lane Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing