We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country location in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Country location in the city”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at Christmas for 4 days and as the hotel was not busy we were upgraded at no extra cost to an executive suite overlooking the lake. Nice room which was cleaned everyday and a comfortable bed. Iron, hairdryer and all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this quality.

Minor issues were that for some unknown reason our room key card would not work after the housekeeping had been in to clean the room each day. This was swiftly sorted by the reception staff re programing the card. Another issue that might be encountered is that the executive suites which are mainly used for conference guests are 2 flights of stairs and a fair walk from the reception. If you are staying a few days and have heavy cases you may need to request help from the reception staff with your case.

Nice quality hotel with good amenities and free parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trompa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield.

We were delighted to hear that the room met your expectations and we hope you were able to make good use of our leisure facilities during your stay.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers.

On behalf of everyone here, may we wish you a very happy New Year and we look forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    369
    312
    250
    210
See reviews for
314
434
36
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we dont normally got to events on new years eve but decided to treat ourselves and chose our local Ramada at Sutton Coldfield.
I didn't know what to expect but was really knocked out with the presentation and and the quality of the food , six courses and all at just the right temperature with a gorgeous selection of chocolates to round off with . The entertainment was a veratile rat pack type singer that people on their feet dancing interspersed with a cracking disco - the climax of the evening was a spectacular fireworks display heralded by Scottish pipers and this was not your average
5 minute affair but a full blown event that must have woken most of Sutton Coldfield .
A terrific night we shall certainly be back this year !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and we were delighted to here that you had such a positive experience.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and the entertainment on New Year's Eve. We love Christmas and particularly New Year and our aim is to provide high quality entertainment to suit everyone and it is always gratifying to receive such positive feedback.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers and we look forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel really did surprise me how good it was. Nice bar if a little over priced. Comfortable bed. Really nice bathroom, the only problem being the Japanese shower really wasn't very effective.

The swimming pool and health club facilities where fantastic.

Breakfast was a really nice selection of cooked and continental. I really couldn't find any fault with the food.

My only problem was the fact a used towel had been folded up and left on the rail in bathroom. I called down to reception to get fresh towels sent up, they never turned up. So I took a towel upto the room from the health club.

Overall an enjoyable stay. I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alenney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly, may we wish you a very happy New Year and thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and we were delighted to here that it you had such a positive experience.

We are delighted to hear that your room met with your expectations, you enjoyed the food and that you were able to make good use of our leisure facilities.

Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings with regard to towels which was an oversight on our part. Following your feedback I have raised this with my housekeeping manager to ensure our usual high standards are maintained.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers.

We look forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is the second new years eve we have spent at this hote.l The first time 2011 was all positive as we stayed in the newest part of the hotel over looking the lake the room was lovely good bathroom and cleanliness excellent! The staff, the food ,the entertainment the firework display all 5stars and we looked forward to our return visit 2012.When we booked the hotel we asked for the same part of the hotel and we were not told we could not have this request. So we were very disappointed to be given the annex as this meant we would have had a good outside walk to get to our venue which ladies in evening wear do not want to do in the winter!We asked reception if we could have a room in the hotel and they were very helpful and changed our room.Unfortunately it was the awful room 210! it was very clean and the only positive thing about the room.The veiw from the window was over flowing bins the room was a double bed in a single room which the decor was dark and very tired looking.The bathroom was sixties decor with paper peeling off.This was a shame as it would have been another brilliant Gala New Year! We would return BUT ONLY IF WE HAD A BETTER ROOM!

Room Tip: Avoid room 210 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vknowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in providing an insight into your recent stay at Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and we are delighted to hear that enjoyed our Gala New Year celebrations.

I am, however, sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the rooms allocated to you. Our Mews rooms are located in a separate annex and many of our guests request these rooms as they are much quieter for families being away from any events taking place in the hotel, and they are generally larger, but I appreciate they are not to everyone's taste. I am gratified to note that my staff were able to move you during the very busy period, but again sorry that room 210 was not to your liking.

We are a 3 star mid market hotel with a mix of bedrooms, and whilst I concur that aspects of the property would benefit from investment, we are committed to ensuring rooms are clean and well maintained, and our team is friendly and welcoming. Guests arriving with a more luxurious expectation may be disappointed, however what we have as shortcomings, we hope is made up for through efficient service, pleasant grounds, free car parking, extensive leisure club facilities and an easily accessible location.

It is our hope that you will join us again next year and we look forward to being of service to you. May we wish you a very happy New Year.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a great time we had fantastic value for the money the gala evening was splendid great food great entertainment great venue The staff are so friendly could not do enough for us I would defiantly recommend you to visit .We will defiantly be booking for next New Years Eve

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience about your recent stay at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield and we are delighted to receive such a positive report.

Our aim is to create a great party atmosphere with our festive food, party and fireworks so that every guest can enjoy celebrating the New Year in style and it is always gratifying to hear that we have achieved this.

Be sure to follow us on our facebook page to keep up-to-date with our news and events and on behalf of everyone here, may we wish you a very happy New Year and we looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

really sweet and helpful staff,the front desk ladies were so happy and welcoming they sorted a couple of problems I had without any fuss or making me feel as though I was a nuisance - which has happened at other hotels.I would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your views about your recent stay at the Ramada Sutton Coldfield and we were delighted to here that you had such a positive experience. In particular, the team values your kind observation of their professionalism and friendliness, as this is what we strive to achieve.

Be sure to follow us on our Facebook page to keep abreast of news and offers.

On behalf of everyone here at the Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, may we wish you a very happy New Year and we look forward to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely


Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. We booked online and when we checked in were pleasantly surprised to find they had upgraded us from a standard double room to a studio. The room was lovely, clean, tidy and extremely comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

With regard to the dinner, the package allowed you an allowance of up to £22 to spend on dinner, however if you can find even two courses that do go over the £22 I'd be surprised. The starters and desserts were very nice, however the main courses left a lot to be desired and the whole menu is extremely over-priced. My fiance ordered a treacle tart with clotted cream for dessert and when it arrived asked where the clotted cream was, the reply to which was that they had run out so had used cheap squirty cream instead! Hence, that went back and a different dessert was ordered. To give you an idea of price, we both had three courses and it came to £66, so as you can see an allowance of £22 each really does not cover it.

However, we could not knock the breakfast, it was superb.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again without a shadow of a doubt, but only on a B&B basis in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherCheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramadasutton, General Manager at Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly, may we wish you a very happy New Year and thank you for your taking the time to provide an insight into your recent experience at Ramada Sutton Coldfield. We are most appreciative of your constructive and positive report. In particular the team values your kind observation of their helpfulness and friendliness, and we will continue to ensure our guests receive a very warm welcome.

We were delighted that you were more than happy with the room and that you enjoyed the breakfast. You have been kind enough to share your thoughts on our restaurant pricing as we value feedback from our guests. I can confirm that we usually offer a set 3 course menu for £22 per person in our restaurant, however, not during the Christmas period. We also offer a wide range of dishes from our a la carte menu with main courses starting from £11 and the £22 allowance per person would cover 2 courses, depending upon individual selections. Our pricing is also reflective of our market and venue and takes into account utilities, staffing, cooking, linen and other business costs.

Apart from the issue of cost of the food, I am very pleased to hear that your overall stay was positive and we look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Lockyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
3.1 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,614 reviews
1.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,172 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Col...
#5 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield

Property: Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Address: Penns Lane | Penns Lane Walmley, Sutton Coldfield B76 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Hotel Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing