We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The jury's out on this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Birmingham ,England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The jury's out on this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated in extensive wooded grounds with a lake, in the northern part of Birmingham. We had a dinner reservation at their restaurant and decided to stay overnight. We were not made to feel welcome on arrival - no smile, no welcoming words, just a stony-faced basic reception. No one forces anyone to become a hotel receptionist. The welcome one receives sets the scene for the whole stay, so a bad welcome is bad for the hotel. Dinner was good -we have favourably reviewed this restaurant before - but readers should note that prospective diners were being turned away until a later time even though the restaurant was less than one third full and was never more than half full all evening. Suggest you reserve! Our standard bedroom was clean but very dated, being all in pink and with a very old pink bathroom suite which must have been there for decades. When we turned in, we had to complain about noise from a party event in their function suite, and were moved to an "Executive" room at the far end of the building. This room was significantly better but I'm not sure it was worth an extra £20 per night if booked normally. The staff did apologize. Apparently we should have been told to expect some noise in that part of the building when functions are going on. Breakfast was a very good and comprehensive buffet, though the only eggs were scrambled. A mixed visit - some good some bad, but the worst aspect was reception on arrival and departure. N. B It's a large hotel and it may be worth a gamble to turn up late without a reservation - rates can be significantly below the standard advertised rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as it's a popular destination for functions which can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views on your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield. You also completed our online survey following your stay, and your observation regarding the lack of warmth from our receptionist was noted, resulting in an immediate follow up phone call from our reception manager in which she endeavoured to identify the colleague to ensure follow up coaching.

We are disappointed to note your positive restaurant experience was marred by an apparent lack of desire to welcome more guests, and we do appreciate that private events taking place in 5 suites are not visible to restaurant diners, who may then perceive the hotel is not busy and any paced seating to ensure no delays in preparing food, unnecessary. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast too, and can confirm fried, poached and other eggs are available by ordering, from the team as these tend to deteriorate quickly under heat lamps. We will ensure the team are consistent in offering additional items and fully explaining service.

We look forward to being of service in the future, and thank you once again for your time.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    360
    303
    245
    204
See reviews for
307
424
35
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay here with my boyfriend on one of the Groupon deals. From reading the previous reviews we were uncertain what to expect of the rooms but we were very satisfied with ours, finding it clean and comfortable. Certain areas of the hotel could do with a renovate but overall it has a nice atmosphere. We were very impressed with the staff as any we came across, at reception, the restaurant and the leisure complex were extremely friendly and happy to help with any questions. Our breakfast in the morning was very tasty and had a good range from cooked to continental. We also had an evening meal in the hotel which was delicious, both of us choosing from the a la carte menu. We also enjoyed using the leisure facilities.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us. In particular, the team values your kind comments regarding their professionalism and friendliness, as customer care is of the utmost importance to us and it is gratifying to hear when we get it right. We will continue to ensure that all our guests receive a warm welcome.

We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and were able to make good use of our leisure facilities.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for three nights, starting 13th of march. The rooms we had were really poor. The shower in both rooms were broken, the bath towel was dirty,the decor was really poor and needs painted and cleaned. complained at reception, who said they were sorry. If i had been with my wife ,i would have walked out. On a better note, the food at night was reasonable and the breakfast was;nt bad either.The staff in the restaurant and bar were pleasant and helpful . To be honest i would look elsewhere, even on a lads trip. Ramada have the chance to answer our comments , but dont. Think that says it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to record your thoughts on your recent experience at Ramada Sutton Coldfield and I am sorry that on this occasion certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

Please be assured that all feedback is of huge value, as it gives us the opportunity to ensure we continue to address opportunities for improvement and all comments are investigated to ensure all our guests' comfort and to deliver the highest level of service possible.

As soon as our team are made aware of any shortfalls in a room our maintenance and housekeeping team are called to ensure that any repairs or housekeeping issues are addressed at the earliest opportunity, so thank you for bringing your concerns to the attention of reception.

We are a mid market three star property, and whilst I completely concur that aspects of the property would benefit from investment, as a team we are committed to warm, friendly hospitality, and work hard on the aspects within our control to ensure guests have a positive experience.

It is our hope to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend treated me for my birthday and we stayed for one night in a twin room. The reception staff were very nice on both checkin and out. The room was clean, comfortable, warm and had a nice outlook over the water. Bed was very comfy. I did find the hotel abit of a maze and thevsigns are very confusjng.
We used the leisure facilities which were nice enough.there were swimming lessons on which was noisey but wasnt a problem for us,
We had an aftrrnoon tea in the bar and a few drinks. Afternoon tea was lovely. The drink prices were high.very high.
The breakfas was fantastic.so much choice.
I would definitly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrstwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and we were delighted to hear that your overall stay was positive.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed both our afternoon tea and breakfast, your room met your expectations and you were able to make good use of our leisure facilities.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers.

We look forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night, Friday 8th march on a wowcher deal which gave us access to the gym & spa. Everywhere looks so old, there is paint peeling and really old looking decor. My partner went in the gents showers in the changing rooms at the pool and couldn't believe the amount of mould on the ceiling, he said it was disgusting. We had booked a restaurant for the evening and so phoned reception to ask them to book is a taxi, we must have been ringing them for nearly an hour and they wouldn't answer. I even rang their external number from my mobile to see if that made a difference but they still didn't answer, they seemed to connect my call to another person trying to get in touch with them. So from this I would rate their service very poor! The only good thing about the stay was the breakfast we had the following morning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IluvholsNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your insight into your recent stay at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

I appreciate you advising of your concern regarding the leisure facilities. At the time of your visit a major piece of equipment, the Air Handling Unit, failed which meant the extraction fans in the changing room were not working, so as quickly as they were cleaned, condensation built up and the floors remained damp and partly due to the weather conditions were almost immediately dirtied as the facilities were used. This issue was addressed within 48 hours and consequently an investment of some £60,000 will be made shortly to replace this faulty equipment and to improve the facilities for our guests' comfort.

I am a little perturbed as to why you were unable to reach reception desk in order to book your taxi and following your feedback, will be investigating further. Our aim is to answer all calls as quickly and efficiently as possible and I am sorry for the shortfall on this occasion.

It is our hope to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
On arrival we didnt find the receptionsist welcoming however she was helpful.
The walk to the room was confusing and long, taking the lift and then walking through a few corridors.
Our room was standard and looked cleaned. However we did find a sock under the bed which was not mine or my boyfriend's! I have stayed in many hotels and not once have i found a worn sock under the bed!
We ordered room service on the first night, there was a wide range of food to choose from and it arrived within 30mins.The bed was comfortable and slept well during the night. We had the maid come in to clean our room and gave new towels.
The breakfast was amazing! There was a wide range to choose from and the staff at the restaurant were very friendly.
We used the leisure facilities and the staff there were friendly and helpful. I would recommend to vist the leisure centre on your stay.
Overoll it was a good stay and i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweety021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and I am delighted to note that your overall stay was positive and that you would be happy to recommend us. Our team is genuinely friendly and accommodating and they all try to make sure that our guests feel like they are at home when they are here.

We are also very happy to hear that our menu and room service met your expectations, you enjoyed your breakfast and were able to make good use of our leisure facilities during your stay. Please also be assured that we have noted your observations regarding housekeeping and I have asked my team to be more vigilant in future.

Don't forget to like our page on facebook and we hope to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for one week. Mainly because of the Gym & Pool. These were OK and the price of arounf £50/Night was OK for a dated hotel. However, the first night in the Dining Room, only half the meal was brought because they forgot the other half; every subsequent night in the bar, either the meal was late (over 1 hour for a burger that was a special) or on one occassion the staff insisting I ordered a different course. Eventually when a different waiter brought the right course (whilst the first was still arguing I ordered wrong) it was "well which do you want then?!" - Not once during my stay did I ever hear "please" or "thank you" except from one young girl.

To top it all they e-mail me to ask how the service was!!

Room Tip: Makle sure you ask for a room near reception - mine was a block away next to the laundry and Lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.2 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
1.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Su...
#4 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Property: Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Address: Walmley Penns Lane | Penns Lane Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing